We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Marker 4 is better than the old”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marker 4 Restaurant - CLOSED

Marker 4 Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Marker 4 Restaurant is located at Historic Fisherman's Wharf Marina, just west ofthe KMI bridge off the Island of Venice. Opened for business on June 18, 2014 in the newly renovated and refurbished location (Formally known as Marker 4 Oyster Bar) is bound to impress you with its new tiki hut and coastal decor. Under new ownership and management, with a new menu and drink list we are sure to please the palate. Located in the marina with plenty of dockage for hungry boaters and a west facing view, Marker 4 might just be the best place to catch the sunset or finish a relaxing day on the bay. Come to Marker 4 by boat, car or motorcycle to relax, to enjoy local live music, to enjoy an appetizing meal, or a delicious libation. We are sure that Marker 4 Restaurant has just what your looking for.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Marker 4 is better than the old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I went to Marker 4 last week twice by coincidence and I was pleasantly surprised by how good the food was. The new menu has more variety than the old bar food, but there are definitely some old favorites still on there. I had the fish tacos, which were excellent and the peach salad which was also delish. They are still working out some kinks with the new staff so it took a little longer than normal. The fries that my friend ordered were terrible from the bottom of the fryer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JustHavingFun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    212
    74
    37
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marker 4 is Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Marker 4 is located in the ICW below the north bridge in Venice Fl. It is accessible by car or boat. It was always a favorite stop of ours for lunch. The new owners have done an excellent job. The food, service and drinks were excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice enough but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Cute place. Great views. The restaurant seems more like a huge enclosed porch, which explains why previous reviews complained about the lack of AC. There is a bar inside, which was under air, but it only has high-tops for 2. We arrived at 5 pm. We were a party of 6, which seemed to be a seating challenge, despite plenty of empty tables. It appears there are still some growing pains. We all had a tough time finding a 'dinner' for under $20. In the end, 3 had the Amberjack special with creamed corn (which they all loved), 2 of us had the small Caesar salad, which was not so small (one with chicken, the other with the Shrimp-cargot) and the 6th person had the fried fisherman's platter. Everyone was pleased with their food. The Shrimp-cargot was excellent, as previously reviewed, except the toast that came with it was a tooth breaker. Service was very good. Adding fresh bread or rolls would have made it a better value and helped to fill in the smaller portions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Sunset View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I heard someone once say that the closer to the water the restaurant is the higher the prices and the lower the quality of the food. This restaurant lives up to this saying. The view is great. It's fun watching the boats come in and out of the marina. The sunset was spectacular.

Now, about the food. My husband and I ordered, perhaps unwisely, two of the "fried basket" dishes. I had the crab cake and my husband the scallops. In both cases the items were plopped on an enormous pile of tasty french fries. Brown fried entrees on brown french fries is not an appealing presentation. They could have served considerably fewer fries and then plated the entree. As it was, I had to clear an area on the plate so I could cut the tasteless, mostly breading, crab cakes. My husband described his scallops as "OK", not something I would expect to hear about one of his favorite dishes.

The wines were OK but both the Pinot Grigio and Cabernet Sauvignon were sweeter than I enjoy. The prices were a little higher than we expected...but the restaurant is on the water.

We won't be rushing back. Maybe when we want to see a great sunset while sipping something we'll return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dianem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLEWOOD
Level Contributor
215 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Brand New and Busy--Even in the off season.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Marker 4 used to be a huge drafty barn of a restaurant, myt wife and I had visited it several times but it was not on our "must" list and so when it closed some years ago we felt no loss. And so there it sat until about 2 weeks ago (sometime in June 2014) when it opened under professional management and with a great crew.

No longer the tired old waterfront building we remembered, Today Market 4 offers a long interior with panoramic views of the docks and boats, it's about half bar and half restaurant, And all brand new. Air conditioners were working overtime and the bartenders were running to keep up. We sat near the service bar--great A/C right there, but noisy. The evening we were there was a Saturday--you wouldn't guess it was off season in Florida. There is something like a 100+ foot long granite bar, with granite back bar and all top of the line equipment.

The crew have obviously been well trained, they knew what they were supposed to do--and were quick about it. Plus they looked smart--all dressed similarly in Marker 4 T-shirts and shorts. The managers were serious and making management adjustments as the evening wore on.

We enjoyed Bison and seared Ahi Tuna, from a complete menu, both of us were well satisfied with the dinner, but didn't discover the "other side" of the menu until after we had ordered. So we have more to try next time--the house wine (Merlot) was both reasonably priced and actually quite good. We'll be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglewoodDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marker 4 Restaurant also viewed

 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
Venice, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing