We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great natural (free) attraction!”
Review of Devil's Bridge

Devil's Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Island Safari 4x4 Discovery
More Info
US$148.00*
and up
Island Safari 4x4 Discovery Tour from St John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Limestone arches formed by seawater erosion, this natural landmark is rumored to have been the site of mass suicides of slaves during slavery times.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great natural (free) attraction!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nice walk along the coast to Devils Bridge. When the sea is strong the waves come high up through the splash hole (caution), on a calm day you can walk across the bridge.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samso_DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    246
    117
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Soulful place”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

After a very rough drive you reach Devil's Bridge, a beautiful spot with the Atlantic pounding the shore. It was said that the slaves would hurl themselves from the bridge rather than spend their lives as slaves. Very powerful. Worth seeing!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kuma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We walked to devils bridge as part of a tour arranged by our resort. Our guide told us about the history and why it's called devils bridge. The sea was quite calm when we visited so we didn't experience the full impact of the waves crashing over the bridge itself, our guide found a 'blow hole' and said the sea will come up through the hole itself when the weather was rough, I would imagine this would be a spectacle! Worth a trip if you can.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank loonylou78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Scary and sad”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Such a sad story attached to this attraction - runaway slaves would hurl themselves off Devil's Bridge as death was more acceptable than the hard life they had to endure as slaves. A natural bridge, carved out by the force of the water, but not as spectacular as the Natural Bridge in the Appalachians, which was carved out during the last ice age and currently carries a main road across the top.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AngieB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bit average”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I think if the sea was a bit ruffer it would have been better. its about 40 min from english harbour and the best thing about it as the hot sauce i got from a lady on a stall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devil's Bridge also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Antigua
 

Been to Devil's Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing