We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one week of pleasure!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welaka Lodge & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Ohio
1 review
“one week of pleasure!!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

we have spent the last week at welaka lodge & resort!!! this is the best place to stay on the st. johns river!!! just amazing!! they think of every little thing you might need!!! from a pitcher for koolaid, a whisk to mix it and even a measuring cup!! there is extra trash bags, toilet paper and towels!!! they allow dogs so my family member got ot come!!! the cottage is stuuningly beautiful with perfect decorations!! a wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: choice a cottage that allows pets!!! we stayed in the cottage with a bedroom lofft!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
63
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My sister and I recently stayed at the one bedroom cabin with loft at Welaka Lodge while visiting our parents who winter in the area. It was a beautiful cabin and cleaner than any hotel I have ever visited. We weren't as concerned with the park amenities because we spent most of our time with our parents, but the pool area appeared to be very clean and well kept. We would absolutely return for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We've stayed here before ad had a wonderful time as a couple. The cottages are very nicely appointed. We really enjoyed the convenience and all the amenities available. This is definitely a sleepy campground. This past week I took my wife and kids for my wife’s birthday. The POOL is NOT heated as advertised!!! Our children went to the pool and the staff quickly suggested they not swim because the pool was 65 degrees. The staff was very uncomfortable with our children being there. They were watching us so closely they even told me I looked out the window at them several times while they were having their Friday night party by the pool. They yelled at our kids and really scared them to the point that they did not want to leave the cabin. When we approached them it turned into a heated discussion. VERY unprofessional! It was as if we were invading their space as apposed to treating us like guest. Because it was my wife’s birthday I did everything I could to de-escalate the situation. The staff live at the resort and act as though it is their retirement community. We where made to feel as though we where not the paying clients but a nuisance. We had some guest come down to visit and celebrate my wife’s birthday. They simply came with cake and we went out to dinner. We were rudely informed that day guest where an additional charge of $5 per visitor for use of the facilities. They arrived at 3:39 and we left for dinner at 6. REALLY?? This is a great spot with incredible cabins. I suggest everyone go and take ALL your children!! Have a blast at the pool, lets let the staff know they are NOT the guest but are there to serve the paying customer!!

Room Tip: Pool side to watch children while they PLAY as kids should!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our four week stay at the Welaka Lodge & Resort was everything we hoped for and then some. We work demanding jobs on the road and were desperate for peace, relaxation, and a place where we could feel truly at home. The Welaka Lodge & Resort was exactly what we needed. The cottages on the property are all gorgeous, and ours was an absolute gem complete with every amenity. Full kitchen, comfy king bed, fireplace and private hot tub make it difficult to leave and explore the many beautiful and interesting activities near by. The owners and staff are amazing and went above and beyond to make our stay sublime. It's impossible not to notice the attention to detail and care that's been put into making this cottage the perfect getaway. We had a great time and can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed on an rv site over Thanksgiving week. We were staying there while waiting for a monthly rental in the same town. The people were wonderful and quite helpful.
Once we moved to our permanent location, we needed a place for our daughter, her husband and 2 month old baby while they visited us. The hosts could not have been more accomodating nor the facility any cleaner. Our daughter said it was the nicest and cleanest place they've ever stayed. They have travelled to NYC and stayed at some of the finest hotels and were quite impressed with both the people and the cabin they rented.
We will recommend this to all who come visit.

Room Tip: Everything provided, just bring a toothbrush
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom12newengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2011

If you want to relax this is the place. I mean relax.....Great Cottages and good people !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Turk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Spent the weekend about an hour a little south of Jacksonville in a town named Welaka. It has 1 stop light and 1 gas station with a few places to eat. It looks like it is a town of about 500 or so folks. I went there for some fishing in and around the St Johns River. I stayed a little campground lodge by the name of Welaka Lodge and Resort. There are 4 nice looking cabins for rent, there are about 5 RV sites that do not have RV’s parked in them, some are work campers, there is a nice small swimming pool, and on Sundays they have a big party at the dock. Friday and Saturday evening most folks head to a place called “Shrimp R Us” that has live bands and some good food and drink. It is an easy walk from the campground. The owners of the campground are friendly and stay busy keeping the place up. There is no cable at the RV sites nor TV reception so plan ahead if you go there. There is no late night parting that I seen as everyone disappeared at about 730PM each night and were not seen again until mid-morning.

There is only 2 cons about staying there 1 is no cable TV at the RV sites cable; the second is the “BLIND BUGS” 500 millions of them per square yard and they land on everything, get into everything and are a real pain to even walk through. They get inside the camper faster than you can open and close the door and you spend along time killing them, really nasty tiny bugs. I am sure they are gone during the late Fall or Early Winter months. Over all a nice small Resort, small town and very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaxfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welaka
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Palatka
Hampton Inn Palatka
#1 of 5 in Palatka
120 reviews
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Palatka Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Riverfront Resort
10.2 mi away
Lake View Motel
Lake View Motel
#1 of 2 in Crescent City
5 reviews
23.2 mi away
Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welaka Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welaka Lodge & Resort

Property: Welaka Lodge & Resort
Address: 1001 Front St, Welaka, FL 32193-2072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Welaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Welaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under live oaks, magnolias and palms, on a high bluff overlooking the beautiful St. Johns River, is a slice of paradise Old Florida style. Catering to the casual and avid fisherman and their families, outdoor enthusiasts, or just those looking for a quiet respite in a beautiful setting, Welaka Lodge and Resort provides luxury cottage accommodations in a rustic setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welaka Lodge And Resort
Welaka Hotel Welaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing