We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A taste of old Florida with upscale accommodations blended perfectly"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Welaka Lodge & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Brownsburg, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A taste of old Florida with upscale accommodations blended perfectly"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We didn’t exactly know what to expect when we booked our little fishing get away on the St. Johns River. We checked trip advisor and found Welaka Lodge with great reviews. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the very clean cottage decorated with upscale décor. The whole resort was a taste of old Florida with upscale accommodations blended perfectly. The staff was very helpful in guiding us to everything needed for an enjoyable stay from local restaurants, fishing guides and boat rentals. Welaka Lodge has made our repeat visit list.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were not seeking any place south of Jville but stopped after a long drive. They had a cabin and the sunset view was the best in North America. I am some what jaded having flown for Delta for 25+ years. This place is Paradise. Kevin and Jessica were charming they suggested a gypsy sort of Restaurant near by, Café the Blues, the food was great. We woke up refreshed and the morning river view was great. This place is so great we may retire in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hightops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My stop in welaka was not planed. Welaka Lodge&Resort put us up , and it was so nice we started looking for a place to buy in that area. If you like peace and tranquilty with a little fun on top book a stay at Welaka Lodge & Resort, bring your fishing pole. The staff and people there will make you'll feel like family. God Bless

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LI NY
Level Contributor
227 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin by the water. Jacuzzi in the back. Really nice & peaceful.We rented a boat & fished one day. We brought our bikes & rode too. We ate at the tiki bar right there. It was great. We were off season,they only had food on Sunday. Not sure if thats all the time.My only complaint is the couch was not comfortable & beds were alittle softer then we like. But that really wasn't a big deal. People there are really nice. Not alot in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Welaka lodge and Resort 4 times, three of which we stayed in the one bedroom cottage just up the hill, first cabin to the left if your driving in. The fourth of which we stayed in the cottage with the loft, absolute beautiful!! The hot tub on the back deck, is so soothing after a long day of fishing and large enough for 4 people easily, very clean! Luxury you won't find at just any resort around here! A small slice of heaven! Also, relax by the fireplace and start the amazingly even cooking gas BBQ to get ready to have a fresh fish dinner caught in the river, you have to go to appreciate this hidden gem. Would recommend this place to anyone! As a matter of fact, my parents are coming out from Canada, and we plan to take them to the Welaka Lodge and resort for a few days, they will absolutely love it here, I know it! They have beautiful lakes in Canada, but this place is unbelievable, everything is right there for you. You really never have to leave the grounds until you are through with your stay! Can't wait to stay with you again in the next week or so, hoping that there is a cottage available for 4 adults. See you soon! Thanks again for the wonderful stay! Sheri and Pete Marshe, Jacksonville, Florida.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherimae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Three of us went on a fishing trip. We rented a bass boat from Welaka Charters and stayed at their cabin. Cabin was fully furnished with a full kitchen, and cable tv and internet. They had a dock to keep the boat and a riverside bar to watch the Superbowl game. Very clean and easy to access the St. John river from the dock. Quick access to Lake George with some fishing action. They have a Jenn Air gas grill and a hot tub along with a fireplace outside. Swimming pool on the property and also a small grocery store. Everything is right there.

Room Tip: they have a cabin with river view close to the bar and pier. That would be ideal. Mark with Welaka c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Awesome little hideaway! Place was great! The cottage we stayed in was fantastic. Clean accommodations. Felt like never left home. The riverside bar was great. Well worth the price. The staff was very accommodating. You could not ask for a better resort/camping stay

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarosz111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welaka
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Palatka
Hampton Inn Palatka
#1 of 5 in Palatka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Palatka
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Palatka Northwest
14.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Riverfront Resort
23.2 mi away
Astor Bridge Marina and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welaka Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welaka Lodge & Resort

Property: Welaka Lodge & Resort
Address: 1001 Front St, Welaka, FL 32193-2072
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Welaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Welaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled under live oaks, magnolias and palms, on a high bluff overlooking the beautiful St. Johns River, is a slice of paradise Old Florida style. Catering to the casual and avid fisherman and their families, outdoor enthusiasts, or just those looking for a quiet respite in a beautiful setting, Welaka Lodge and Resort provides luxury cottage accommodations in a rustic setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welaka Lodge And Resort
Welaka Hotel Welaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing