We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, well-located b&b, but disappointing details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Beach Hibiscus
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, well-located b&b, but disappointing details”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Charming two small houses joined by an outdoor bar. We enjoyed the decor of the Evernia room, which we picked for its French posters. Fine location. But, one pane of glass in one of our windows was out and replaced by Saran Wrap. The drain cover in the shower was loose and not screwed in. The globe for the overhead fan-light had a crack. The housekeeper started cleaning downstairs with a strong ammonia solution in the hall adjacent to the breakfast room. Breakfast was a good fruit cocktail, followed by a plate of English muffins, grits with honey, and a flat, not particularly tasty omelet, and weak coffee. The host-cook was quite friendly, though; with attention to these details this place could shine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WoodyWoo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    38
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
122
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Stayed her for one night only (unfortunately). Stayed in the Fern Room - very comfortable. City Place was great and very close. Best part was our fun in "the Backyard Bar" - drinking lime basil margueritas, the tapas food, great band, and fun meeting lots of people. An excellent, excellent experience. Pat is a great host and Jimmy sets a great atmosphere out back.
The Chapmans

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lchapman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Great, small B&B. We stayed in the Gardenia Suite. It was charming and had an island type feel. Comfortable beds and pillows, ample closet space for even the heaviest of packers, large bathroom, ceiling fans with remotes, and a small tv. Road noise might be a complaint for only the pickiest of travelers. On the weekends the place buzzes with what seemed to be tourist and locals alike enjoying food and drink. Received an overwhelming friendly welcome upon arrival, along with complimentary drink tickets for the outside(under the wrap around porch) bar. Prime location, within walking distance to dining, shopping, and nightlife. I-95 and the beach are only short drive away. Publix(grocery store) located next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHFT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I could not imagine a nicer, charming and more inviting retreat than the Palm Beach Hibiscus for a stay in the West Palm Beach area. It is truly an oasis in the PBI/CityPlace locale. I have stayed in several of the rooms over the years and each one is magical in its own way, tastefully appointed and exceptionally comfortable. It is like being in Key West, yet literally steps away from business and leisure activities. As a business traveler who is on the road 2-3 days weekly, I am keen on certain amenities and standards. For sure, the Palm Beach Hibiscus meets them all. The added bonus is the wonderful and bountiful breakfasts and the evening drinks, food and vintage wines at the outdoor bar. I highly recommend the Palm Beach Hibiscus for leisure or business.... if you are fortunate you will stay when the Backyard Bar is having a wine pairing event.... if not, you will want to come back just for that!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is an old Victorian style house on the edge of the main street in West Palm Beach. It's a great location from which you can walk to City Place to visit restaurants and shops in a great small city atmosphere. Palm Beach is just across the bridge, with nice ocean beaches, a great bike trail. The room we stayed in was the Rosemary, which had a small sitting area with a desk, small frig, and a wicker bench, as well as the larger room with a comfortable queen bed and a large bathroom with both a shower and a jaccuzzi tub. Breakfasts were omelets two days and blueberry pancakes the other. Coffee, fresh fruit and juice rounded out the complete breakfast. The manager Pat was very helpful, and the bar is a nice place for a drink on a warm evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drq24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I travel to Palm Beach several times a month. I always stay at Hibiscus House. Even if it weren't convenient, charming, comfy, and reasonable, I would stay just because of Pat, the Innkeeper Par Excellence. Pat's southern charm, warm welcome, and fine hospitality brand the Hibiscus House for all who know it and continue to return. The HH bar is a favorite of both guests and neighbors -- Palm Beachers and West Palm Beachers for whom this is their local version of Cheers -- and Pat and Randy can often be found there in the evenings greeting guests and tipping a glass with friends.

Pat couldn't be a better innkeeper and host. He always remembers my favorite breakfast. When my travel mirror broke in transit, he offered to drive across town and get me a new one. When I accidentally left a scarf in their closet, Pat tracked me down at the Norton Museum of Art to return it -- even though I was coming back again in just a few days!

When I have to be away from family this much, Pat and Randy and Kenny are a great extended family, and Hibiscus House is a great "home away from home."
If you visit, you'll probably see me there.

Jackie

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was our second stay at the Hibiscus and loved it as much the second time as the first. Only thing I was sad to see is the tiki bar change, I liked the old feel better but will say Jimmy is a kick!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan77791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#2 of 34 in West Palm Beach
720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
828 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn West Palm Beach Downtown/CityPlace Area
Residence Inn West Palm Beach Do...
#11 of 34 in West Palm Beach
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
407 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hibiscus

Property: Palm Beach Hibiscus
Address: 213 S Rosemary Ave, West Palm Beach, FL 33401-5745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hibiscus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Hibiscus is a charming boutique Bed and Breakfast with Key West style ambiance. A hidden tropical oasis in the heart of Downtown West Palm Beach. Conveniently located between City Place & Clematis Street, a short stroll to movie theaters, restaurants, nightclubs, shopping, art galleries, & specialty stores. Also, close to Palm Beach Convention Center, The Kravis Center, Norton Museum and the sandy shores of Palm Beach. The free trolley stops right at our door. Each of our well appointed guest rooms have their own private bathroom, some with claw foot tub or Jacuzzi bath. A hearty continental breakfast is served each morning in our dining room. Wireless Internet service and flat screen televisions enhance your room amenities. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while sipping a favorite cocktail, glass of wine or beer. Choose a delicious appetizer or dinner from the new inspired menu at Our Backyard Bar at the Hibiscus. Come visit and experience extraordinary service from the staff. The Palm Beach Hibiscus is your home away from home whether on business, pleasure or simply looking for a staycation closer to home in West Palm Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Palm Beach Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hibiscus Hotel West Palm Beach
Palm Beach Hibiscus West Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing