We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for snorkelling” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Bay

Long Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$148.00*
and up
Island Safari 4x4 Discovery Tour from St John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: On the far-eastern coast, you'll find coral reefs in water so shallow that you can actually walk out to them. Along the beach are the Long Bay Hotel and the rambling Allegro Resort Pineapple Beach.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for snorkelling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good beach for people who enjoy snorkelling . The only thing to be aware of is that you will find the cost of the sun beds will double if the cruise ships have docked for the day and the beach is very busy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    76
    32
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice spot with OK snorkeling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

There's hotel at one end of beach and restaurant/beach chairs at other end. its nice to see another spot on the island away from St. John's and Jolly Hrabour..and becuaes you have to drive or take a cab you get to see the island!! Snorkeling was OK. Quality depends on your experiences; if you have doen any/much it was pretty good but we've been to Cayman, Bonaire, etc. so realtively speaking snorkeling was just OK. Fish numbers and variety were a bit disappointing though there's enough coral/rock to spend some time there. Snorkeling was much better at Bird Island with very good coral but have to get boat to get there (see Ecokayak Tour).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank snorkelface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carroll Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely white sand, and lovely blue water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Verandah Resort and walked over here for a change of scenery a couple of times.
The first time we went, it was in the afternoon and I couldn't believe no one was on the beach. However, the boys out front wanted our business, for what, I don't even know... I just laughed and said we were looking around and if we wanted anything, we'd let them know ... They were fine with that... Then we got to the beach and just sat on the sand and looked out at the ocean... So serene and beautiful ...
We did walk up to the souvenir "huts" just to check it out and it was the usual t-shirts, Jewlery, and hats, etc.
Further up is Grand Pineapple Resort... I didn't walk the entire way around, but was nosing around to try to compare to verandah ... Nothing to compare, but that's just from my little walk on the beach !
Anyway, the second day we went, we were there early.. Some locals had 2-3 little boats tied out a bit and were enjoying a morning swim in the ocean ... What a great way to start the day! We just sat on the sand and watched the umbrella and chair guys set up and the little restaurant get opened. I do know that that place sells ice cream, but like after 10am! It wasn't me, but another guest from verandah wanted chocolate ice cream and she found it there !
But this beach is quite beautiful and quiet and everything you could want... A definite thumbs up! We will be back !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cocosmom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethesda, md
Level Contributor
446 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“calm waters beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This small beach features water every color of blue, good snorkeling and calm water (i.e. no waves). There are a few beach shacks for souvenirs, and a restaurant/bar. There is limited shade, but the water is so beautiful you won't be sitting on the beach, but in the ocean.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tikidream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best beach out of our 8 day cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Ok let me start by saying do not confuse St. John's, Antigua with St. John's US Virgin Islands....different islands and they won't ferry you to St. Johns USVI to make an excursion that you booked prior to your trip! Woops!! We realized this only after we got off the boat and were looking for a sign with our names on it! Because we had not researched this island we had to wing it. We asked a taxi driver where to go and he said if we like snorkeling to pick Long bay Beach. That is what we did, and I have to say it was the very best beach out of 5 of the islands we visited! The tour company charged us $25 per person to spend a day going anywhere we wanted for any length of time. The cruise ship pier was loaded with taxi drivers at this location, all fighting for your business. Probably one the worst I've seen at any port. The upside is it makes the pricing pretty competitive. I must inform you that one of the signs said Scooters for rent and we contemplated that for a bit, but in hindsight after touring the island, I thought we would all be dead or out $65 because we would have turned right back around had we booked this. It is not a safe island to rent scooters!!! Anyways Long bay beach is located on the Atlantic side but because of the coral reef the waves are knocked down and it's a pretty calm bay. The water, sand and snorkeling were all gorgeous. Long Bay also offers rentals, lounge chairs, bathrooms, restaurants and even a waitress taking drink orders along the beach. All in all it turned out to be a great day despite the fact that we had planned to be on a different island!! :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamHerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Bay also viewed

Jolly Harbour, Saint Mary Parish
Saint Phillip Parish, Antigua
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
St. John's, Saint John Parish
 

Been to Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing