We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and getting better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Grotto

Blue Grotto
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Williston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cavern and cave diving site.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and getting better”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We have been here once before and it was fun then. Now they are building cabins for overnight use. There is a new pool for dive training There is a new bath house and a brand new deck There are multiple pavilions to get geared up and have a picnic. The staff is super friendly and willing to help. Thanks for a great experience !

Helpful?
2 Thank Mom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    44
    5
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rexton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great dive site to visit with family and friends!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Blue Grotto never fails to impress divers. Warm crystal clear waters allow for enjoyable extended dives. New divers are comfortable on this dive as the infrastructure lends itself well to new divers. Even after several visits with my wife, we are still excited as we bring friends and family along as we are certain they will love it as much as we do. Comfortable atmosphere, very laid back and relaxed area to just enjoy the diving.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JODY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waycross ga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Finally!!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have been here a number of times over the years, and have always had a good time, the grotto itself is beautiful, however, the facilities have had something to be desired. On December 30th we went diving at blue grotto and was surprised to see renovations in progress. Finally!!! I don't mean a new coat of paint; real, substantial renovations. New shelters, a huge new deck designed for diving, improved access to the water and a first class bathroom and changing area. The grounds looked better and there was other construction ongoing, it even looked as if they were adding overnight accommodations. Two thumbs up to the owners!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocklobster64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice place to dive”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Been diving here a couple years now and its getting better every time I visit. I've been seeing a few reviews about the owner bring rude. I'm not seeing that. The staff has been very friendly and helpful every time we've gone. They are really remodeling the place, big new deck, new bath house, etc. This is really pleasant when you live in middle Tennessee with no good place to dive. I do agree the price is a little high but it has become our favorite spot.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank magicnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pleasant Cavern Dive”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Visited Blue Grotto on a Tuesday, and though there were two other small groups there, when we were diving we were the only ones in the cavern. It is crystal clear, and they have lit the upper cavern, the lower cavern is dark. We stayed in the upper cavern, and I recommend bringing or renting a light; our day was cloudy and we needed a light to really look for fossils in the rock. There are some fish and a turtle for entertainment. The management was helpful and friendly, helping us load the rented equipment in our car for the very short drive to the shelter area. The water is cool, our dive computer read 69F, we wore 3 mil suits and added a vest and hood underneath and were fine.

Note: They are in the process of adding shelters, building a new bathroom/shower building, and adding some rental cabins. What is already a nice facility will be even better once these upgrades are complete.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyMegsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Blue Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing