We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for the whole Family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Venice Beach

Venice Beach
Ranked #3 of 58 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole Family!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We took a total of 10 people to Venice Beach and we had a great time! We had our 18 y.o. son and his girlfriend, our 17 year old Nephew, 16 year old son son and his friend and then our youngest 8,7, and 5 year olds. They all had a great time. The beach was not crowded (we went on a Tuesday a week before school started. They have a snack bar, restrooms, showers. Lifeguards are on duty. There was a bit of a shore break but the kids liked it. Going further away, the water is about 5 feet deep for about 25 yards and then you are on a sandbar about 3' deep. This beach is also known for finding Shark Teeth as they get washed inshore. On flatter days a Snorkel set would be good to have along with a net to look for burried shark teeth. It's just over an hour from either Tampa or St Petersburg. They also have Volleyball nets set up. You will need to bring your own beach chairs and umbrella as they don't have rentals there that I saw. Maybe on the weekend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew33637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    284
    86
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No Crowds”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Awesome beach with no crowds morning or night with the exception of perhaps those gathering for the sunset. Clean, parking, walkable from town, with snack bar and with a walk you can hit the jetty or pier. If you need a beach with people to people watch this isn't it. This is a beach for those who enjoy the peace and relaxation a beach can provide without all of the nonsense crowded beaches dish out. I'll take Venice beach all day over the crowded, mall style crowds of Siesta beach.

Helpful?
Thank RISEABOVETRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not like it use to be”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Beach hasn't changed much over a 40 year span. However the sharks teeth are getting harder and harder to find. Too bad the days of just plopping down on a pile of shells on the beach and search for sharks teeth are gone. Took the family yet again this year. After about 2-3 hours maybe found 20. The sizes are very small too. This comes from someone who knows where to look and how to find them. I think the days are gone for the new generation. Maybe after a storm might help a bit. We were there while all that was happening though.Storm the night before and the morning of. Still a nice beach and place to swim. Nice bathroom facilities and beach showers too. If you are going for the shark teeth though be prepared to work for them. Seems like everyone has the same idea which makes it even harder to find them. Sifting at the surf line. What works very well and much cheaper than those large handled beach sifters is one of those kids flat plastic sifters found in the beach toy sections. We seemed to do better than other people around us because the little plastic toy sifter has a larger surface area to view. Then you just hold it in the waves like you are panning for gold. Of course there is more bending over, but you dont need to go up to the shore to dump a pile on the beach and search through it. Just a tip. .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raszma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good beach for finding shells & shark teeth”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice place for families. Liked the pavilion & the live music on Saturday night. Good for shelling. We walked so cannot comment on parking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Time passed too fast...”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went to Venice to go shark tooth hunting for a little bit because this was all our oldest daughter talked about a week before leaving for this vacation. Two and a half hours later, we had collected about 20 shark teeth. Make sure you have some type of sifter to sift through the sand. We used one of the long handled sifters that you can find at the local souvenir shops and two plastic sifters that we bough at Target on our way there. Our daughters (ages 7 and 10) had a great time searching for teeth. However, the water was a bit rough so they didn't search too long, but really enjoyed swimming in the waves. They loved hearing my husband and I call their names to come get a tooth that we found. It was great to see the excitement on their faces when we handed them the teeth. It was a wonderful experience and look forward to going back some more this week before we leave for home. I think I found a new addiction!!

FYI: There are outdoor showers available to rinse off. However, the bathrooms were absolutely gross. They stank really bad!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhysEdAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venice Beach also viewed

Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Venice Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing