We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”
Review of Zandoli Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Patrick Parish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zandoli Inn
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My wife and I had heard about Zandoli Inn some years back from savvy friend and decided that when the Tides of Travel allowed we would visit. . Our chance came last month when we "hopped " over via LIAT from Barbados. By e-mail Jenn gave me great directions, rental car recommendations, and asked for dietary restrictions , if any. The result was a flawless two day, one night visit. No hassles with the car, no trouble driving, and then the pleasure of Zandoli... the views, setting, pool , a warm welcome and a fabulous evening and morning meal. Everything was superb, better even than our friend's superlative description. Jenn also sent us on our way back to Melville Hall over spectacular roads ( well paved) through Carib territory and rain forest scenery that is first class. What a privilege for us.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms, all are excellent, don't fuss about which one you get. No bugs and cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Great stay. Jenn and the team looked after me from start to finish. The food was outstanding, with real care going in every night. Beautiful location overlooking the bay. I'll be back...... but only if you give me the Rum punch recipe? Thanks again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jono L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Don't make a mistake by staying someplace else. We stayed here for 5 nights in May. It is worth the 20-30 min easy ride from Roseau to stay here. I have the same sentiments as other reviewers only to add that I loved the lightning bugs flying in our room at night! By the way, the only bugs we saw. The rooms are simple and immaculate. The staff is wonderful and Jen is the best. I worried that the location would be too remote for our activities but it actually was a perfect spot for seeing the entire south half of the island. You will be cool enough at night without A/C and a rental car would be preferable. Believe all the good reviews! Please email me if you need more details.

Room Tip: Room 5 and 3 best views, 4 would be next choice and then 2, with 1 being last choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DJTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This place is fantastic! The grounds are beautiful & perfectly manicured. We stayed in room #3. It was perfectly placed for viewing the ocean, watching the sunset or gazing at the stars. The inn is located in a quiet area with no city or traffic noise. The only sounds are from the "night creatures" & the ocean waves. We found the fan & open windows to be sufficient for keeping cool.

The Zandoli staff saw that every detail was taken care of for us. They even offered to cook lunch upon our arrival since we hadn't eaten yet. We stayed at Zandoli Inn for 5 nights & enjoyed them all. The best part of the stay (besides the great views from our room) was the food. Breakfast was plentiful & customized to our liking. Dinner was superb & nothing short of spectacular. Everything was made with local ingredients & rivaled most any five star restaurant (in fact Jenn, the owner, was a gourmet chef in Canada). Overall the experience was fantastic & definitely worth the 30 minute drive outside of Roseau.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_world_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in late February and it was, by far, the highlight of our entire Caribbean vacation (we had stayed a week on Dominica and a week on Antigua). The location, the hospitality, the room and most of all, the food, were all outstanding in every way.

The quaint, 5-room hotel is located on the southern coast of Dominica, with breathtaking views of the ocean and dramatic mountains nearby. It’s in a rural area, with the nearest restaurants or popular attractions (such as the Roseau valley) 30-40 minutes drive away, but this is exactly why we loved it so much. The hotel vibe was extremely peaceful and relaxing and we were perfectly content hanging out here and going for a local walk on one of the days we stayed here instead of site-seeing.

The hotel is owned and run by a family originally from Canada, who purchased the land where the hotel now stands over 30 years ago (I hope I’m remembering dates correctly, as they were told to me after I’d enjoyed a fantastic, locally-made, rum punch!). The father of the family, an architect, designed and built the hotel and it is clear from the thoughtful placement of every window, balcony and patio that he studied this site for months, if not years, before even beginning to sketch. Architecturally, everything aligns harmoniously with the path of the sun, the direction of the ocean breezes and most of all the idyllic view of the ocean and mountains on the distant shoreline. This is a very special place, indeed.

The hospitality we received was outstanding. We were welcomed warmly upon arrival by Jen, who graciously offered to make us lunch after learning we hadn’t eaten yet (p.s. they will make lunch upon request with advance notice). It was a perfect soup that hit the spot (I’ll talk about the outstanding cuisine in a minute). Jen made us feel at home and provided us with fantastic information about the things to do and see in the area and also gave us a nice history of the area, which was wonderful.

Our room was immaculately clean, spacious and well-maintained. It is not a luxury hotel, but offers all the comforts one would need. Our room had a large window, from which we enjoyed an incredible sunset every night. We also had a private balcony that featured sweeping views of the sea. At night, the sound of the ocean, coupled with the light breeze was perfect for sleeping.

The most wonderful part of our stay at Zandoli Inn was the food. Jen, who is gourmet chef, along with her talented staff, prepared incredible dinners and beautiful breakfasts for us each day. She uses locally-sourced ingredients (some right out of the hotel’s garden). Our dinners included a starter, main and dessert every night and included such dishes as: chicken pate with mango chutney, callaloo soup, goat curry, fresh red snapper (caught that day from the nearby fishing village), and fresh salads. Breakfast featured fresh fruit and homemade breads and made to order eggs, if desired. We took photographs of every meal so we could relive the experience later!

I would absolutely recommend staying here! It is the real deal.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in room #3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed four nights and the Zandoli, and we're fortunate enough to get a nice room at the top with beautiful ocean view. Rooms are straight forward but charming; wardrobe, king size bed, desk, and a terrace with two chairs. Only thing we might miss was AC, the idea of sleeping with windows open and bugs screaming is nice but think we would have used it if available. Throughout the Zandoli is clean and very well kept. The hosts Jen and Linda were very welcoming, helpful and generous. Jen knows here cooking, and use fresh local ingredients like fish, lobster, herbs, vegetables . Choice of wine is limited and the cooking would have deserved more, but this is an inn so reckon that is a fair priority. Food was very good, and could easily have passed at twice the price somewhere else in the Caribbean. A major point for us choosing Zandoli was the fact that you can swim in the ocean, unlike places further east were currents and waves makes it impossible. A few stairs brings you to the water, no sandy beach but huge rocks were you can lay down, dive off them or snorkel along. We only stayed down there one day as we were hiking etc, but could easily been hanging out on the rocks a few more days. For two pax we paid USD 1500, for accommodation, beer, rum, wine, dinner and breakfast every day and one lunch, and maybe some more:) great bang for buck! Zandoli is a laid back all inclusive with atmosphere and great food, without the fancy bed covers and price tag. If you are going to Dominica and west/ south coast is your destination look no further!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west towards the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soren79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Wonderful 5 room inn where we felt very welcome. Our hosts Linda and Jen were great and made us feel very comfortable as soon as we got there. Jen is an AMAZING cook and we had gourmet meals every evening we were there. (4) Our room had the most incredible views and felt very Mediterrean ..felt like we were in Greece. We did not have a car, but Linda and Jen helped us navigate ways to get around. A car is definitely easier, but we were fine and also enjoyed sitting by their small pool and exploring the beautiful grounds. We walked a short distance to the beach to snorkel and were able to get in the water without too much trouble. The snorkeling area on their property seemed a bit too adventurous for us. If you are looking for a beautiful, low key place in Dominica ..I highly recommend Zandoli

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Patrick Parish
24.2 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
6.2 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
16.1 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zandoli Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zandoli Inn

Address: Roche Cassee | Stowe, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Patrick Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Patrick Parish
Price Range: £102 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil, secluded hideaway with captivating views, dramatically located on six acres of forest gardens 80 feet above the sea. For the adventurous, the boulder shoreline below provides sea access for those who snorkel. Resident guests enjoy breakfast and dinner overlooking the Grand Bay and the sparkling village across the bay. Zandoli Inn is just a 25 minute drive from Roseau and a special place to stay while investigating the southern end of the island of Dominica. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing