We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip!”
Review of Batibou Beach

Batibou Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the highlights of our trip!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This beach was so incredible that we visited it twice on our six day stay in Dominica. Irma and her family are gracious hosts and make the most delicious coconut punch you'll ever find! Irma also makes amazing food - great for a lunch stop. We ate with her both days and it was some of the best food we encountered on the island. One day we had the beach completely to ourselves. The second time we went we met a few other couples and had a great time with them playing guitar and singing. The small bar is a great place for generating conversation. Safety is not a concern as there are hired security guards patrolling the area until about 5pm.

Snorkeling and swimming are great since there's a reef that breaks the waves and makes the waters calmer than other beaches in the area.

Irma also helped connect us with other people on the island who enhanced our trip immensely. I would recommend this spot to anyone visiting Dominica. While you're there be sure to stop by Number One Beach as it's right down the road and looks like something from a dream.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sherry_leblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    18
    6
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Couldn't believe the fun bar we found here. Rob the bartender is great. We pitched a tent for the night and were the only ones there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dave g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Personalized service and a beautiful beach”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Thank you to Erma who owns the lovely little bar and restaurant at Batibou beach. We went there one day very late and didn't realize so much had changed since we had been there 10 years prior. She invited us to come back (at no charge), for my cousins birthday and provided us with a custom menu (reasonably priced $15 per meal $8rum punches) and a variety of sides, appetizers and a lovely dessert. We came back and stayed ALL day...with our family of 12. She hosted us so well, while still managing to cater to the other guests that had come to visit that day too.
If you are looking for a personalized experience, with delicious food, drinks and a beautiful sunset...look no further.

Do NOT be discouraged about the safety. There was a security guard on the property when we were there, and the truth is, there is a 1 mile hike down to the beach so they aren't getting anywhere very fast to escape!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ForSavvySoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely secluded and private gorgeousness”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This beach we visited during spring break, and had the entire place to ourselves. It is absolutely gorgeous, like out of a magazine. You just park on the street and do a nice 10min walk down a trail to the beach through the rainforest. There was no one there at all, even to collect the fee. Although we purchased the $12USD pass for the week that allowed access to all places that needed a fee. And as far as we could see, it was totally safe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank hikingchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise. Absolutely SAFE!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were not planning on visiting this beach because we had heard of a very few crime incidents. Let me tell you that this beach is 100% SAFE!! The beach is almost as beautiful as the people of Dominica. There is a beach bar that is open every day. They serve great food and a wide selection of drinks. It is run by one of the most amazing people we met on our vacation. Jaquelin (spelling?) She welcomed us with open arms each time we arrived. Be sure to try her sisters baked goods. The pecan pie is worth the trip alone. We ended up spending 3 days of our vacation on this beautiful beach. We couldn't get enough. There is also security on the beach although I am not sure they are needed, they are a welcome presence. You must visit this beach. Tell Jaquelin hi from us!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Batibou Beach also viewed

Roseau, Saint George Parish
Roseau, Saint George Parish
 
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish
 

Been to Batibou Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing