We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wakulla Springs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakulla Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2010

My family and I rented four rooms at the lodge and stayed for three days. We celebrated the engagement of three of my children. The staff at the lodge could not be more helpful. They helped us plan our trip, provided a fantastic dining experience in a private room for our group, and even tolerated the two one-year olds that seemed to find dinner boring. I had the best room in the lodge, it had two queen beds and full pull out couch. The room is so large i was also able to house both babies in two separate cribs, and still had room for the entire family to gather when it began raining. The room overlooks the spring and river with a wall of windows that all open and are screened. A writing desk place in front of the windows was a wonderful place to write, and read the interesting log book of previous travellers. All of the rooms were clean and neat, and the housekeeping staff were kind and respectful of our privacy.
We took the boat tour in the rain, and saw more wildlife than the next day when we took the tour again when it was sunny. The tour guides are excellent, and the lodge is a perfect escape. There is no television, so the family came prepared with board games, and the lodge has many marble checker tables and a wonderful gift store to browse in. On the evening of the engagement party dinner, the storm knocked out the electricity and the lodge ran on generator power. We couldn't have paid for a more romantic atmosphere, with low level lighting, flickering lightening strikes outside, and a fantastic waitress who truly helped make the night awesome.

On a scale of 1-10, the lodge, its staff, and the boat guides were definately a 12!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprildawn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

A very cool place to stay. Rustic and yet elegant. Cool architecture. Kids likes swimming in the Springs and jumping off the diving platform. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank almzacharias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

All I can say about this place is wow! On a whim we booked 2 nights to take advantage of an off season special that each day included both a full dinner and a boat ride. Wakulla Springs is a Florida State Park that seems to fly under the radar but those in the know recognize to be a premier attraction. I mean, you can swim in the spring (a chilly 69 degrees year round, although the water in the surrounding shallows warms in the sun), take a "jungle" cruise with a very knowledgeable and entertaining park ranger, hike on trails around the property, and bike the area (it is an easy 5 miles from the lodge down State Road 267, which has bike lanes, to the Tallahassee-St Marks rails to trails bicycle trail - if you have kids, there is a fabulous playground at the Wakulla Station trail head near where the trail crosses 267 - another 5 miles down the trail puts you in St. Marks, where you can get a great lunch or a beer at the Riverside Cafe). The lodge itself is a relic from the 1930's taken over by the State when they established the park about 35 or 40 years ago and looks out over the spring, which we were told produces 200,000 gallons of water per minute. There is an entrance fee for the park, but it is waived if you are staying in the lodge. If it matters to you, there is no internet available and no TV in the rooms.

What distinguishes the lodge is the marble, which floors everything, including guest rooms. It was obviously built to last. It is not elegant, but is very true to its period, with a yellow stucco and terra cotta tile exterior. Our room was quite large, with huge walk-in closet, a perfectly comfortable double bed, and a single twin size. In contrast to the pink tile laid out for the flooring, the bathroom walls were enormous slabs of green tile. The dining room is a huge, high ceiling'd room off of the lobby and the food very good, although a bit heavy for my taste. If you want evening entertainment or another dining option you will need to drive into Tallahassee, which is at most 30 minutes away. Things are very quiet at night.

We found all of the staff to be extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and bathroom amenities were ample. The AC system is centralized with room thermostats, so there is none of that unit in the window noise that characterizes newer hostelry. One thing that all visitors are charmed by is the old timey elevator from the lobby to the 2nd floor, which works amazingly well, especially considering it is the original. The double landing staircase to the second floor done in pink marble is also amazing, as is the rustic painted high ceiling in the lobby. The gift shop with its incredibly long marble bar is also worth visiting.

We took the jungle cruise twice and would cheerfully have gone again had we stayed longer, since it was so different the second time from the first (along with numerous alligators and a large variety of birds, we were privileged to see several manatees, including calves, two of whom swam up right alongside our boat). The grounds around the lodge are gorgeous and there are a number of hiking trails and picnic areas. Both mornings and evenings are special times - quiet and serene since the only overnight visitors are those staying in the lodge. At sunset you can stand in the parking lot and watch literally hundreds of chimney swifts come in to roost overnight in the lodge's chimney that has been left in disuse for this purpose.

We had so much fun we are planning to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

What a charming "Old Florida" hotel reminiscent of "yester year!" This spanish moorish renaissance style lodge is situated right beside Wakulla Springs. Attractions consist of swimming in the crystal clear spring (diving platform too which kids like), boat cruises on the Wakulla River, relaxing on benches under the spanish moss draped oaks & cypress trees, walking the nature trails, playing checkers or watching "Creature from the Black Lagoon" in the hotel lobby by request, dining in the dining room offering breakfast, lunch & dinner, enjoying a "Ginger Yip" from the snack bar, riding the old fashioned elevator that still works, shopping in the gift shop, enjoying the exhibits to view mastodon bones found in the spring and also viewing "Old Joe" in the lobby. This hotel was clean, well kept and meals served in the dining room were honestly very good. Breakfast was excellent as was our dinner. Prices good value for what's included. Their Navy bena soup, fried chicken, pork shanks; all fabulous! Would recommend this lodge for older couples, and families with children, or outdoor/nature enthusiasts. Rooms do not have TV's, coffee makers and their is no liquor bar or night life at this lodge. Just a great place to relax and "get away from it all." Beds were comfortable and rooms very ample in size. Complimentary coffee is served in the lobby each morning. However; not sure if "decaf" is served since both coffee carafes said "Regular." The staff was friendly and hospitable. The Wakulla Springs Lodge is very special and unique! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mespos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Can only agree with most of the positive reviews. I believe we also had the help of the very nice park employee lady who was there in the evening. Truly enjoyed the dining room. Same for the boat tour. We felt that we were immersed in the true Florida and surrounded by nature. Peaceful.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rt66tbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed a couple of nights here. We thought it a very good value, even though this lodge does not have things we take for granted. They don't have televisions or clock/radios in the rooms, just one big screen TV in the lobby. But the setting is next to a fresh water spring (69 degrees year round), they have a restaurant serving 3 meals a day (good thing, you have to drive a half hour to get to Tallahassee, the biggest city in the area), and the rooms are clean and all have bathrooms (and air conditioning). This is the Florida's only state park hotel, and once the springs are closed to the public (before 9:30AM and after 7:30PM), it's just the guests and the people living it up at the restaurant. Really beautiful natural setting, lots of trails through the woods, boat tours on the river (no canoeing or kayaking though). A lot of money went into the building, and it seems to have been nicely maintained, perhaps a little frayed around the edges, but nothing off-putting. Very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SvenskaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We really loved this lodge. We (my husband and I) thought the character, history, furnishings, ambience were very unique and wonderful. The price, off-season was affordable too. They had a package that included one-night stay, dinner and boat tour for two.
Our room faced the courtyard which we liked. The rooms facing the water were 30.00 more but this was nice for the price. Our room was very clean, simple, nice, quality- period furnishings, marble floors and comfortable. You felt as though you were back in time. No TV which was wonderful. We read books for a change.
The lobby was amazing. So much history, marble floors, monstrous firpleace that the staff kept stoked all night, marble checker table, lovely tile around the arches, I could keep going.
Beautiful view.
We enjoyed walking down to the beach and climbing up the two-story diving platform and actually saw many manatees right below us. We also saw alligators and the "jumping" mullet fish.
Dinner was great, prime rib as big as a roast. Breakfast was fine too.
We also enjoyed the 45 min. river boat tour. What a bargain!!! We saw so many alligators, manatees and birds of all kind.
The first couple of Tarzan movies were filmed here and "The Creature from the Black Lagoon".
If you want to stay somewhere filled with history and charm and feel like you were back in time at a very reasonable price, try this lodge. We can't wait to go back next year as we travel down to Florida.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northernite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakulla Springs
8.0 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
#2 of 2 in Crawfordville
286 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
17.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
19.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tallahassee I-10 East
14.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakulla Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakulla Springs Lodge

Address: 550 Wakulla Park Dr, Wakulla Springs, FL 32327-0390
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Wakulla Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakulla Springs
Price Range: £102 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakulla Springs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Wakulla Springs is located in the Wakulla Springs State Park near historic Tallahassee, Florida. Considered a Florida architectural landmark the Lodge has been on the grounds since 1937 and is featured, along with the nearly 6,000 acre park and river, on the National Register of Historic Places. Surrounded by canopies of oak, hickory, and beech trees, the natural springs, and Florida wildlife, the Lodge offers an old southern feel and a peaceful getaway for family vacations and reunions, weddings anniversaries, conferences, and other special events. The Lodge also is a perfect retreat for artists, writers, or those that just want to get away from it all. Guests will be inspired by nature's beauty and serenity inside of any one of the 27 guest rooms which overlook the springs, park, and courtyard. In keeping with the Lodge atmosphere there are no televisions in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Wakulla Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakulla Springs Hotel Wakulla Springs
Wakulla Springs Lodge Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing