We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique and relaxing place at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Driftwood Resort
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A unique and relaxing place at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2005

I have been visiting Vero Beach since the mid-sixties and although the town has grown exponentially over the past 40 years, the beach area remains very charming. Amidst the modern hotels and condos which have grown up along the beach area, two historic havens of hospitatility stand out. The Driftwood and the Ocean Grill. The Driftwood has had a hotch potch of sleeping accomodations added to it over the years, but still has the overall feel to it which is conveyed by its name. The weathered grey wood the characterizes the construction of the older buidlings is complemented by an eclectic collection of nautically themed objets d'art which the founder of the resort, Waldo Sexton acquired. There is a considerable choice of accomodations from rooms to suites to cottages. They are well-equipped and comfortable and the ocean-front ones are really wonderful with balconies right above the boardwalk and the sand. Sleeping at the Driftwood with the sound of the surf breaking is the most relaxing experience I know. While the food at Waldo's is fine, visitors should also go to the other marvelous old property just 100 yards from the Driftwood, the Ocean Grill. The restaurant literally "hangs" over the beach, supported by large pillars and if you are lucky you may get a table next to a vast expanse of glass overlooking the ocean. The menu has changed only in ways you would not notice over the past 40 years and the food remains spectacularly good. I travel around the world about half a dozen times a year, but the happiest stopover, which I try to manage a couple of times a year is at the Driftwood and I always include dinner at the Ocean Grill. The Driftwood was severaely damaged by two hurricanes in the fall of 2004, but at the time of writing, I can report that the management have done a spectacular job of repairing the Driftwood and, with the help of an architect specializing in historic preservation, is ensuring that it is brought back to its original character. I should add that I don't own a timeshare at the Driftwood and, despite my praise, have no connection with management of the resort. I simply love the place.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    89
    26
    19
    13
See reviews for
86
103
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2004

We did a timeshare swop & were very happy with our 1/1 unit in the "old/historic section".
The queen bed was new & comfortable
Our bathroom was a step back in time with a claw foot bath, brass fittings etc.
The kitchen was small, but well appointed.
Although the unit was not ocean facing we were literally steps from the beach.
Waldo's (on site) was convenient and the food was good - pity no breakfast was served on Mondays.
We had a very enjoyable stress-free holiday and will definitely return

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2004

We stayed at the Driftwood Resort. Fabulous place. Although our condo was on the beach, our family values were never compromised. We were treated like family. The condo's were the cleanest I have seen! Waldo's resturant is to die for! Simply the best. I highly recommend going. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2004

I stayed at the Driftwood with my grandparents last summer on our vacation to Vero Beach. It is one of the most beautiful and unique places I have had the privelege to stay at. The view was awesome and the staff and workers were exceptionally friendly. Our room was clean and neat and very comfortable. I had so much fun at the Driftwood and I look forward to this summer when my boyfriend and I come to visit!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2004

We stayed at the Driftwood with other family members and LOVED it...we have already recommended it to others AND sent them your brochure. We had all the amenities, convenience to everything, and the beach at our feet. Our neighbors were all very friendly and hotel services were top notch. Even tho we live in Fl year-round, we hope to come back and visit the Driftwood again, we loved it so much!

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2004

First time to Vero. Nice little town and nice beach. However, The Driftwood Resort left a lot to be desired. We checked the place out on the internet and it appeared pleasant enough. I also read a few reviews which, while not glowing, did not scare me away. In fact, a couple of websites had it rated a 3 (out of five). The Driftwood is a 2--at best!
The place has been around since the twenties and it certainly shows. It doesn't appear the owners have put much money back into the common areas. The wife and I rented one of the studio rooms. The room appeared clean enough and fairly well-maintained considering the age of the property. It was about what I expected. However, I didn't expect the two inch piece of sharp metal sticking out from the bed frame. We found it about 20 minutes after we were in the room. Actually, my wife's leg found it and it caused a 1.5-inch gash. Upon telling the front desk (and showing him a picture), he said the metal pieces shouldn't be showing (Really? I can't imagine why). He said it was likely caused by someone jumping on the bed. That was the most ridiculous thing I heard all weekend. Luckily, these metal pieces were the only two metal objects on-site that were not rusted. No stiches were needed and it doesn't look like it will be infected so I guess all's right in the world.

We had breakfast at Waldos (the on-site restaurant) one morning, Big mistake. Food was bad (runny eggs, the bacon was either overcooked or undercooked, and they had no butter) and the service was much worse.

We will go back to Vero but will not stay at the Driftwood.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2004

The resort was fine...a little on the old side, but clean. The efficiency was ok with a rather awkward layout. The kitchenette was well equipped. A broken toaster was was reported and replaced immediately. When the reservation was made by phone, I was quoted a weekly price. At check-in, nothing was mentioned by the clerk about rates...I assumed that was settled with the reservation. At check-out, I was charged a daily rate for the 7 day stay...the clerk telling me I should have specified I wanted a weekly rate (about $100 cheaper) at check-in. I feel they were in the wrong. It spoiled an otherwise ok stay.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#7 of 26 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#12 of 26 in Vero Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Resort

Property: Driftwood Resort
Address: 3150 Ocean Dr, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1954
Region: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, eclectic oceanfront resort with two of its buildings listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. 100 rooms and suites of varying sizes all with some kitchen facilities. Old Florida at its best, rocking chairs in front of every unit to gaze at the ocean while enjoying a beverage from the on site restaurant, Waldo's, the last of the Great American Hangouts! With 9 buildings on the property, there is something to please nearly every taste. Located right in the heart of the beach business district there are more than a dozen restaurants and lounges within walking distance and a newly renovated city park right next door with wonderful playground equipment for the kids. Join us for fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Driftwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Vero Beach
Driftwood Resort Vero Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing