We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to keep pinching ourselves! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Reef Ocean Resort
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Sometimes in your life you just truly score.

That's how my wife and I felt after spending five days and four nights at The Reef Ocean Resort in beautiful Vero Beach.

Never in our lives had we felt like we were on the receiving end of a deal that seemed "too good to be true" as much as we did at this excellent resort.

Right on the beach, awesome pool, clean efficiency units (with maid service), friendly staff, great town (not tacky, touristy, dangerous, or rednecky)-- and we paid about 1/8th of the price for our room* as we would have had to pay for a room in either of the two other resorts within 200 yards on either side of The Reef!!!

This is a place that I desperately want to return to as soon as I can, but I keep getting the nagging feeling that (with my usual luck) when I go to book it next time, it probably won't be there anymore because some multinational conglomerate will have already recognized the beauty of the property and have bought it up and replaced this quaint, friendly resort with a $2,500 per night central banker's retreat.

Do yourself and your family a favor and hit The Reef Ocean Resort before it becomes "For Hedge Fund Owners Only."

* we paid $99 per night for a second floor unit facing the road during peak season. It was incredible value for what we got. My wife and I shared a double bed and my 9-year old daughter slept on the double sofa bed. It could have slept four easily.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We own a timeshare in the Ocean Reef Resort & do not regret buying. Our time share is on the 2nd floor above Bobby's restaurant with a view of the ocean from the balcony. What a nice place to spend a week, walking distance to fine shops, dining & beach. Room was exceptionally clean & furnished with all the comforts of home (full kitchen). Maids came by daily to give fresh linens & changed the sheets once during the stay. Great location, quiet & very relaxing area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Consists of a number of units located in three separate clusters ranging from studios to two bedrooms. All units feature complete kitchens. Rooms are clean with plenty of towels and soaps including kitchen and beach/pool towels. This comes in handy as the resort has a nice size pool and jacuzzi and is located right on the beach. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful with suggesting places of interest around the area.

There is a restaurant located on the premises with outside seating which serves a decent fair according to my partner, I never ate there. If you are in a bottom floor unit there may be an issue with noise from the outdoor crowned. We never experienced a problem on the second floor falling asleep to the sound of the surf from the beach.

Vero Beach is a small quiet community with lovely tree covered lanes perfect for that morning jog before breakfast. There are a number of restaurants, coffee shops for that morning latte and stores if shopping is your thing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had an ocean front room with a balcony on the second floor. Great view and a well kept condo. The room service provided by our two housekeepers was better than we expected, There is a restaurant called Bobbies next to our lobby that was excellent. The bartenders and servers were extremely nice to us. The food and drinks were the best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chet352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

What a great place. I've stayed at 5 star resorts, none of them put you 15 feet from the pool and 40 feet to tbe beach. If you're coming to the ocean to sit inside go someplace else. If you're coming to play or relax. The Reef is you're perfect hid out. Thi

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank superdave2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Exchanged through Interval and only choice was a studio. It was the smallest unit I have ever seen. At least on first floor. What I liked was the close proximity to the beautiful beach. Although we did not have a view it was a very short walk to the beach. Could walk to many wonderful places down the beach or around front of the resort. Upgrading to a better or more spacious unit is complicated and expensive. We actually came by boat, docking at the local City marina, and only were going to use resort for half the week. A family member used for first few nights. We were happy to go back to our boat, which seemed huge by comparison. Vero Beach has bus transportation that is great. It is free and can go anywhere, once you figure out the schedule, routes and stops. . So many great eating places a short walk away. Vero Beach is a lovely town on east coast of Florida. We intend to go back to Vero Beach on our boat and enjoy more of the town. The resort is great for families, so many there that could not find anywhere to sit by the pool. It was nice to see all enjoying thermselves in a funky kind of resort. I would want a bigger room if ever go back. The bed was so uncomfortable, but all was clean.

Room Tip: Never stay in studio, way too small. Choose efficiency rooms or one bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sgwood84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent 7 nights at the "Reef" last week and loved it. It's in a great location on a beautiful beach with abundant restaurants and nightlife within easy walking distance including the onsite Bobby's restaurant, great happy hour. Reading previous reviews I noted that the TV's have been replaced with high end flatscreens and there is now inroom wifi with a good signal. The buildings were freshly painted outside and ours was inside as well, can't speak for the others. The pool is quite large and there is a smaller hot tub.The resort is well maintained and laid out and we had no problem parking within feet of our unit. Try to get a beachfront unit but there are really no bad views here from any unit. We will be going back in 2 months.

Room Tip: the 2 oceanfront buildings have 8 units each, all 16 would be a good choice, 1/2 are ground level if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seasnake8278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
1.7 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#8 of 26 in Vero Beach
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Resort
Driftwood Resort
#7 of 26 in Vero Beach
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Ocean Resort

Address: 3450 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1683
Region: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vero Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range: £67 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Reef Ocean Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Ocean Hotel Vero Beach
Reef Ocean Resort
The Reef Ocean Resort Vero Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing