We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Wakulla Springs
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn(Crawfordville)(Great Value!)
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites(Crawfordville)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
166
153
60
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
153
60
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridastate parksoda fountainmarble floorstarzan moviesglass bottomreal floridahand paintedthe ice cream parlorhuge lobbyhistoric hotelguest roomsspanish mosswalk in closetfour poster bedwildlife refugean overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
373 - 378 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2010

The park and lodge are extremely interesting and teeming with beautiful wildlife however I would not recommend staying in the lodge. The accommodations are simple at best even though the rooms are spacious and filled with interesting architecture. The bed was horrible! We could feel the springs with every move. There are no clocks, tv or wifi in the rooms. The heating system was so loud we could hardly sleep at all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debidew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Food
The Breakfast at the Lodge is wonderful. Fill up in the morning and you can easily skip lunch or just pack your own snack.
The Lodge restaurant is a good place for dinner too, and certainly has the best ambiance of all the places we tried. However, the food is not spectacular so if you are in the area for multiple nights we recommend leaving the lodge and trying the local cuisine as well. A very good casual spot is called the Seineyard Restaurant, and is about a 15min drive from the lodge. Angelo's is 25min south in Panacea and looks over the Gulf of Mexico. Angelo's & the lodge are priced the same. Seineyard is significantly less expensive but also very casual.

Activities
Definitely do the River Boat cruise more than once if possible, but don't bother in poor weather. To see the manatees your best bet is looking off the end of the diving pier around 7-7:30am. We never saw any alligators from the mainland, but you'll se plenty on the boat cruise. For extended stayers, definitely visit the Marine Specimen Lab in Panacea. If you have kids, you can not miss this place. The hikes within Wakulla park are also very nice for a day or half/day activity depending on length. Trails are well marked and not at all strenuous.

Lodge/Amenities
Rooms are nice but definitely expect the 'rugged, old, cabin' feel as opposed to your sterile chain hotel room. Thermostats in each room make it very nice to control your own temperature. The mattresses are not firm and could use an upgrade, but take a couple of hikes during the day and you will sleep well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soblem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

My family and I rented four rooms at the lodge and stayed for three days. We celebrated the engagement of three of my children. The staff at the lodge could not be more helpful. They helped us plan our trip, provided a fantastic dining experience in a private room for our group, and even tolerated the two one-year olds that seemed to find dinner boring. I had the best room in the lodge, it had two queen beds and full pull out couch. The room is so large i was also able to house both babies in two separate cribs, and still had room for the entire family to gather when it began raining. The room overlooks the spring and river with a wall of windows that all open and are screened. A writing desk place in front of the windows was a wonderful place to write, and read the interesting log book of previous travellers. All of the rooms were clean and neat, and the housekeeping staff were kind and respectful of our privacy.
We took the boat tour in the rain, and saw more wildlife than the next day when we took the tour again when it was sunny. The tour guides are excellent, and the lodge is a perfect escape. There is no television, so the family came prepared with board games, and the lodge has many marble checker tables and a wonderful gift store to browse in. On the evening of the engagement party dinner, the storm knocked out the electricity and the lodge ran on generator power. We couldn't have paid for a more romantic atmosphere, with low level lighting, flickering lightening strikes outside, and a fantastic waitress who truly helped make the night awesome.

On a scale of 1-10, the lodge, its staff, and the boat guides were definately a 12!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprildawn97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

A very cool place to stay. Rustic and yet elegant. Cool architecture. Kids likes swimming in the Springs and jumping off the diving platform. Food was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank almzacharias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

All I can say about this place is wow! On a whim we booked 2 nights to take advantage of an off season special that each day included both a full dinner and a boat ride. Wakulla Springs is a Florida State Park that seems to fly under the radar but those in the know recognize to be a premier attraction. I mean, you can swim in the spring (a chilly 69 degrees year round, although the water in the surrounding shallows warms in the sun), take a "jungle" cruise with a very knowledgeable and entertaining park ranger, hike on trails around the property, and bike the area (it is an easy 5 miles from the lodge down State Road 267, which has bike lanes, to the Tallahassee-St Marks rails to trails bicycle trail - if you have kids, there is a fabulous playground at the Wakulla Station trail head near where the trail crosses 267 - another 5 miles down the trail puts you in St. Marks, where you can get a great lunch or a beer at the Riverside Cafe). The lodge itself is a relic from the 1930's taken over by the State when they established the park about 35 or 40 years ago and looks out over the spring, which we were told produces 200,000 gallons of water per minute. There is an entrance fee for the park, but it is waived if you are staying in the lodge. If it matters to you, there is no internet available and no TV in the rooms.

What distinguishes the lodge is the marble, which floors everything, including guest rooms. It was obviously built to last. It is not elegant, but is very true to its period, with a yellow stucco and terra cotta tile exterior. Our room was quite large, with huge walk-in closet, a perfectly comfortable double bed, and a single twin size. In contrast to the pink tile laid out for the flooring, the bathroom walls were enormous slabs of green tile. The dining room is a huge, high ceiling'd room off of the lobby and the food very good, although a bit heavy for my taste. If you want evening entertainment or another dining option you will need to drive into Tallahassee, which is at most 30 minutes away. Things are very quiet at night.

We found all of the staff to be extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and bathroom amenities were ample. The AC system is centralized with room thermostats, so there is none of that unit in the window noise that characterizes newer hostelry. One thing that all visitors are charmed by is the old timey elevator from the lobby to the 2nd floor, which works amazingly well, especially considering it is the original. The double landing staircase to the second floor done in pink marble is also amazing, as is the rustic painted high ceiling in the lobby. The gift shop with its incredibly long marble bar is also worth visiting.

We took the jungle cruise twice and would cheerfully have gone again had we stayed longer, since it was so different the second time from the first (along with numerous alligators and a large variety of birds, we were privileged to see several manatees, including calves, two of whom swam up right alongside our boat). The grounds around the lodge are gorgeous and there are a number of hiking trails and picnic areas. Both mornings and evenings are special times - quiet and serene since the only overnight visitors are those staying in the lodge. At sunset you can stand in the parking lot and watch literally hundreds of chimney swifts come in to roost overnight in the lodge's chimney that has been left in disuse for this purpose.

We had so much fun we are planning to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews