We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motel rather than hotel, run down and in the middle of nowhere!”
Review of Hotel Biba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Biba
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Motel rather than hotel, run down and in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I would have given this spot 1 circle if it weren't for the staff who seemed friendly enough. We stayed here as we had an early flight out of West Palm Beach and this was near enough and reasonably priced. You really get what you pay for, the "hotel" is in a bad location if you don't have a car so we had to get a taxi to a nicer area. The room was small, run down but it seemed clean. I wouldn't recommend staying here. You can probably find something a hell of a lot nicer for a little bit more money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funyoungIrishcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    188
    75
    34
    32
See reviews for
85
175
50
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We travelled with another couple and booked two rooms in April 2013. Our room was very damp and there were quite a few ants coming in around the windows if we left them open. The room we had would rate less than a 2 out of 5. The other couple did not have the same problems and were moderately comfortable rating their room at a 3 out of 5. The hotel staff were great. The housekeeping staff always made sure you had what you needed, and the young woman who ran the pool bar at night was friendly and outgoing. The staff and pool area really are the only reason I would even give this place a 4 out 5. The location of the hotel did not seem ideal. I felt we were a little far from everything, but since we had a vehicle it was not too bad. I would not feel safe walking around area at night. The breakfast in the morning was quite good and the atmosphere on the patio area was nice. I would recommend this hotel because of its value for the area, but would not suggest it if you have high expectations for room comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms on left side of office seemed a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I would say it's a pretty honest place to stay.

Reception desk people and the manager were really disposable and helpful, not to say quite polite.

The room is clean and the shower is good. The breakfast is kind of poor, in Best Western you'd probably get a better breakfast.

Please ask for newer rooms. The new ones are really nice and have split AC, older was have wall mounted which can be rather noisy.

Wifi signal was amazing, the fastest internet I've got in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for new renovated rooms. The old ones are dirtier and AC is quite louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luisotaviomc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A few blocks south of downtown, right off US 1, in a mostly residential area. Its a small "hotel" - nice clean comfortable rooms. Daily breakfast and pool, neither of which I was able to try out. I stayed there when I took my son to college. It doesn't have all the luxuries of the larger chain hotels, but it is quaint. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfncrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It's very small hotel but one of the nicest I've to this summer (and it's been quite a few). The rooms are newly decorated, furniture very nice, bathroom clean and the bed was massive and very comfortable. We didn't get the chance to go to the swimming pool but that's a bonus too. Breakfast was amazing! Many choices, fresh and delish! Top it up with very friendly staff and free parking :) Happy happy happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BananaMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Hotel Biba is an adequate place to stay, but its adveritsement is misleading. The hotel presents itself as a "boutique hotel", which it is absolutely not. If you are looking for a romantic getaway in a luxury facililty, this is not it. On the other hand, there is a lot to be said for the attention to details, cleanliness and some upgrades of this former motel, which make it a pleasant, reasonably priced base to explore Palm Beach. Forget about the photo of the hotel front - it is little more than a facade, with only 3-4 rooms available in that 2-story building which houses the reception. Most rooms are former motel rooms arranged in a couple of separate 1-story wings, with window air conditioning units, new tiny bath tubs, flat screen TVs and some nice decorative touches.

The people in charge of renovation did a good job, but stopped at the furniture without giving more thoughts to their customers. A coffee maker is almost a given in a place like that, but none is provided. Once the free coffee in the breakfast room is gone, you are out of luck. The breakfast is an upgraded continental - pastries, bagels, cereal, coffee, orange juice. WIth very little effort breakfast could be made into a feast, and move the property up a notch. A small oven to bake fresh muffins, some hard boiled eggs and cheese to provide protein, whole wheat bread, maybe a small fruit salad and voila - a boutique breakfast is born!

The hotel has a wonderful pool, which seems to be open 24 hours, great for a midnight dip. There is a nice courtyard with shady trees, set up as an outdoor breakfast area. Parking is limited - even though we came in the low season, the parking lot was full. There is a large parking lot for the large apartment building next door, with warning signs not to park there. Perhaps the hotel has an arrangement with them, otherwise you may find yourself in trouble getting your car a place to rest for the night. Access to the hotel from 1-95 (Belvedere rd exit) is easy.

If you don't have a car, there is a bus line along Dixie highway half a block away. Line number 1 will take you there from central Palm Beach (get off in front of the Palm Beach Post building). Note that the bus is not running too frequently - check the schedule online.

The location of the hotel next door to the El Cid neighborhood is a definite plus. Walking along the shady streets and admiring the architecture of the 20's era buildings is pleasant, and the walk along the intracoastal is nice.

Room Tip: The 2-story reception building has some rooms with two beds, and a suite. If this is ok for you, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This seems to be a former normal Motel restored to become a boutique Hotel. Quiet, clean, artistic design furniture in the hall, a little bit noisy the AC during all the night..(it was an old machine)
It could be a real boutique hotel , but with some limits...and the price makes you forget this limits...
To visit and to stay...

Room Tip: 101 is the one with noisy AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woopie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Palm Beach
1.1 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Palm Beach Lakes
Best Western Palm Beach Lakes
#10 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West Palm Beach Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel West ...
#9 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biba

Property: Hotel Biba
Address: 320 Belvedere Rd, West Palm Beach, FL 33405-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biba 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 44 room boutique property is found in the quaint El Cid Historic District, Hotel Biba is an ideal location no matter what you've planned during your visit. Hotel Biba is just one block from the waterfront promenade stretching to beautiful downtown West Palm Beach, the fair grounds and marina's with an active schedule of fairs, concerts and festivals. Hotel Biba is a quick five minute drive to Florida's famous beaches, Palm Beach Atlantic University and the Palm Beach International Airport. It is situated within a mile of centers of art and culture with Kravis Center for the Performing Arts, Norton Museum, The Society of the Four Arts, the Palm Beach County Convention Center, The West Palm Beach Antique Row, City Place shopping and world class dining and entertainment. Hotel Biba is also in proximity of West Palm Beach's highest rated restaurants, some within walking distance and Clematis Street's lively dining and nightlife. Included in your stay is a continental breakfast in our relaxing courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Biba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biba Hotel West Palm Beach
Biba West Palm Beach
Hotel Biba West Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing