We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor experience”

Montezuma Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #389 of 674 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very poor experience”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Three of us visited this place a few days ago. One of our guests is actually here from Mexico. We all thought that the food was not very good. For example, the rice and beans were bland. The steak was very tough. Many other issues with food. Nobody was happy.
The place was dirty and the table was so sticky we had to put down napkins.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food and salsa.”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I've been working in the area for the last couple weeks and coming here for lunch. I can't stay away. Food is very good. Especially the quesadilla. I eat at a lot of mexican restaurants and this one is near the top of my list!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drgypsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A modest Tijuana-style joint with good Mexican food.”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Truth be known, I always order the same thing: chicken enchiladas in green sauce. They are always excellent, freshly made with excellent salsa verde, spiced to your heat level. This is a satisfying lunch or dinner, starting with taco chips and freshly made salsa, and served with the usual rice and beans. With a cold Corona, life is good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryLee212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the best real deal mexican food!!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have been going to Montezuma since 2005..and its the real deal!! Not Americanized nor Tex-Mex..but real Mexican food authentic!! I love it..and will continue to always go back!! I see they did get a little smaller but that's ok cause the food is excellent!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nachos should have real cheese!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2009

I stumbled across this place when I was out for a walk. Hidden in a tiny strip mall on Dixie. I first tried this one about a year ago. I walked in and waited for my takeout. It took about 20 minutes so I had a beer while I waited. Hot evening, cold beer and mexican take out. The food was great. Fresh and made to order. So it upsets me that the last 4 months I have gone there it has really dropped in quality. I only had their nachos once. I vowed to not get them again because the cheese they used was the runny flavorless kind out of a jar or can. The kind used at convenience stores for their nachos and hot dogs. It was really disappointing. I keep going back there thinking it will get better again, but so far my visits have been getting fewer and fewer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TenPerfectNails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montezuma Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Montezuma Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing