We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Piece of History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Driftwood Resort
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Piece of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

When you stay here, you must understand WHY you are staying here; it’s not for a plush bed and a 5-star room. The beds (even though new within the past year or so) are marginal at best, and the A/C in most rooms (4-story building anyway) is a loud window units. You stay here because it’s a piece of history and unique. How many hotels today give you a REAL metal key and not that plastic card? In the room is a book with info on Vero Beach and the history of the Driftwood and Waldo Sexton; take 30 minutes to read that.

It sits ON the ocean; you just can’t beat that. I always stay in the 4-story building and prefer a room on the north side overlooking the pool. All rooms in this building have two chairs outside the door; I sit there for hours, especially at night, and listen to the ocean. On good nights you can see the moonrise (when it’s a full moon it’s unreal) and then watch sunrise the next morning.

Walk around the hotel and look at stuff; count how many bells you see. Wait an hour, walk and count again; you’ll get a different number!

The restaurant (Waldo’s) is unique. I could write a book the people there. Best bet is to sit at a table that’s literally on the ocean. Grilled Mahi sandwich is what I get. If you are not driving, order a Voodoo Bucket; five kinds of rum with juice. It’s the signature drink there.

Hotel is on Ocean Drive. Nice little ice cream/sandwich across the street; Cravings. Ten restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Vero Beach is a safe place; I walk Ocean Drive at night looking into the shops of the windows with no safety concerns. When my daughter was in her early 20’s she stayed there one night and I told her, “Walk Ocean Drive; you’ll be fine.”

I grew up in Vero and live there until about 20 years ago; sadly I never stayed here when I lived there. Not until I returned on business (and to visit family who still lives there) perhaps ten years ago did I stay here. I stay 2-3 nights a year now.

I just completed my annual review at work and last fiscal year I stayed in hotels 148 nights; add 20 more for pleasure travel and I am a “road warrior!” I’ve visited all 50 states and about 15 countries; this place is unique.

Remember, forget the bed and A/C; go for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    89
    26
    19
    13
See reviews for
86
103
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We had a cottage for a week here and LOVED it! We only had a few issues none were deal breakers. 1st being we tried to do laundry and was not able to do it due to the laundry room having operating hours.( I'm on vacation not a schedule!) 2nd being parking. We had to park in a 2nd lot due to people visiting the bar/restaurant being parked in pretty much the whole parking lot. 3rd Due to the bar/resturant there is constant traffic (never was it horrible).

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, the cottages are some of our nicest units. The parking is difficult, especially on the weekends when the restaurant is hosting live music, as both our guests and the local people enjoy it so much. Hope you didn't have too much trouble finding a place to park. We look forward to you coming back and staying with us again sometime! Jeanne L. Radlet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I grew up traveling from Canada to spend spring break here as a kid and was fortunate enough to be able to do the same with my kids. We spend a week here every year and the last visit I wanted to make sure we would continue this tradition and bought a condo at the resort. If you are looking for a great family friendly resort then this is the spot to be. Beautiful beach, fun waves for surfing or body boarding, great food at Waldo's with live music, and great accommodating staff at the front desk. We currently live in Florida yet want to spend time here because of how great it is. Every room has it's own charm so make sure you know what you want before booking your room because of the options....if you want a pool view, beach view or be able to just walk out of your room to the courtyard, they all will be great...Can't wait until May 2015 for our next booked visit.....Brian, Jill, and kids...

Room Tip: Try to stay in condo's with full kitchens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks so much for the wonderful review! We are glad you are still enjoying the Driftwood after so many years and that you have now joined the Driftwood family by purchasing a week. See you next year! Jeanne Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is not a flashy new resort, but rather a relaxing inn on the beach with tons of character and charm. We stayed in the hotel in room 122A. It's on a grassy knoll overlooking the beach and near the pool and restaurant. This was our second stay and we love the place. Room was a suite with kitchen and tons of natural light. In the heart of Vero Beach within walking distance of other restaurants and shops. Live music at Waldo's on the weekend in the afternoon which was great for relaxing in the pool with a drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridafunsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hopefully you will return again in the future!! Jeanne Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family vacationed here every summer and I can still feel the boards under my feet, recall the smell of a cook out in the breeze way, and the sound of those bells ringing.
Was there in July 20, 1969 (age 4) when we landed on the moon. Our room was on the boardwalk facing the ocean. The adults were celebrating and yelling - we kids didn't have a clue.
Great place to make memories.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for your kind review and memories of so long ago! Hopefully you will continue to visit us in the future! Jeanne L. Radlet, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkeswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I Loved this place! We booked this through our RCI membership for a week in June for our summer holiday. By the end of the week, we had wish we had booked the remaining 2 weeks to stay here!! Excellent location right on the beach with fantastic facilities. Waldo's Bar and Pool bar is great value for money and a cracking setting for an evening meal. The Driftwood setting is great and the rooms have all the facillities you could ask for (We had 208 - Partial Kitchen) Vero Beach is an ideal place to chill and relax on the beach. But also not that far away from Mall's if you wanna have a little shop.

Parking is a little crowded at busy times, but park the car and leave it there! That is why you;re there - HOLIDAY! Walks along the beach were great in the early morning. Will definately be booking here again during our next holiday to florida!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi-

So glad you enjoyed your stay here, hope you return again!!

Jeanne Radlet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We where said to be overlooking the beach. And we check in and it's the pool we are overlooking. Then they gave us no direction to the room whatsoever. We found the pool and went to a third floor where the room should be because it overlooks that pool. Walk around and that's not it. I look to the other building and there is the room not looking at that pool. Have you know there is another pool and no beach view like promised.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shianc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne M, General Manager at Driftwood Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Very sorry that you were disappointed in the location of your room. The reservation was made for a poolside room, not oceanfront which is substantially more expensive and also was not available on the date your reservation was made. I apologize that the front desk person that checked you in did not make clear to you where your room was and that you had to walk around the property until you found it. I hope that the rest of your stay was pleasant. Jeanne L. Radlet, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach - Ocean Front
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#11 of 26 in Vero Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Property: Driftwood Resort
Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1954
Region: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing