We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wakulla Springs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakulla Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2007

My family arrived for a overnite stay on our way to Sandestin,we arrived about 6:30pm with reservations. The room was the only one left with only 2 single beds for 2 adults and 2 children. The staff quickly put another roll away bed in the room and was plenty comfortable. If your looking for tv's and video games forget it. But if your looking for orginality and great scenery this is the place. We went swimming the next day in crystal clear water,diving off the platform with scuba divers in caves under us.
We had to wait for 45 minutes for dinner due to a big group of people ahead of us so they gave us free drinks untill our meal arrived(beer ,wine, soft drinks whatever we were drinking. Also do the river boat ride you won't forget it. Lots of crocs,turtles exotic birds and wildlife. Truly a real Florida experiience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anna-kennedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2007

Wakulla Springs Lodge is a great place to stay if you aren't interested in TV and all the modern convienences. The lodge was quiet and restful. The food was excellent. We stayed on Mother's Day weekend and it was the best present I could hope for. Next time we will bring our dive gear to dive in Cherokee sink (watch for snakes) and our bikes to ride.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pkleez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

We really enjoy going to the Wakulla Springs Lodge. My family & I go once a year to "chill out" in the springs.We usually stay 3 or 4 days. The lodge is beautiful. The old fashion elevator gives us a taste of history . We enjoy taking the boat ride to see nature at it's best. Try to do the first boat ride of the day. You get to see the mist/fog disappear. The "Creature from the Black Lagoon" was filmed here. The old fashioned ice cream counter service is fun. The lodge restaurant serves a great breakfast & dinner. You can enjoy the view of the springs etc.while eating. The springs are cold but it makes you feel refreshed. It's great for the hair/skin.. Once you are in you will not want to get out. Don't forget to look at the ceiling of the lobby at the lodge. The wood & painting is beautiful. The rooms don't have t.v. so you can read a good book or go downstairs & play checkers. The lobby has a big screen t.v. & you can request to see "The Creature from the Black Lagoon" movie. This is a place to enjoy & relax. Tallahassee is not to far to go for a drive to see sights. We are going again in the fall.

5  Thank fairiespixiedust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

Have been visiting, eating or staying at this facility for over 26 years. It has changed little, which is a good thing. Rooms are simple
and basic, but offer great natural views of the spring area and nightly serenades of croaking alligators, frogs, crickets and other wildlife. Restaurant quality has remained consistent over a quarter of a century! The staff told me the dinnerware is really original to the Lodge. The fried local oysters are my all time favorite and the baked chicken is good too.

Property and the grounds are always clean and maintained. If you are looking for a secluded quiet short getaway from the city, this is the
place to go There are still things to do around there - swimming
in the spring, boat tours, canoe rentals a little further downstream,
St. Marks Widlife refuge, fishing, etc. and, if you are really desperate, the mall and restaurants in Tallahassee are less than thirty minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oldpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2007

We went to Wakulla Springs State Park in Wakulla Springs, FL on a weekend get-a-way with our Florida cousins. They had been there before and wanted to show us this quaint little spot which is often passed over for more showy sites. It is not a place for those who must be continuously amuzed. Rather it is off the beaten path- perfect place for a respite, yet classic movie buffs will remember scenes from its waters and swamps.
The hotel still looks and feels as it might when Olivia DeHaviland or Joeseph Cotton stayed there while filming a movie. As a matter of fact, I almost felt as if I were in one! It is clearly from a simplier time. There are no plush amenities in the rooms, not even a television, but the rooms are comfortable and clean. The dining hall is exceptional in both its food-quality and quantity-and its atmosphere. They obviously have a wonderful kitchen staff! Be sure to have the Sunday morning brunch and linger over your tea or coffee. Take the boat out over the clear waters and observe the wildlife so near the shore or enjoy the swimming area where the water is unbelievably clear. A good place for families to enjoy time together.

13  Thank sullyfamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2005

My mother and I returned to her home of TAllahassee to reminisce and re visit the south of old. It is something that we have always wanted to do. It was incredible!!!!! The lodge is absolutely gorgeous. No TV, just the traveler and the old south. It was the wet and rainy version of FLorida, but very real. each evening after dinner we sat in the lobby with Joe the alligator who lost his life to poachers, we enjoyed the quiet surroundings and the moist environment. We had several spectacular meals in the dining room. We met Mom's highschool friends and caught up on life. We rediscovered our roots. Why go to DIsney World when this beautiful spot is still with us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MrsMcC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, GA
216
Reviewed 7 August 2005

We visited Wakulla Springs a couple of years ago and also this April. It was a very refreshing tour of Florida pristine waters. Incredible! So many fish, and different types of birds, turtles, snakes and, of course, alligators! Great and funny tour guides, and you can see how they love their job (we even repeated our toures a couple of times). Loved diving from the platform into the cool, clean and crystal clear water, admired jumping fish right in frint of swimmers and a very visible big gator on the other side of the river. Good restaurant and rooms without any TV. Only bothering thing was loud A/C, everything else was perfect for very stressed-out and overworked residents of Georgia.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Rooms
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wakulla Springs
9.6 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
8 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
#2 of 2 in Crawfordville
296 reviews
17.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Tallahassee Capitol
13.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Tallahassee Central
14.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tallahassee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakulla Springs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakulla Springs Lodge

Address: 550 Wakulla Park Dr, Wakulla Springs, FL 32327-0390
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Wakulla Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wakulla Springs
Price Range: £105 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakulla Springs Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Wakulla Springs is located in the Wakulla Springs State Park near historic Tallahassee, Florida. Considered a Florida architectural landmark the Lodge has been on the grounds since 1937 and is featured, along with the nearly 6,000 acre park and river, on the National Register of Historic Places. Surrounded by canopies of oak, hickory, and beech trees, the natural springs, and Florida wildlife, the Lodge offers an old southern feel and a peaceful getaway for family vacations and reunions, weddings anniversaries, conferences, and other special events. The Lodge also is a perfect retreat for artists, writers, or those that just want to get away from it all. Guests will be inspired by nature's beauty and serenity inside of any one of the 27 guest rooms which overlook the springs, park, and courtyard. In keeping with the Lodge atmosphere there are no televisions in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Wakulla Springs Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakulla Springs Hotel Wakulla Springs
Wakulla Springs Lodge Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing