We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hiking around Wotton Waven”
Review of Le Petit Paradis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint George Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Petit Paradis
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hiking around Wotton Waven”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent 5 days at Le Petit Paradis. The guesthouse is in a charming village about 15 minutes up from Roseau (by car).

We had a room in the hikers quarter. The rooms are nice, maybe a bit small, but all in all very comfortable and are equipped with the basic necessities. In these room you don't have your own shower, but the common "rustic" showers are very nice. The owners are very kind and lovely people, who really make you feel very welcome. One of the nicest things about the guest house is the open terrace restaurant, where you can easily mingle with other travelers while enjoying good food prepared by Joan. Be sure to try the local beer, Kubuli, and the guesthouse's special punch.

There is a lot of things to do in Wotton Waven. If you are up for a 6 hour hike, you should definitively hike to the boiling lake. We asked Joan to book us a guide to take us there. We hiked up with Michael who is a great guide, an experienced guide who will make sure you make it to and back to the boiling lake. He knows a lot about the environment and has great stories to tell. Be sure to take swimming gear with you because a dip in Titou gorge after the hike is a must!

There are two spas in Wotton Waven. We went to Ti Kwen Glo Cho, a 5 minute walk up the hill from the guesthouse. This in our mind was the better choice out of all the spas in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari-Pekka_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    17
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The luxury you can get here is not in the things, but in the hearts of the people. They love you here. Be prepared to participate in village life the best you can during your stay. I had one of the roadside rooms. "Road" is just the steep narrow street leading from bottom to top of the village. Just a cheap place to sleep under a mosquito net for the night and put your stuff away for the day. Breakfast and diner is rich, and at moderate prices for Europeans. The Waitukubuli National hiking trail passes right outside the gate and takes you to Valley of Desolation and Boiling Lake. A difficult hike that you should not do without a guide. Anyway the location is perfect for hiking. Sulphur smells come from the source down the valley, you will get used to it quickly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40plustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

In the middle of a quaint rural village (top of a steep hill), near all the trails of Morne 3 Pitons, Trafalgar Falls, mineral baths and with a magic touch from the owner that is an excellent cook, this is the place to stay if you don't want to go to any luxury resort and you value your money.

For 40usd we got a nice small room with a private bathroom, though no shower, and a small balcony overlooking the village, mountains and the steam coming out from the nearby sulphur springs (fortunately without any smell reaching there).

The meals were simply delicious and totally worth the money we spent on them (around 25usd per person for dinner and breakfast).

They also provide you indications on how to get to the trailheads (such as Boiling Lake), arrange you guides and recommend you local attractions, always with a smile.

Nearby you have the Wotten Waven mineral baths (Screws and Tia Bamboo)- I personally I really loved the different pools at Screws for 10usd per person/hour- great experience where you have pools that range from very hot water to really fresh and cold.

Make no mistake, this is a rustic property where you will plenty of noises from outside (rain, birds, crickets, cicaras...) and it will be extremely dark but you are near nature in a lovely location. That is priceless!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with private bathroom and if possible also with a private hot shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munich
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had read about Le Petit Paradis in the Lonely Planet and just drove there after arriving on the island. We got lucky and had one of the 2 rooms with private bathroom for 2 nights; it was the best value for money we found during our whole trip (which was our honeymoon, so we wouldn't have stayed anywhere cheap but ugly;-)
The room has a nice comfy bed with mosquito net, a small bathroom with hot shower and a balcony with a great view over the valley. it's all wooden and airy, you'll hear the heavy rains outside at night, but it feels so great to be in the middle of nature in a small village.
Joan is very welcoming and so easygoing, she cooked fantastic dinner and breakfast (also great value) and makes a wonderful rum punch, try it!
She'll also set you up with passes for all the parks and sites, tell you where the best places are and hook you up with a driver/guide etc. The famous Wotten Waven spas are all within walking distance, we went to Screws at night, which was great. The falls, hikes, Titou gorge etc. are all within an easy hour driving (even though distances are short, driving takes a bit, with narrow roads, steep hills and potholes).
To wrap it up, Le petit Paradis is the perfect place for independent and adventurous travellers who love nature and want to explore the island and appreciate the local touch and quiet surroundings of the accomodation.

one more thing: you should check if there's a cruiseship in town when you plan activities; we had Titou George all to ourselves, which was awesome, but later a local told us that there where 300 people from the cruise the day before. that would have certainly spoilt the experience..

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms up front which have private bathrooms, the others have shared facilities but still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kschowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I stayed here with my husband during our Dominica hiking/adventure vacation, and I could not be happier with my choice. We knew we wanted to visit a lot of the sights in the interior, and I found this place on an internet site and chose it because it's in Wotten Waven, which is near the trailhead to boiling lake, Trafalgar falls, and a lot of the hot sulphur springs, and also because the rates were extremely reasonable. Even though it's only a few miles from Roseau, roads in Dominica are very windy and the going is slow, so staying near to what you want to do is essential. When we arrived at Le Petit Paradis, we were greeted by Joan, who runs the place, and she showed us the rooms that were availalbe. I had been hoping for a room with it's own bathroom, but they were all taken, so we decided to take one of the rooms in what she called the camper's quarters. It was a small building with three rooms and an open air kitchen, and a rustic washroom a few feet away. All the rooms, the kitchen, and the bathroom had electricity, and the washroom and kitchen both had running water (though no hot water as far as I could tell). The view from our room was fabulous (see my pics) and the room was comfortable and very clean, especially considering it was pretty much open to the outside. The balcony was great for drying our towels and swimsuits, and also for relaxing, though we mostly did that in the kitchen since there were more comfortable chairs there. There were no other guests in the campers quarters so we had the kitchen and bathroom to ourselves. I got a little worried that the place would blow away when it started pouring down rain, as it tends to do now and then in Dominica, but the room and all of our belongings stayed dry and intact. There were mosquito nets provided over the bed, but there were very few bugs on this part of the island, so we didn't use the mosquito net. The only intruders in our room were lizards, which are ubiquitous on the island and they just want to have a look at you and move on so it was no bother. The room and windows locked and whatnot, but we felt the village was safe enough that we usually left without locking the windows or balcony door and our things were fine. If you stay here, you should probably arrange to have your breakfasts and dinners at Joan's restaurant, since there aren't a lot of other options around, but also because it was the best food we ate on our trip. I don't eat meat, but my husband rated the fish dinner he had the first night and the goat he had the second night as the top two meals of our trip. For me, Joan made a plate of lentils, vegetables, and bread which was delicious. Breakfasts were pretty good as well, and the coffee at le Petit Paradis was the best we had on the island (good coffee is hard to come by on Dominica). The clientele here leans European; a lot of the other guests spoke French and little English. On Sunday, we gave a couple of young French tourists a ride to the Boiling Lake trial, as there were no taxis running that day and they didn't have a rental car -- it's the kind of place with a lot of young, poor travelers on a shoestring budget (and those of us who are young and poor at heart), though I wouldn't consider it a hostel, it's more of a rural guesthouse.
One thing that I'm not doing a very good job of conveying in this review is that Le Petit Paradis is very warm and welcoming. Staying in the rural village with chickens, goats, and mountains all around is very calm and serene, and the service in the restaurant, which is also beautiful to behold at night, is excellent. You really feel at ease here. I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to relax after a long day of Dominican adventures!

Room Tip: The room types are all different; some have en suite bathrooms and some don't, and some are real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bourgeois_Yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint George Parish
1.0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
855 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
2.0 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
488 reviews
17.5 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.8 mi away
Narakiel's Inn
Narakiel's Inn
#5 of 21 in Roseau
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Paradis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Paradis

Property: Le Petit Paradis
Address: Wotten Waven, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Saint George Parish
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Le Petit Paradis Dominica/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing