We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time here, we love it”
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Resort
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Gouldsboro, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“4th time here, we love it”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

It's a very quaint and rustic resort. right on the beach in Vero Beach Florida. There aren't a lot of activities. Nice restaurant right on premisis. Just comfortable if you wanna get away from it all. Our neighbor fed the squirrels so we were inundated with squirrels for an evening. other than that its just fantastic

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank amoremusica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope that you will return again. Perhaps next time your room will be farther away from the squirrels, who've been here longer than all of us humans!!! Thanks for your review. Jeanne Radlet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    95
    27
    19
    13
See reviews for
92
109
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

as of this moment we are renting a lovely unit that wecannot get in to.we are riding through all of their parking areas including on the street and there is not one space available they do not have enough parking for all of the units they only have about half the parking that they need. I tried to complain and they said the parking situation cannot be changed due to it being a historical location. That doesn't help us because we need to get into our room to change to go to a wedding. We are riding round and round in the area and have not found one space. If you don't have enough parking to assign one per unit then you simply should not be renting out all of the units because where is everyone else supposed to park?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostontink1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are so sorry you had such a terrible time finding parking. We actually do have enough spots for all of our rooms but on a busy weekend the restaurant takes some of those spots during the busy hours. All employees park off the property and we have tried to work an arrangement with the parking garage that is less than a block away but they were not in agreement. There is nowhere on the property to expand the parking or we would most assuredly have done so long ago. Again, I apologize that you had this problem and hope that you didn't have to wait too long until you found a spot and that you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Jeanne L. Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwestern NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed the first week of June in a 1 bedroom timeshare. The property is a little on the older side but they are trying to work on upgrading. Our 1 bedroom 2 bath unit overlooked a park & we could see the ocean very nicely. The balcony is the length of the living room & bedroom & easily fit 4-6 people. There were 2 chairs & we brought 3 more & had no problems. The food in Waldo's Restaurant was very good & reasonably priced. The servers are friendly & attentive. I will be staying at the Driftwood again ~~~ hopefully buying a timeshare

Room Tip: book in Building A or the building that overlooks the park. Rooms over Waldo's may get loud whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, hope you have the chance to visit us again sometime soon.
Jeanne Radlet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is great. My husband and I stayed here for only one night but it was great. It is right on the ocean (Atlantic side). We stayed in the newer section and with was spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the decor of the place too. It is also attached with Waldo's restaurant. These are landmarks for the area. The beach isn't crowded like Clearwater. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

First time at the Driftwood and it was a perfect experience. We have traveled to many Florida resorts and this was one of the few that excelled at everything. The resort itself was beautifully designed and historic while our room was very modern and comfortable. No detail was overlooked - e.g. grounds & rooms extremely clean, fully equipped kitchen, central air/heat in the room (this is a first) makes for a quiet stay, good parking, well landscaped with sea artifacts & flowers everywhere. It is pleasure to simply walk the grounds and look around. Beach is grade A being very clean, excellent waves and lots of sugar sand. Easily compares with some of the best beaches on the Gulf with a bit more of ocean feel of the Atlantic. Absolutely perfect. Waldo's restaurant had a good menu with excellent service and outdoor seating right next to the ocean...the view was spectacular. No long waits for dinner or drinks....even during spring break season. All staff were friendly and eager to provide whatever was needed. To cap it off, the city of Valero Beach is a manicured town with small shops directly across the stree from the resort and beautiful streetscape. No strip malls or big box stores on the island...which was very nice...although this are available just 5 minutes away on the mainland. The island does have everything you'll need (restaurants, souvenirs, snackshops (must go to "Cravings" right across the street from Driftwood) and personal needs such as pharmacy. In short, the resort and Vero Beach have all the major elements for an unforgettable beach vacation. If you are looking for a theme park or power shopping vacation, this may not be your place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of resort are quieter as they are farther away from Waldos which does have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a little older than many people like, but I just love the old Florida style motels. This is a little different, but I now have a new favorite on the beach. The rooms were nice and problem-free, the bar and restaurant were well worth it. Staff was very helpful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce Inlet
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

You can stay right on the water. small but clean beach. Pool, bar and restaurant. Live music on Weekends. Built out of real driftwood, this place is classic. Most of the units are timeshare but you can stay for a night or week too

Room Tip: Ocean front units for views and breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbyTRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
1.4 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#9 of 27 in Vero Beach
226 reviews
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Vero Beach
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Property: Driftwood Resort
Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1954
Region: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing