We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach, Pool, and Great for Kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Vero Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Nice Beach, Pool, and Great for Kids”
Reviewed 9 October 2007

My wife and 2 year old son stayed here the first week of September for an entire week. We stayed in one of the 1BR Villas. We had a full kitchen, LR, and private BR. The bathroom had a huge Jacuzzi in it. One very disappointing thing was the room was filthy when we checked in. The floors, counters, and bathrooms look like the did a cursory cleaning only. After a family spends a week in a room like this the hotel needs to do a better job cleaning the rooms. We didn't want our son walking on the floors they were so filthy. We called housekeeping, and they came in the next day to do a better job. We are not neat freaks, but when you find hair still in the bathroom sinks, it tells you that they did not put too much effort into cleaning. Enough said on that since this was really the only low point we had for the whole week.

Here are the high points:

Resort & Grounds - were very well kept and manicured. Very clean.

Pool - The pool was a lot of fun for the kids. They have a water pirate ship for the little kids that my 2 year old could not get enough of. He played for hours in it. They also have a great jungle gym next to the pirate ship that he loved also. The big pool has a giant water slide in it for both kids and adults to use. It was great.

Beach - The beach was very nice. There was no lifeguard though which was a little unsettling, since the waves were huge due to a hurricane that was way offshore that week. They have rentals available like beach chairs and jet skis.

Restaurants - We did not want to go out looking for food, so we ate in Shutters 5 of 7 nights. The food was very good, and the wait staff very responsive, especially since we had a 2 year old with us. I did not think the food was expensive, I actually thought it was very reasonable. Maybe we are just used to NY, HI, and Caribbean prices...

Bugs - After all of the other reviews were were a little nervous about the potential bug problem. I have to say after being there for one whole week, we did not get bitten by one single bug! They must have moved out before we got there. No one else seemed to be having problems either.

Crabs - There are tons of them all over the place. They are a lot of fun to watch though. They like to hang out in the garages, and can startle you, but they will not bother you. My son loved watching them, and still talks about them.

Parking - In the garages is kind of tight. If you get a spot inside underneath, hold onto it, or you might loose it, and have to park outside. It was very convenient to load our stuff into the car in the garage, with the elevator right there.

I'm not sure if we would go back here or not. We had a very nice week, and the staff was very good. We might try another location in the future, but we did have a great time, and would reccomend it to freinds and family.

  • Liked — Beach and Pool. Disney attitude.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of the Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fool for the Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    314
    121
    30
    23
See reviews for
689
223
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We just returned from a week stay at the Disney's Vero Beach Resort. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is shaped like Mickey Mouse and there is a two floor tower with a spiral pool.... Also, there is a prate ship that my kids just loved to play in. There were plenty of activities for the kids everyday. Although there was a charge, it wasn't very high. One thing you need to know is unless you have a 1 bdrm or 3 bdrm, you will probably not get a ocean view. We were in a two bedroom with no view of the ocean. That is a really big deal for me so that would have to be my main complaint. You can walk to the beach which is right across from the pool though. Overall, we had a great time.

There isn't much to do in Vero Beach so you need to make sure you find a place to stay with activities, nice pool, etc. Capt Hiram's is a cool place to go look at, don't eat there... Mulligan's is the worst place we ate..... We went to Outback which was wonderful.... Some of the local dining wasn't that good.....

Helpful?
1 Thank cindylutennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Panhandle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We are Disney Vacation Club Members, and needed a break away from everything. Decided to try using our "points" somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of the parks.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa with a full kitchen, jacuzzi tub, and other fantastic amenitites (including an on-site gym, 3 restaurants, room service, wonderful pool complex, mini golf, the beach, etc)
The resort is spotlessly cleaned and beautifully maintained. The food was superb, as was the live entertainment every evening in the Green Cabin Room lounge.
The "Cast Members" were always helpful and friendly.
Even though we were away from the theme parks, there was always something to do. My son and I took surfing lessons, there were water slide races, mini golf tournaments, classes, and walks with naturalists on the beach.
All in all - it was a perfect vacation!

  • Liked — Everything (including the beach and pool) were within a 3 minute walk
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AFMom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Myself, my wife and 3 yr old son visited Disney's resort in Vero beach. Can't say enough about the resort. They have a pirate ship next to the pool which is for the younger kids and it was a big hit with my son. As far as the rooms are concerned we had a two bedroom which for the most part was above average, the only thing that I might point out would be that the resort may need to update the rooms a bit. Having a kitchen with young children is a wonderful thing and the second bedroom was used primarily as a playroom in the evenings.
I had a chance to read some reviews about bugs, not a problem even without bug spray. The restaurants for the money might be a little pricey but what do you expect it's Disney. As far as the quality of food shutters was very good and the service was great. I would highly recommend this resort for families with children of all ages because there seemed to be something to do for all the children all the time.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The lack of activities outside the resort
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timeshare2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

We just returned from a week stay at the Disney Vero Beach Resort and I can't praise the place enough. The staff was wonderful and everyone was so friendly. The pool and beach areas were beautiful. The one-bedroom suite had plenty of room for my husband and 2 boys-ages 9 and 12. There were plenty of activites to keep us busy and time to just rest and relax. If there had to be one negative it would be the fact that the resort is practically in the middle of nowhere so you would definitely need to car to get around. We bought groceries and cooked in the room for breakfast and lunch and then ventured into the surrounding area for dinner. We did eat a couple of meals at Shutter's including the character breakfast on Saturday morning and enjoyed the food very much. I had read all the horror stories about the bugs, but didn't see any at all! The crabs were more of a bother than anything and they scurried away when we came near. All in all, a delightful seaside retreat.

  • Liked — Ocean view
  • Disliked — Secluded
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bambam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England , Redditch, worcs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2007

Cannot be beaten .. got up every morning to see the sunrise ...room great .. every thing you need .. pool great ...staff helpful.. .....
Just got bitten a few times by the "no see ums" .. but worth it ...
Just one slight moan .. food in restaurant .. expensive .. so we travelled out each night ....but this is not a problem got to see more of Vero Beach and found some more restaurants ...

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart_watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We are DVC members and stayed at a beach cottage for the first time for three nights. The cottage is huge, nicely decorated, has amazing views of the ocean and we had a wonderful stay. If you can get hold of one of these cottages it is a must. We were on the balcony late one night and saw a turtle crawl up the beach to lay its eggs. Wow!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mhhzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
7.7 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
9.5 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#9 of 27 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
11.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#10 of 27 in Vero Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Vero Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Vero Beach Resort

Property: Disney's Vero Beach Resort
Address: 9250 Island Grove Ter, Vero Beach, FL 32963-4145
Region: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Vero Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on warm sand and play in the sparkling blue waters of Disney's Vero Beach Resort. Just 2 hours southeast of Walt Disney World Resort, this elegant old-fashioned hideaway is located on Florida's scenic Atlantic Treasure Coast near the charming community of Vero Beach. Get away from it all in spacious lodgings that provide the comforts of home with an idyllic beach practically at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Vero Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Resort Vero Beach
Disneys Vero Beach Resort
Disney Vero Beach Resort
Disneys Vero Beach Hotel
Disney Vero Beach Hotel
Disney's Vero Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing