We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect day”
Review of Chateau de Fayolle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Villetoureix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Fayolle
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect day”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We took all of our 30 guests out to the S/W France to this beautiful location in the country.

Going back to 2012 when we visited the Chateau for the first time, we turned up at about 10pm when it was dark, but we still fell in love with it there and then, in the dark with a few lanterns and candles glowing, it was beautiful! You can imagine what I thought of the place in the day light. It really is beautiful. The chateau is shabby, old, french, and full of character. Each room is decorated individually and with brand new en-suite bathrooms with the most amazing showers. There is a pool, its not heated but surely you don't need a heated pool when your in 24+ degree heat, its there to cool of should you wish to use it. The kids at our wedding loved the pool, they were in there every day, supervised by their parent.

Our guests felt very settled and loved everything about their stay, we all want to go back and repeat the weekend all over again.

Its a shame to see that certain people don't seem to appreciate, authentic, natural beauty such as the Chateau de Fayolle. What do they expect, a 5* luxury contemporary hotel? That's not what this place is about, yes there is chippings of paint on the house, the odd cob web and a bit of dust in the chapel but people who moan about tiny insignificant details like that really needn't bother. Perhaps the fact they had cold weather put a dampner on the weekend for them? We had an overcast wedding day but I wouldn't let that stop me and my guests from having the best day of my life.

I would like to say special thanks to caterers who put on a lovely sit down BBQ meal for all our guests the night before the wedding. They laid the table out beautifully and even thought about the little ones. On the wedding day we had a delicious 7 course meal. Everyone loved the food and staff could not have been more attentive and friendly. What a lovely couple (Kat and Presley).

Finally, the owners, Janet and Gerry did a sterling job of making sure everything ran smoothly and looked beautiful on our day. Their friendly team were on hand and were great with the preparations for the day. Janet and Gerry are extremely accommodating to us and our guests. They made us and our guests feel very welcomed yet gave us the private time to enjoy with our guests over the weekend, but when you needed them, they were there.

My Husband and I are very relaxed people and Chateau de Fayolle definitely reflected this.

places like this you like to keep secret, but if like us, you want to do something different than the tradition English wedding route, do it at Chateau de Fayolle, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    2
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My children's wedding was fantastic on the day, no thanks to the condescending attitude of the "gentleman" owner. The food was excellent, and the staff who cooked and served were fantastic.
On arrival, the chateau was freezing cold, no thanks to the unusual weather, but we were told that the boiler was broken and had been for some time! No thought was given to the untimely weather conditions, and we froze!!! One fire was lit, which gave off very little heat, and on the wedding day another fire was lit for the late afternoon. Had they not thought about blow heaters for their guests?
We had to eat indoors, again due to inclement weather, but the tablecloth had a starfish and shell design, not really appropriate for a wedding! The sarcasm continued throughout the weekend with comments like "dont let the confetti into the hallway" and when we were about an hour late leaving the premises "when you are ready" were totally inappropriate and spoilt our memory of a lovely wedding. Perhaps a clean of the beautiful chapel would have been more appropriate and a chap to clear the two bees/wasps nests which threatened proceedings! My last comment is in regard to a cheap napkin, accidentally scorched during the proceedings; we were charged 4 euros for a replacement! I could get you one for £1.00. It just added insult to injury. Also please tell your guests that they should order their traditional wedding cake separately, as this was not made clear and therefore we had none.
All in all the couple had a fab time, but, really, clean the facilities and stop being so condescending to your guests!!!
Please visit before booking this venue and get all details clear.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WeddingMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a disappointment, went for a wedding, the place is tired, dirty and the catering was unbelievable, there are no kitchen facilities! The food came from a local "Traiteur" and was good, but getting cold.
The pool was cold and had no alarm or security fencing = ILLEGAL IN FRANCE!!
The so-called bar had a minimal quantity of offerings.
The rooms were described as "Shabby - Chic" to me by other guests, they were certainly SHABBY and could have done with a good clean.
This is a place to avoid at all costs, perhaps this will persuade them to do some work on the place.
I am pleased that my wedding was in a real location - Fawsley Hall in Northamptonshire.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel in Riberac
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CalderHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetdeB, Owner at Chateau de Fayolle, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
We are really sorry that this visitor was so disappointed with their stay here but they appear to have misunderstood what Chateau de Fayolle offers. The décor and facilities are obviously about personal taste so we can only hope to please most of the people most of the time. We do however take our legal obligations seriously and do comply with the law.
We are actually not a hotel at all but a self catering chateau that hosts and organises weddings for our self-catering guests, who having visited, choose to book exclusive use here for their friends because it is their dream wedding venue.
As we are not a hotel there is not a hotel kitchen and guests use the chateau kitchen during their self catering 3 or 4 night stay and the bar is simply run and staffed by us for the wedding day and is stocked with drinks discussed with and often purchased by the wedding couple.
Once again I can only say that I am sorry that this wedding guest was unhappy with their visit here and if they have any specific points that they would like to discuss with us we would be happy to oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Recently got back from an overnight stay at the chateau to finalize plans for our wedding we are having in the chateau in august. Wow what a place and what lovely people Janet and Jerry (owners) are. They made us feel so welcome....and the food and wine was great too ;) as we viewed in march it was still winterish so no flowers or ivy etc and i must say, we would have got married there then it was that nice. Cant wait for august and couldnt think of anywhere more we would like to get married.

Stewart & Lucy. North Wales, UK

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPerry84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have just returned from my daughter's wedding at Chateau de Fayolle and enjoyeda week at the chataeau and lodge beforehand. We had a wonderful family holiday - very laid back and relaxed and the wedding was wonderful. Thanks to Gerry and Janet for making it a very special time and the beautiful surroundings of Chateau de Fayolle make a beautiful backdrop for a very special French wedding.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Chateau de Fayolle was the setting for our wedding this June. It proved a remarkable location. The Chateau has been wonderfully restored in a manner which truly cherishes its heritage and for all its spaciousness it still retains a lovely air of intimacy. We filled the Chateau and the Lodge for 4 days and there really was something for everyone in what was a very varied group! We had a small number of children in our party and they had a wonderful time on the swings and slides and both children and adults enjoyed the pool and ample grounds. Our wedding guests have been effusive about the fabulous day that was held at the Chateau de Fayolle. The beauty of the chapel, the delicious food and the wonderful atmosphere are just a few of the elements that have been singled out. The owners were creative and efficient through all our planning stages and on our arrival they were supportive without ever being intrusive. They were incredibly helpful with everything and we truly couldn't have had a better few days or indeed a more beautiful wedding. Thank you Janet, Gerry and Sara.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We hired Chateau De Fayolle for our wedding weekend accomodating many guests there.

The Chateau is a rustic find that is full of characte and is situated in well kept grounds.

This is no 5 star hotel so do not expect the service.

Chateau De Fayolle is set in a beautiful part of the region and its rooms are finished tastefully to the eye.

The owners are keen to accomodate parties and weddings offering a range of services.

A lovely weekend was had by all!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Fayolle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Fayolle

Property: Chateau de Fayolle
Address: Lieu Dit Fayolle, 24600 Villetoureix, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Villetoureix
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Villetoureix
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Fayolle provides comfortable accommodation in a relaxed and charming environment. The bedrooms are traditionally decorated with a selection of antique furniture. All rooms are en-suite with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels.The gardens are extensive with plenty of quiet places to sit and read or to enjoy a drink. The family friendly swimming pool is a salt water pool that is loved by all who use it. Come and stay awhile with us and have a lovely relaxing break. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing