We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nightmare” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tia Bamboo Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint George Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tia Bamboo Cottages
Nice, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nightmare”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

we had one bad experience over there. we was eaten by mosquitos and co!!!!! traveling with 3 friends we crashed by Tia's for 1 night instead of 2. we just did not stay there more and next morning back to town. rooms were not prepared, poor hygiene, no protections against mosquitos and the other bugs, food was ok but when u like just fishbones!!! about service we don't speak! was not polite for visitors and trying to argue about reservation! price for tourist - example- beer 5 dollars instead of 3,5 for locals! the location in the valley aint bad!

Room Tip: last room at left side of the house aint your dream if u like bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Surm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Kitts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We got there at 3pm on a Friday and booked the trip a month in advance for 2 nights at Tia. When we arrived they informed us that they gave our rooms away to 3 other people that had trouble with their flights but that we could check in tomorrow. WHAT!!!!!!???? For 2 hours we tried to sort it out and find another place to stay because at this point we were on an island we didn't know and the 5 of us are officially homeless for the night.

We ended up staying at a very nice hotel downtown (the only one with vacancy) and spent 4 times what we were expecting to spend at Tia's. What a HUGE diappointment, and no sympathy from the manager or his wife. They offered us a free drink. That was it...I will NEVER reccomend this hotel ever! They didn't offer to help us find another place, the manager never ever showed up, he expected his poor wife to deal with it and she had no authority to do so! DISASTER at TIA's, that's what the hotel should be named. Good luck if you book with Tia!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Visited in November 2013, Ideal day out for everyone.
There is a hot pool in a purpose built cabin this is fully accessible for wheelchair users and people with difficulty walking.
To reach the open air hot pools you have to walk down a moderately steep path, once at the bottom there is a river with three hot pools along side it. All three pools are at different temperatures. The furthest one is the coolest and the middle one is the hottest. Beware getting in to the middle one, I am only four foot eleven tall and I needed help reaching down to the step to get in and I also needed help to get back out and I am a fully mobile person.
There is good tree coverage so you do not have to worry about getting sunburned whilst using the pools.
The entrance cost was $5 per person and we were made to feel welcome by the owner.
There is a cafe at the entrance.
We were visiting for the day from a cruise ship, the taxi cost us $30 each and the driver also took us to the Champagne Reef snorkeling that cost $2 each, so the hire was for most of the day, there were five people sharing the taxi. The cruise ship was charging £46 for each of these trips, that would have cost us a total of £92 each for our day out so we saved a fortune and had the benefit of taking as much time as we wanted to at the two venues.
I would not recommend wearing pale colored swim wear as sulfur staining from the water could take place.
There are cold showers and places to get changed in. Do not worry about your belongings because you will have sight of your things the whole time you are in the pools, and if you are lucky like us you will have the whole place to yourselves.
I cannot comment on the cottages because we only visited for the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We came out of season but paid anyway the full price. The cottage was not completely ready, there was only cold water in the shower and a bulb wasn't functioning properly, but apart from that the spot is nice, with three pools with three different temperatures. Also the pricy dinner they served us was quite descent. It's not a bad idea if you want to escape the coast or city and want to go for some hikes. The personnel is friendly and it seems like a safe area. The pools are also used, despite what some wrote in their references, by people from outside from the hotel, but it was not crowded at all when we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Francois, Martinique
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed a Tia's with a squad of friends for the World Creole Music Festival back in October. What a spot. The only noise was the river below and the hot springs. It's a clean, cozy, pretty informal set-up. Intense green mountains everywhere. Short drive down into Roseau, or to many other spots. we actually walked to Trafalgar Falls, which is spectacular. You can chill out in the hot springs on site. Technically, they 'close' at 11, which just means that they turn out the lights, at which point it gets even better. So yea, probably the coolest place I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golpeador09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have had the fortune of staying at Tia's Bamboo Cottages. It is the best place to go if you enjoy hiking and scuba diving. Immerse yourself in a different world filled with a cornucopia of native tropical fruit. The thermal baths are close by. You can pick up an egg from the garden, bring it to the thermal water and cook it. Tia's Mom is a great cook!!! If you want home-cooking in paradise, go here. Very safe for women who travel alone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yenmelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

This is the second time we've stayed @ Tia's, and having been to island twice I can now say that this is a good but average place if you're visiting Dominica. Main issue I had here is that both my girlfriend and I individually confirmed our dates both over email and over the phone, yet when we arrived we were informed that the cottages weren't available. The "fix" was that we could stay in the rooms in the basement (traveling alone, I'd be okay with that...travelling with friends, and it being the first night of our vacation, we had to go back to Roseau and stay at Fort Young Hotel). The kicker was that they didn't attempt to work with us. 2 of 3 cottages were free, but they wouldn't clean them, and in no way was any effort made to make amends. Having stayed before and wanting to show friends the 'real' people, we agreed to come back the next day. It was better, thought one of the cottages had no hot water. The reason we agreed to return is the fact that it really is a cool place. As others have noted the location is ideal for a lot of outdoor or Roseau activities. The sulfur pools are great, and Tia has made improvements to them since Spring of 2011. The food is always good; regular Dominican fare (typically chicken or fish, root vegetables, some greens...always tasty).

In short, this is a good place if you want to do a simple, no-frills, style of travel. It's clean, but modest. There are certainly nicer/more expensive places both in the valley and around the island, but the people are good, friendly, and (in my opinion) approach things from a Dominca as opposed to an international traveler perspective.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjohnhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint George Parish
0.0 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
0.0 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.0 mi away
Natty Tropical Valley
Natty Tropical Valley
#7 of 10 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tia Bamboo Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Bamboo Cottages

Property: Tia Bamboo Cottages
Address: Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Saint George Parish
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Tia Bamboo Cottages Hotel Roseau Valley
Tia Bamboo Cottages Dominica/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing