We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Vero Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
2 reviews
“Never will return”
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I was locked out of my room for over a hour, while they tried to figure out how to get in, they did offer me a free drink at the bar, got into my room only to find out that my room was never cleaned and a note left that they respected my privacy because they could not get into my room either. although I never put up a do not disturb sign! they did send chocolate covered strawberries, to which they left the dirty plate in my room for 2 days. I travel every week for my job and stay at very nice hotels but this one is Very over priced for the rooms and service, take a look at the Holiday Inn before you waste your money!!!!!
also could not get the free wifi to do work in my room

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    295
    97
    40
    28
See reviews for
290
851
54
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My family and I loved our stay at Costa D’ Este, Vero Beach. From the time we arrived until the time we left the staff was professional, the food delicious and the atmosphere was more than we could have imagined. The free valet parking was a plus, especially after the long drive. Upon entering we were greeted by Alejandra who helped us check in and assisted in giving us fliers for the local activities for the kids and coupons/directions to the shopping center and local outlets. Gustavo unloaded our luggage and told us about the hotel as we walked to the room. The room was spacious, and the queen beds were soooo comfortable.

The children thoroughly enjoyed the beach, pool, and the DJ who played their requests. Most of all they enjoyed sharing the delicious chocolate turtles left when room service was done cleaning the room.

We ate at Oriente inside the resort...I suggest the sliders-delicious. The Ropa Vieja and Vaca Frita were excellent as well. The Mojito was also prepared properly. Room service was just as good, we ordered the Palomilla and Arroz con pollo, we asked for extra plates and silverware...and they were at the room within 20 minutes.

The local shopping prices were ok and the mall was not too far, and the local area had a fair and open market which we strolled through.

Although we didn't have time for the spa or gym we will try them next time. Clean hotel, clean room, clean pool, right on the beach, not too expensive, with good service and good weather, overall we had a great time.


We look forward to our next stay at the Costa D’ Este Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvarezmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Likes (there are a few): Ultra modern design, complimentary upgrade to ocean view room, two free drinks voucher for having to wait for room to be ready, direct beach access. The bellman and frontdesk staff are very friendly and thats about it. Complimentary valet.

Dislikes (many): $10 drinks, super overpriced food...I am from Miami and Im Cuban...you may be able to fool some Mid-west Folk, but I know good Cuban food and this is not it! I gave up on the "traditional Cuban fare" and opted for a hamburger and sandwich delivered to our room since the restaurant closes at 9pm and theres nowhere else to eat. With all the service fee, delivery fees and extra charges, the bill came out to over $50...for an average burger,cuban sandwich, and black bean soup!

The only way in and out of the South Tower rooms is thru a dark, sewage smelling stairwell.....what about this says LUXURY? I had to hold my nose everytime...It was awful, but the only way to get to our room. All the activity at the hotel revolves around a plain, no big deal, rectangular small pool...its crowded and you'd have to get up at the crack of dawn to get on of those double loungers pictured on the website. The service at the bar and pool area is SLLLLOOOW...you have to flag them down. They do not come to you even if you've been sitting there for a long, long time. Again, this should not be necessary at a "luxury" hotel with prices to match. The outdoor staff needs training! If you didnt get a limited and in high demand pool lounger, you're only other choice is to head out to the beach...they have about ten beach chairs with NO umbrellas and these too get taken very quickly. No service out on the beach. No information in the room on Vero sites to see and things to do around the area...no conceirge.

My husband and I got bored over just "hanging out" in the hotel watching people get drunk and doing all sorts of antics around the pool, We walked around outisde..there are a few shops and we preferred having breakfast at the Lemon Tree across the street because the hotel menu was so ridiculously overpriced. There are a few little touristy beach stores but really nothing to do in Vero beach...if you're looking to just lay around and relax, I guess this is the place for you, but theres not much else going on and everything closes early. One night we ordered a "palomilla" steak...a staple of the Cuban diet...a signature Cuban dish....easy to make, hard to mess up...my steak tasted old...and room service is served in these little plastic TV tray looking things that make you feel it came out of a microwave....are real plates too much to ask for?

With all the hotel choices in Florida, we definitely won't go back. This hotel is all hype and flash but little to back it up once you get past the pretty decor. I was not impressed.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank missmeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2009

It is hard to express in words about how thrilled I am with this treasure retreat. I took along my 6 and 11 year olds for our first family vacation. As soon as I pulled up to the lobby, everything was taken care of. We stayed in a King Cabana room which is very spacious and has its own patio and a manicured lawn!!! From your patio you can see the ocean just over the sand dune. The pool overlooks the ocean as well with a huge hot tub. The place was as clean as mom's. Although the hotel is luxurious, I never felt out of my element with the kids. Just beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. We ended up adding an additional day because we just didn't want to leave. I found my new home away from home. Only 1 problem arose while I was there and I'm sure it will be rectified in the next couple of days. At check out I questioned a $56 bill from their pool bar. When they pulled the itemized bill, I found that drinks I had not ordered were on my bill as well as a $10 tip I never signed for. I’m waiting to hear back from them after they pull the signature, if there is one. Next time, I plan to pay cash for food and beverage to avoid the problem all together. Go enjoy yourself but be sure to look over your bill!!
I did not notice the problems that other advisors wrote about. Although the floors are marble I couldn’t hear anything outside of our room. For inside the room I would recommend gliders for under the dining chairs. The pool area was always clean and chairs were usually available. Chairs were always available on the beach and I thought they balanced the locals with the guests well.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laoniaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Grove, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

My husband and I have family that have vacation homes in Vero Beach. When we visit them several times per year, sometimes we like the peace and quiet of a hotel. We \were excited about Costa d'Este and were VERY upset. THe DJ kept us up until 12:30 in the morning on Sunday with LOUD music and the service was not reflective of a luxury boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TexanCoconutGrove_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Had a wonderful stay and trying to figure out next trip to this lovely hotel. Directly on the beash with very nice rooms. The photos on the websites are accurate and good representation of what you get. Had a great time poolside with one minor problem. The poolside bartenders are BAD. They are young and obviously never worked in a bar before.I had 4 mixed drinks and I think only two of them the alcohol actually got in the glass. At $6 per drink that is not good. On the good side the had a seperate person pushing Mojitos. She knew how to make these and you could get a pitcher for $35.00. Very good investment. The only other issue w had was with the Night DJ. If you want to sleep before 1 am, get a room looking away from the pool. It was very loud, our room was on the 5th floor and over the ocean. We could not drown out the DJ, even after closing the room up tight and turning A/C fan on the "on" position. Could easily have provided the same atmosphere with a few 1000 less watts of sound. and the Barking DJ is totally unnecessary. That being said these issues were not enough to ruin our Mommy/Daddy getaway.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanoOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

My husband & I stayed at Costa D'Este with his family, and we had a lovely time. The rooms were modern, very simple, and beautiful. We had booked 6 rooms in total, and all of us had balcony views of the pool. The ocean was a little cold and rough for our taste, but who needs the ocean when you've got a gorgeous pool & hot tub? Loved the pool chairs: very large that 2 or 3 people could fit in. Nightlife by the pool was very lively, and they had a DJ that played until midnight. The soundproofing is great, though, because we didn't hear a thing even though the music was still on. Great appetizers at the bar, and the food at the restaurant, although more of a Cuban fusion, was very tasty. Couldn't say enough good things about this place! The staff was friendly, and the price was just right. Definitely worth staying at Costa D'Este!!!!!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vero Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#7 of 27 in Vero Beach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Vero Beach Downtown
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#12 of 27 in Vero Beach
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3244 Ocean Drive, Vero Beach, FL 32963-1956
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Vero Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vero Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Vero Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vero Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vero Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Vero Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort is set alongside miles of pristine Florida golden sand beaches. The skilled staff stand ready to inspire and pamper, providing harmony and soul to every interaction. Gloria and Emilio Estefan's personal taste is evident throughout this Florida beachfront resort and is beautifully obvious everywhere you look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa D'Este Beach Resort & Spa Vero Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing