We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue, brilliant location, stunning grounds, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunton Bridge
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic venue, brilliant location, stunning grounds, great staff.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently had my wedding reception here in April 2014. Sophie our wedding co ordinator was brilliant with all our questions and requests in the year long run up to the event. Staff on the night were brilliant and controlled the whole evening perfectly. The food was delicious which everyone stated also. The venue is in a brilliant location with beautiful grounds, its just a shame it rained so we had to stay inside. The drink prices were perhaps more than what people were expecting but I think they are on average for a hotel in the area. The rooms are also clean, modern and comfortable too. I would definitely recommend a visit to this hotel :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFairbrother30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review and we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed you big day with us.
Sophie was really pleased to read of the difference she made your special day and I would like to thank you for posting such a wonderful review on this site.

Congratulations again and we look forward seeing you back here in the future.

Kind regards

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    234
    170
    76
    63
See reviews for
158
295
10
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night in April. Receptionists were very welcoming and are a credit to DeVere. Our room however was not. There was a strong musty odour in the rather small room and we found out why later in the evening as the carpet was very wet next to the radiator. We avoided that area of the room to keep our feet dry ! I don't believe this was a new problem as the carpet was stained where previous leaks had dried. The room's window has opaque film applied to it so that you don't look out on the service yard with its various waste skips and stores, and provides you with some privacy from hotel staff using the yard. On a positive note we did find the beds to be comfortable and unlike others, we were not kept awake by other guests. We let the reception know about the wet carpet and had we been staying longer we'd have asked for a change of room.

The hotel grounds are extensive and quite pleasant to stroll around although there is an ever-present distant traffic roar from the M25 motorway. The bluebells in the grounds were particularly good to see, and there is a putting green available for guests' use.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate and the staff in the breakfast room were efficient and pleasant.

All-in-all an average hotel which needs some TLC but is fortunate to have good staff

Room Tip: Ask reception to let you view the allocated room before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john7851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review and for the kind comments regarding the team. I am sorry for the maintenance issue you experienced with the room and keen to let you know this was resolved immediately after you left.

Thank you once agin for your review.

Kind regards

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tournon-d'Agenais, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a brilliant place to stay! We arrived very early, but the staff couldn't have been more helpful, even though the room was, understandably, not ready. Free coffee etc in the lounge, beautiful, very pretty grounds to wander through and very tranquil. The room was lovely, very clean and well equipped - even an iron and an ironing board! We had the swimming pool to ourselves, which was warm and relaxing- though the changing facilities let it down a bit. Dinner, including wine, was excellent and breakfast was amazing. All this for a mere £99 - what a bargain!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing may have better views and are probably larger than in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTuque51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am really please you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting the Harry Potter studio tour. The hotel itself is very nice, although our room was a bit small. The grounds and surroundings are beautiful and everywhere is kept clean and tidy. Our main issue with the hotel was the quality of the food, which we found really disappointing. We ordered a room service pizza which was almost inedible; shop bought pizza base with tomato ketchup and far too much melted cheese. We ended up eating from a really lovely local Indian takeaway, which I thoroughly recommend!
All in all, a decent hotel but we won't be in a rush to visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KittyCat_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy the food, indeed this is not the usual feedback we receive around our food offering and please accept my deepest apologies that this was not up to standard.

I am keen to resolve this issue and would ask you to contact me directly at the venue to rectify.

Kind regards

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for one night as we were going to the harry potter tour the next day, it is in perfect location as it's a 3 minute drive from here. The room was clean (small but we only needed somewhere to sleep) the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The only downside to our stay was a couple of girls who were staying in a room about 4 along from us, they were very noisy coming back and they stayed up chatting until early hours we could hear every word the said.
The pictures you see are not the actual hotel you stay in and there doesn't seem to be any so I will add a photo of it.
A very lovely place that I would recommend people to stay if they are visiting universal but take ear plugs!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJPenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review and picture. I am glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry for the disturbance that was caused to you.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Perfect for an overnight stay when visiting the Harry Potter tour. Beautiful gardens to explore, plus swimming pool. Delicious food was available from both the restaurant and bar areas. The only negative issue I experienced was a very long delay in being served and receiving my evening meal in the bar. Very happy and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologies for the delay in receiving you bar meal but I am pleased you enjoyed the food.

Kind regards

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The De Vere group hotels are split into 5 categories, ranging from the modern urban hotels of the Village resorts to the Luxury Lodges. Hunton Park is part of the Venues group of hotels, which are aimed towards business meetings and conferences, but are set in the grounds of mansions, making them ideal choices for weddings and celebrations.

I have experienced De Vere venues before, when I have stayed at Theobalds Park at Cheshunt, which used to be a rural studies centre that I visited when I was at school, but in the past few years I have stayed there a couple of times when visiting in my old home town.

We planned a trip to visit the Warner Brothers Studio Tour at Leavesden, near Watford. This was our second visit, last time we visited here, we got engaged. This time we returned with friends of ours and decided to stay at Hunton Park, which is literally situated behind the studio complex.

The entrance from the main road is small and easily missed as the sign and gateway are quite subtle. Pulling onto the driveway, and you are driving towards the beautiful house. Just before you reach the house, the road bends to the left and you drive towards a modern wing that houses the hotel.

The hotel is split into 3 areas connected by enclosed glass walkways. Our block was housed two floors of rooms, plus a swimming pool in a lower level. The main area houses the reception, function suite, restaurant and bar, whilst the third area houses further rooms in what appears to be an older, original building. The actual house is seperate from the hotel, but appears to be used for wedding ceremonies. There was a wedding celebration at the hotel on the night we were there, meaning we had trouble parking. There is plentiful parking, but the spaces near the hotel were filled in the evening and we ended up parked in the overflow, which was only another 50 yards from the reception.

The room in which we stayed was a little smaller than I've stayed in before. The bed was big and comfy, but there wasn't room at the foot of the bed to walk passed if somebody was sat at the desk. This is a minor point, but this should give you an indication of the size of the very nicely furnished room. The bathroom wasn't huge, but it had mirrored walls arranged in a bay window arrangement around the sunken hand basin. I thought this was a nice touch, as was the swing out glass shower door over the bath.

Foodwise, I thought the breakfast buffet was great, but I found the dinner menu to be a little limited and the portions a bit small. This isn't necessarily a criticism. It was clear that they were trying to provide a classy feel, with 4 or 5 choices of starter, main and starter, for around £21 a head. The food was nice, but I guess I am probably more akin to the 'pub' type of menu you get in other hotels. There is also a wider range of food available on the 'Verve Deli' bar and room service menus (burgers, hot dogs).

Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to visit here, or any De Vere again.

Pricewise, we paid for the hotel as part of a Superbreaks package with the WB Studio tour. The hotel itself is reasonably priced compared with Holiday Inn type of establishments, but with the De Vere venues you get far better surroundings. Walking in the gardens in the morning and driving along a tree lined driveway made it that much more special than just walking out to a car park by a busy road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftyamazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, General Manager at Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunton Bridge
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,739 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
3.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel

Property: Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Address: Essex Lane | Watford, Hunton Bridge, Kings Langley WD4 8PN, England (Formerly De Vere Hunton Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Kings Langley > Hunton Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunton Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 22 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens, Hunton Park is a charming Queen Anne Mansion house with extensive meeting, training and special event facilities, including a dedicated marquee. Coupled with modern refurbished bedrooms, Hunton Park is a fantastic location for business meetings, training, weddings through to short relaxing leisure stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Venues Hunton Park Hotel Kings Langley
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel Hunton Bridge, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing