We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an amazing place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welaka Lodge & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

we stayed for 2 nights in APril and it was simply stunning. We had the loft cottage, which is very nicely decorated (think French boutique) and has a lovely deck with jacuzzi and gas bbq. The setting is stunning, right by the river, so we spent a lot of time on the deck watching the river and gator spotting. The sunsets are wonderful. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the cookout they have on a Sunday was great - lots of locals around and a very good vibe. I would absolutley recommend this as the perfect way to relax after a few days of fun in Orlando. Simply beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateandMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

Welaka Lodge is absolutely the best fishing lodges and /or leisure vacation spots I have ever I've ever been to in my 40= years of travel. The accomadations are first rate the owners and staff are off the scale when it comes being frieindly and helpful.

The town is laid back old Florida with a great restaurant and bar combination ( Shrimp R Us and More) The perminent and residents and the vacation home owners really know how to make strangers feel welcome.

Stayed: March 2011
Thank BoLandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins and it would wonderful. If you want to disconnect and not do anything but lounge around and have a romantic getaway this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOOMGURL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This Place is amazing! It is such a treasure in the middle of nowhere, right on the River super quiet and extremely romantic. At the time we went we were the only ones down at the dock which is also a pretty cool bar in the summer months I assume... plenty of boat slips for their guests. Check in was super easy and friendly, they have the cutest rabbits running around as pets. Our cottage was so nice I almost want to say luxurious but in a rustic way... I loved the tile shower plenty of room for 2. They have everything you will ever need right there in your cottage you dont have to bring anything but your clothes. Next time we go we will bring food to cook in the kitchen and on the cool great big grill they have. We ended up eating at one of the local seafood places and it was so good and the people in this town are all friendly... The bed was huge and super comfortable and the sheets were high thread count very nice! I didn't want to get out of bed! and our absolute favorite part was our own personal hot tub on the back porch! it was so relaxing and soul healing being out there on a warm crystal clear night looking at the stars, having a beer and just enjoying life! It was better than I could have imagined! I cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisacrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was such a wonderful place to truly relax. The small village of Welaka was full of very friendly folk. Everyone was very talkative and friendly whether you were getting bait, stopping for a meal, or getting gas.

We absolutely loved our cabin. We were very surprised by how large it was and how private it was. The view of the River was gorgeous. The amount of extras was quite surprising. An extremely nice hot tub, large gas grill, picnic table, outdoor fire pit on the deck, and we can't forget the wood burning stove in the living room. It was perfect for keeping the chill of the night away.

The staff was super friendly and extremely helpful. Whether it was giving directions to the grocery store, recommending fishing guides, or even recommending places to fish. When we bought fire wood, they delivered it to the cabin for us.

The dock was a great place for fishing and for watching the sunset. Late afternoon was such a wonderful time. All of the other guests of the cabins or RVs would all wander down to the dock, talk with everyone, and watch the sun set. You must bring your camera.

Not only was this area tremendous for catching fish, we caught one 9 pound large mouth, two 8 pound large mouths, bluegills, catfish (one was a 5 pounder off the dock), and several other species, but there is lots of other outdoors things to do. There are many trials to hike or run that lead to springs. We saw several bald eagles, ospreys, and even an otter.

We can't wait to go back. All of our friends who have seen our pictures of our catches are extremely jealous.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arwenlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of getting away for a long weekend at Welaka Lodge. We found the staff and amenities to be outstanding. Kevin and Jessica are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudntine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We live in south florida on the Indian River, palm trees and great sunsets and sunrises! However, for the feeling of an old florida get away the west cabin on the south boundary of the property is like an old florida feeling. We have been up three times and it can't be beat for view, comfort and privacy. Take your own groceries or look for some out of the way places to dine, but the grill, hot tub and serenity on a late afternoon, cooking on the grill is tops. Great to view the site on Google Earth and see the progress of the development. We were there before the poll and the RV sites, so we can claim rights as "original" fans. Well done to the owners! Char and Warren

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rifleman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Welaka Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welaka Lodge & Resort

Address: 1001 Front St, Welaka, FL 32193-2072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Welaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Welaka
Price Range: £90 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under live oaks, magnolias and palms, on a high bluff overlooking the beautiful St. Johns River, is a slice of paradise Old Florida style. Catering to the casual and avid fisherman and their families, outdoor enthusiasts, or just those looking for a quiet respite in a beautiful setting, Welaka Lodge and Resort provides luxury cottage accommodations in a rustic setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welaka Lodge And Resort
Welaka Hotel Welaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing