We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Driftwood Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Vero Beach-West I-95(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sea Turtle Inn(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Spray Inn(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach(Vero Beach)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
138
100
30
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
100
30
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaldo sextonhistoric hotelold floridastained glassfun place to stayred onionmain poolwithin walking distancefull kitchenliving roomcookie cuttersmall kitchenocean grillpull out sofalaid backbeach viewlemon tree
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We chose this hotel because it was historic. I have stayed in many historic hotels because I love the older construction, furnishings, and quaint atmosphere.
I got an ocean front room-which was a blessing. Because my mother and I were able to enjoy watching the ocean from our rocking chairs on the porch, I am giving the inn 2 stars. The accommodations, however, we're appalling. The room smelled musty and mildewy. The foldout bed was so rusty, there was rust on the back of the mattress pad and the bed wouldn't fold out! I had to sleep on the floor.
I love the charm of historic hotels-this hotel, sadly seemed neglected and uncared-for. I hope the owners invest in refurbishing the rooms soon. The Driftwood Inn has potential--if the owners choose to take the responsibility to take care of it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SASmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Very sorry you had a bad experience with the sofa bed in your room. Those beds are only 3 years old. We would have been happy to have someone come to the room to open the bed if we had been made aware you were having difficulty opening the bed. We have 11 buildings on the property of varying ages. We will be renovating 3 of those buildings in 2014, with more to come in the future. Thank you for reporting the problem at check out so we were able to correct before the next guest arrived but we wish you had let us know you were having a problem when you first discovered it so your stay would have been more comfortable. Jeanne L. Radlet, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

First time we have stayed at the Driftwood and picked it out from the the reviews on tripadvisor . The hotel is dated from the 1930's and has a charm of its own , we stayed here for 4 nights in November the room we had was an efficiency and was clean and well equipped and located near the restaurant , bar and pool . The restaurant was always busy at dinner time not only by hotel guests but with locals having a meal which tells you how good the restaurant is . We could not fault the hotel it was reasonably priced and the location was right on the beach and close to a few other restaurants and bars if you are looking for a good place to stay in Vero you can't go wrong in staying here . thanks to everyone at the Driftwood for making our stay a most enjoyable and relaxing one .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNNY1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

There are good things about this resort but also some bad things.
First, the good. Vero Beach is a pleasant area with many attractions within an easy drive (eg the Kennedy Space Center is only about 90 miles away). Also the location of the Driftwood Resort is excellent, being right by the beach with wonderful ocean views. The staff are friendly and helpful and the background to the resort is quirky and interesting (it dates from 1937).
We stayed on a timeshare exchange in one of the "cottages" in the older part of the resort. The cottages are not large but they are quite attractive and comfortable inside, although somewhat dated.
Unfortunately the cottages are located around the edge of a small and narrow U-shaped car park, at the head of which is "Waldo's" restaurant. This is very popular with locals as it has lively music. Sadly, the result is that for visitors staying in the part of Driftwood near Waldo’s it is absolutely impossible to have a relaxing, quiet break. Being in one of the cottages is a bit like living in the car park of a small industrial estate. The restaurant is busy most lunchtimes and evenings and because there is no allocated car parking for the cottages there is a constant movement of cars (and their noisy occupants) in and out of available spaces.
Naturally, truck deliveries of food and drink to Waldo's take place throughout the day. For us the worst of these was when a particularly large truck made a delivery at 6.30 in the morning and parked right outside our bedroom window. That might have been necessary but a more thoughtful and considerate driver would surely have turned his radio and engine off for the 20 minutes it took him to unload his boxes. That was an exceptionally early delivery of food and drink but every morning there is a garbage collection at 5.30am at the property directly behind the cottages. At least you don't need an alarm clock!!
On another morning a large truck pulled up and the driver put up a work bench in the car park and started doing some metal work for Waldo's (it sounded like welding). That was at 7.15am.
So, if you like noisy music, random parking, loud customers entering and leaving a restaurant at all times of day, and regular disruptions by heavy vehicles, you will enjoy the Driftwood Resort. But if you want a quiet break away from bustle and intrusive noise this really is not for you.
Because of the problems we experienced we cut our stay short to find somewhere more relaxing. We were sorry to leave Driftwood Resort itself but we couldn’t take living in Waldo’s car park any longer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from Waldo's restaurant as possible.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HertfordshirePandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here 11/16/13. Got an ocean view suite and it was amazing. The suite had all the comforts of home with an amazing view. The bathrooms were large with a bathtub in the middle to give some old school charm. The room was very quiet and peaceful. The resort staff was very helpful with all and any needs. Just a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batsugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My review will probably sound a lot like Mandy J's 10/7/2013 review. It seems that we stayed at the Driftwood right at the same time, and had very, very similar experiences!- unfortunately, not good experiences, at all...

We ended up here through a RCI vacation exchange. We knew ahead of time (by internet research and online pics) that this resort was going to be 'different', but we had hopes it would still be enjoyable. We were greeted by the overwhelming smell of mold/mildew, and many little ants crawling around on the kitchenette counter, in our tiny, little hotel room. RCI tries to pass this off as a 'studio suite' (in the A building), but it is a glorified hotel room. After we called about the bug problem, they sent a nice security guard up with ant traps (!), but that was not going to do. After making several more phone calls to management, we were moved to an ever-so slightly larger room in the B building (B 103). It did not have the ocean view like in the A building, but the mold smell was less pronounced, and we had a little more breathing room there, so we made it work. The parking situation was awful- locals parked there constantly, and would walk right out of the resort, on to their actual destination (which was NOT the Driftwood). This was in the supposed 'off-season', so I can only imagine how much worse it is during the summer.

Vero Beach is pretty, but there is practically NO nightlife. We were handed our check at 9pm at Mulligan's (a block away) during the baseball playoffs, surrounded by a bar full of patrons. Seems the local businesses don't really care about making money, or making repeat customers, by staying open past sunset. This is a sleepy place, so if you're looking for excitement and/or socialization, I'd try another community entirely. Even Waldo's bar (on site) closed at 11:30pm, and they were the last one open in the entire area. Our queen bed at the Driftwood was extremely uncomfortable- (bowed in the middle) so one of us ended sleeping on the couch, which wasn't much better.

Positives: right on the beach, 2 pools (albeit small and crowded), bartenders are all very nice except for one very rude guy, staff was generally friendly, although no one asked how we were enjoying our stay. We checked out 3 days early, and they didn't even blink an eye. No questions, at all... Neat decor, interesting history.

After we ended up leaving 3 days early, we finally figured it out: The Driftwood is a great place if you want to spend the day at the beach, then have dinner and multiple drinks at Waldo's restaurant. You can then crawl over to your little room and pass out, and not be bothered by the many things that I listed above. But if you're planning on staying more than one night, and NOT being intoxicated, I would have to recommend staying somewhere else...

RCI vacation exchanges are often a crap shoot, and we definitely lost big, on this one :(

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NicoleCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Driftwood. Most sorry about the ant problem you encountered, the traps were brought to you because spraying for ants doesn't do anything but spread the ants around, traps will actually kill the colony, but you should not have had ants at all and I'm sorry you did. The room you were moved to is in the main part of the resort and therefore the busiest parking lot, since it also services the restaurant. We do have 2 other lots available and except for Saturdays, when the resort is almost always full, there is always ample parking available. Half the beds have been replaced in the resort in the last month and the rest will be done by early 2014, had we known you were having a problem with the bed we would have been happy to add egg crates and/or bed boards to make it more comfortable.

Vero Beach is a small town, so there is not a strong night life available, although we do have live music at Waldo's 4-5 nights a week, but no it is not usually open past midnight. We are known as a family community and have a huge repeat clientele but they are not looking for evening activities. With the beach in front of us, a city park next to us and all the shopping areas and restaurants within walking distance of the resort most people do find enough to do to keep them busy but there are no nightclubs in the beach area.

You booked into a studio with RCI, which is what you received, but there are many larger 1 & 2 bedroom units at the resort. Hopefully if you decide to come back to Vero in the future you will be able to reserve a larger room that is more to your liking. Thank you for your comments. Jeanne Radlet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews