We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature walking, water, and wildlife abound.”

Big Shoals State Park
Attraction details
Hahira, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nature walking, water, and wildlife abound.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We did the WALK (all 3.4 miles in each direction for nearly 7 miles of hiking in the 101 degree heat), and if this place wasn't as beautiful as it was, I would have hated life. It's a LONG hike along the Hummingbird paved trail from Little Shoals to Big Shoals (with 2 kids, arthritis, and the heat) but we saw plenty of WONDERFUL on the way, from a gopher tortoise moseying along, to five deer leaping across the trail in front of us (one was a fawn!!!), and the water was still as a mirror where we ended up. We never DID see the rapids (I twisted my ankle walking down the "steps" to the water so we turned around), but all in all, it's a truly enjoyable experience. I wouldn't suggest YOUNG children be made to walk that trail though (even though it is level and paved) as 3.4 miles is longer than you think and there is little shade.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Flooded out!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I am only rating this as average because of the severe flooding in the area when we were there. We wanted to see the rapids and canoe them but were unable to. We will return to this park to canoe the rapids and hike when the flooding is gone. Just drving around it though it seemed like a great place to go. I will rerate it after I go there again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“great stop to hike and picnic”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This is our second trip here in four years and we see the continuing effort to build on the trails. We did the rapids trail and enjoyed a river side picnic it is a peaceful location and nicely kept. The only scary part was the local dogs who chased our car down the long country road leading into the park. I was afraid of hurting them even when we slowed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice park with Class III white water rapid”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We took our kids and did a couple hours hiking there. You will pass the sign of little shoal entrance and then turn when you see the sign of big shoal entrance. It is a little bit driving to find the parking lot. So if you feel why I still can't see the parking lot, just hang on and you will get there. By the end of the trail, you will hear the loud sound of the white water rapid. It is amazing. We also did a picnic in the park. A very peaceful park.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chachaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a great place to bring a picnic and check out the river. They also have a nice walking trail that runs along the river. The shoals size and really vary depending on the water level in the river.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Shoals State Park also viewed

 

Been to Big Shoals State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing