We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Food, Attractive Decor, and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quilted Girafe

Quilted Girafe
Ranked #82 of 321 Restaurants in Vero Beach
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Attractive Decor, and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

From the outside, you might not ever guess what a treasure lies inside the Quilted Giraffe. The decor is eclectic and inviting. We were seated in a cozy corner lined with book shelves, but there was a large, airy section that looked tropical and inviting. We had a reservation for our group of six, four of whom had dined at the Giraffe. Before. The repeat guests all had favorites to recommend and none of them disappointed. A soup starter was fabulous, a duck entree superb, and scallops delectable. The salmon was described by one member of our group as like "eating candy" as a result of its walnut glaze. The mashed potatoes were perfect, salads fresh and generous in size. We had traveled about forty minutes to get there and it was well worth the drive!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

What makes a restaurant special? For me it starts with a pleasant, clean, homey decor, a superb wait staff, delicious food and reasonable prices. The Quilted Girafe in Vero Beach has it all. We've visited and enjoyed this establishment before but what inspired me to offer it for review this evening is that even on an exceptionally busy evening, our service was so personable and attentive from our waiter Scott (Great Scott) and was accentuated by a visit from the chef himself. Scott has that wonderful ability to make each person feel very special even when he is very rushed and busy. I highly recommend the Chicken Rollatini, two succulent chicken breasts stuffed with a delicious spinach parmesan sauce and accompanied with homemade soup or salad, potatoes, fresh veggies and bread.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbycat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went there for dinner with my wife on a Sunday evening in February. The place was packed and we managed to get one of the last 3 open tables. The service was not as good as we were told, but considering how busy they were, we accepted it as it was. Both appetizers and main courses were very tasty and the presentation was very nice. Strongly recommend trying it.
If we ever are going to be in the area again, we will definitely return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank carpediemMMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Three girlfriends and I went for Sunday Brunch at The Quilted Giraffe this past Sunday. It was a very enjoyable experience. We had good service, good ambience and, most importantly, good food. If you want all these PLUS good value, go for Sunday Brunch to The Quilted Giraffe! We'll be back. We are also planning to return and try dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacularly Uninspired Sunday Brunch Buffet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

On a recommendation from church members we took our Sunday guests to the brunch offering. We made a reservation and were told to on time as Sunday is very busy. When we arrived at noon it must have been a slow day (in prime winter season) as the place was half empty. We were greeted heartily and seated at a none too clean glass table without table cloth or even place mats. I decided that a glass of wine might be nice until I perused the wine menu. With its collection of essentially $6 wines, I decided to forgo the opportunity. (OK, I am a wine snob, but any restaurant that sells $30 to $35 Entrees should not expect patrons to drink absolute plonk.)

We were told to serve ourselves from the buffet at the back. At first I thought the buffet was a joke and I started to go and see the rest of it in the next room when I realized the next room was just a large mirror. So back we went. Nothing was labeled and in the semi-darkness the food was difficult to identify. The hash browns turned out to be fried apples. I am one of those weird individuals who like to know what I am eating. Silly me! Forgive me my food allergies. I decided to stick to items I could identify, which turned out to be only scrambled eggs(?) and bacon. There was no bread or rolls of any kind. I think there may have been some overdone micro muffins but it was hard to tell.

Admittedly this mini buffet, probably to most pathetic I have seen outside of a church fund raiser breakfast was only $11.

The service for drinks was slow and we had to ask twice for lemon for the water. In spite of the slowness of the response, servers seemed to be on the run (literally), which did not do much for the atmosphere and was somewhat unnerving

All in all, not a great experience. Not recommended for the Sunday Brunch!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quilted Girafe also viewed

 

Been to Quilted Girafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing