We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!!”
Review of Hotel Biba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Biba
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It's very small hotel but one of the nicest I've to this summer (and it's been quite a few). The rooms are newly decorated, furniture very nice, bathroom clean and the bed was massive and very comfortable. We didn't get the chance to go to the swimming pool but that's a bonus too. Breakfast was amazing! Many choices, fresh and delish! Top it up with very friendly staff and free parking :) Happy happy happy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BananaMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hotel Biba is an adequate place to stay, but its adveritsement is misleading. The hotel presents itself as a "boutique hotel", which it is absolutely not. If you are looking for a romantic getaway in a luxury facililty, this is not it. On the other hand, there is a lot to be said for the attention to details, cleanliness and some upgrades of this former motel, which make it a pleasant, reasonably priced base to explore Palm Beach. Forget about the photo of the hotel front - it is little more than a facade, with only 3-4 rooms available in that 2-story building which houses the reception. Most rooms are former motel rooms arranged in a couple of separate 1-story wings, with window air conditioning units, new tiny bath tubs, flat screen TVs and some nice decorative touches.

The people in charge of renovation did a good job, but stopped at the furniture without giving more thoughts to their customers. A coffee maker is almost a given in a place like that, but none is provided. Once the free coffee in the breakfast room is gone, you are out of luck. The breakfast is an upgraded continental - pastries, bagels, cereal, coffee, orange juice. WIth very little effort breakfast could be made into a feast, and move the property up a notch. A small oven to bake fresh muffins, some hard boiled eggs and cheese to provide protein, whole wheat bread, maybe a small fruit salad and voila - a boutique breakfast is born!

The hotel has a wonderful pool, which seems to be open 24 hours, great for a midnight dip. There is a nice courtyard with shady trees, set up as an outdoor breakfast area. Parking is limited - even though we came in the low season, the parking lot was full. There is a large parking lot for the large apartment building next door, with warning signs not to park there. Perhaps the hotel has an arrangement with them, otherwise you may find yourself in trouble getting your car a place to rest for the night. Access to the hotel from 1-95 (Belvedere rd exit) is easy.

If you don't have a car, there is a bus line along Dixie highway half a block away. Line number 1 will take you there from central Palm Beach (get off in front of the Palm Beach Post building). Note that the bus is not running too frequently - check the schedule online.

The location of the hotel next door to the El Cid neighborhood is a definite plus. Walking along the shady streets and admiring the architecture of the 20's era buildings is pleasant, and the walk along the intracoastal is nice.

Room Tip: The 2-story reception building has some rooms with two beds, and a suite. If this is ok for you, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This seems to be a former normal Motel restored to become a boutique Hotel. Quiet, clean, artistic design furniture in the hall, a little bit noisy the AC during all the night..(it was an old machine)
It could be a real boutique hotel , but with some limits...and the price makes you forget this limits...
To visit and to stay...

Room Tip: 101 is the one with noisy AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woopie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Grounds, exterior, lobby-

- Very attractive grounds with an old Florida meets Euro-hotel meets Austin Powers decor
- Parking is tight and is not gated
- Lobby has a 1960's pop-art appearance
- Grounds are a little hard to navigate with luggage (narrow pathways, multiple gates, and very dark in the evening)
- Pool area is well-kept but not well-lit. Poolside speakers blare new wave and dance club music into the evening
- Rooms are outside entry, but very tasteful landscaping and u-shaped wings separate this hotel from your outside entry motels.

Staff-

- All six staff members that I encountered over two days were attentive, friendly, and helpful. Excellent customer service.

Breakfast-

- Fresh baked goods are brought in daily from a local bakery. Fruit is fresh. Many comfortable seats with tables and a courtyard to enjoy your breakfast in.

Room:

- Small, non-symmetrical room was a bit spartan but there was special attention to detail (wall rounds out to meet the ceiling, light cover adorned with small crystal-like beads, floor looks like wooden planks but is actually tile)

- Bed was very comfortable. Leather-wrapped headboard.

- Linens smelled like bleach.

- Heavy, wooden horizontal blinds

- Large wall-mounted TV.

- Newer air conditioner mounted on the ceiling above the bed (recessed).

- Small, European-style bathroom with attractive tile and heavy glass shower door.

- Clean, except for 2 dead crazy ants behind the entry door. Two live ones joined the party later. One slow moving centipede was present as well.

Other Patrons:

No other U.S. patrons were staying here. Odd-behaving Europeans and loud, fun-loving Brasilians flocked to the pool at all hours.

Neighborhood:

- I don't recommend you walk this neighborhood although the residential neighborhood at the end of Belvedere Street is safe (and gorgeous...reminds one of Hollywood, CA)...exit the hotel and go right to observe the Spanish-style architecture, manicured hedges/yards, and palm tree-lined streets right down to the waterfront.

- Several street people (when I exited the hotel and went left) asked me inane questions to assess my sobriety (I was walking with an odd gait due to a sore back) and I truly believe that they considered rolling me.

- Delicious and inexpensive Greek dive several blocks down called Souvlaki (cited by several publications for their tasty food)

- Police are highly visible and patrol this area aggressively (it seems to be a gateway between the haves and have-nots)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Relaxing quiet well hidden gem of a boutique hotel. Free wifi and breakfast of baked goods cereal coffee. Friendly staff free from attitude. I got the room on an off season rate of $59 per night plus taxes. Nice landscaping and outside tables if you want to have a picnic of eat take out. Stayed for two hassle free days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ultimatefoodie561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed at Hotel Biba for a couple of nights in July, 2013 and found it to be very nice - art deco style hotel, nice pool area, good location (about 25-30mins walk to City Place (very nice shopping and residential area with excellent restaurants). There are a couple of restaurants close by - e.g. Italian and a Sushi place just across the street. The breakfast was fairly basic American, self serve type of breakfast. Perhaps some healthy choices could have been offered - more fresh fruit and brown bread.

When coming back to West Palm Beach I'll definitely consider Biba again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helén S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I arrived early and was able to check in and get my room, which was pleasing as I was only there for 1 day and was going to be out for most of it. The receptionist was helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi. The room looked clean and was bigger/more spacious than I'd expected. Good air conditioning. The bathroom looked very nice and clean. Hair dryer, bath and shower, bucket for ice cubes. I was happy with the room until that evening when I got back and noticed there were actually some ants (or a similar insect, they looked like they had wings) in the bathroom, and on the floor near the bathroom. Next morning when I wanted a bath I spotted a couple of ants in the bath. As I'm an animal lover I tried to scoop them up with paper and move them out of the bathroom. I felt too uncomfortable to have a bath though, so just had a shower. Overall, the hotel was nice except for the ants. It was close to the airport, so a cab did not cost much. Was about half an hour's walk to City Place. There are some small stores across the intersection, such as Family Dollar and Sallys. Best for those with a car to get around. There's a free breakfast, although my cab came early next morning so I didn't get to try it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShariBlackVelvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Palm Beach hotels
3 mi away
Best Western Palm Beach Lakes Inn
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#25 of 34 in West Palm Beach
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
979 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West ...
#11 of 34 in West Palm Beach
1,067 reviews
3 mi away
Ramada West Palm Beach Airport
Ramada West Palm Beach Airport
#29 of 34 in West Palm Beach
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biba

Address: 320 Belvedere Rd, West Palm Beach, FL 33405-1212
Region: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Price Range: £81 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biba 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 44 room boutique property is found in the quaint El Cid Historic District, Hotel Biba is an ideal location no matter what you've planned during your visit. Hotel Biba is just one block from the waterfront promenade stretching to beautiful downtown West Palm Beach, the fair grounds and marina's with an active schedule of fairs, concerts and festivals. Hotel Biba is a quick five minute drive to Florida's famous beaches, Palm Beach Atlantic University and the Palm Beach International Airport. It is situated within a mile of centers of art and culture with Kravis Center for the Performing Arts, Norton Museum, The Society of the Four Arts, the Palm Beach County Convention Center, The West Palm Beach Antique Row, City Place shopping and world class dining and entertainment. Hotel Biba is also in proximity of West Palm Beach's highest rated restaurants, some within walking distance and Clematis Street's lively dining and nightlife. Included in your stay is a continental breakfast in our relaxing courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Biba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biba Hotel West Palm Beach
Biba West Palm Beach
Hotel Biba West Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing