We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm... Shrimp.....”
Review of Shrimp-R-Us & More

Shrimp-R-Us & More
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Welaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We cater to families and large groups - offering a full menu ranging from hamburgers to homemade Maryland-style jumbo lump crabcakes, hand-breaded shrimp, New England clam chowder, fresh vegetables, a daily lunch special, homemade desserts and many other options. We have something for everyone!
Reviewed 26 July 2014

While seasonal hours indicate this restaurant is closed on Monday and Tuesday in the summer, we decided we had to stop and try it for lunch on our way out of town on Wednesday. And I am certainly glad we did! I had steamed shrimp and there were delicious - steamed just right and not overdone and rubbery like so many places prepare them. My husband had the catch of the day and thought it was just great as well. And the desserts are certainly worth saving some room for! I'm sure we'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarkaanne, Owner at Shrimp-R-Us & More, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your very nice review, we really appreciate your comments. Yes, we are closed now on Mondays and Tuesdays as it is our slow season and this enables our employees to have the same days off each week, and for us to make Shrimp "R" Us even better with our new menu items and ideas. We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We rented a house in Brown's Fishing Camp they told us to come here to have dinner and make sure to order fried oysters which were excellent. We order wagi blackened and catfish, crab cakes and seafood platter. We love all. The desserts home made were fresh and delicious. .

Thank vive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarkaanne, Owner at Shrimp-R-Us & More, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

So glad that you came to have dinner with us while you were on vacation - and that you enjoyed everything, including our handmade jumbo lump crabcakes (one of our specialties). We look forward to having you visit us again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is an awesome place to eat while on the Saint Johns River. We had the catfish plates and they were cooked to perfection.

Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarkaanne, Owner at Shrimp-R-Us & More, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Yes, we are one block up from the river and this is where our catfish comes from! The St. John's River Catfish Company in Palatka supplies all our catfish - the fillets and the fingerlings. We look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited some friends in the area and they took us here after an afternoon of boating - we were very hungry so they recommended Shrimp-R-Us. It was pretty darn good. We just ordered appetizers because we didn't have much time. Service was good and fast. We ordered steamed shrimp, crab balls, gator tails, fish bites, and more. The shrimp and crab were my favorite. All of it was good though - can't go wrong. We were there at an off time so it was pretty empty but lots of land there - I'm sure it's fun later on in the evening with the outside area. Lots of food for little money - I'd go back next time I'm in the area! Even bought a t-shirt!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PBJKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zarkaanne, Owner at Shrimp-R-Us & More, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review! I remember your group - you were a lot of fun, and we enjoyed having you spend some time with us. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

shrimp was over cooked,it was ok.Not the best meal,average.The waitress was very nice.You can walk there,its that close. So that may work for some people. Could have been an off nite.

2  Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shrimp-R-Us & More also viewed

 

Been to Shrimp-R-Us & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing