We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Candela Restaurant Wine Bar, Tapas,
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Wilton Manors
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Okland Park Blvd
Description: At Candela we recreate the way Spaniards approach dinning, a lay back setting where wine and unpretentious bold dishes fill the table. We encourage our guests to share and sample our menu. Be the creator of your own Chef's Tasting Menu.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We saw this place on Check Please. It was great. I had the fried black pasta with squid. The rope veiga, the grouper and shrimp, and Moroccan chicken were good too. We will be back .. next time we will have more tapas and share the dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    24
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Quickly becoming a regular "favorite"”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Not only are the portions generous, the food is excellent and the price is right.

There are a variety of flavors on the menu, so it's nice to have a selection depending on what strikes your fancy. Recently, I enjoyed the beef carpaccio appetizer and the Moroccan chicken entree. Both were excellent.

The restaurant offers beers and wine -- not alcohol. Most likely, one of the two owners will check on you during the meal. They remain very engaged with their customers. We always have a pleasant dining experience. Even when the restaurant is more crowded, the noise level is conducive to a pleasant conversation. There are some nights that I just don't understand why there are not more people.

I definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Who would have thought that this amazing gem was hidden in this strip mall. The owners were there and very accommodating. The food was very traditional Spaniard food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were taken here by friends last week and had an excellent meal. It was a weeknight and we were shocked that the place was empty. We went back on Saturday and the place was packed. The left side of the menu is made up of warm and cold tapas. The right side lists entrees, which include fish, chicken, beef, lamb, and pork dishes. The yucca fritta was the best I've head and is served with two sauces. The chorizo, carpaccio, and octopus (not on the menu) are also excellent. The ropa vieja was excellent and my take home portion was enough for two lunches. The accompanying black beans were perfect. The lomo of pork with light blue cheese sauce and fig jam was delicious. My friend loved the lollipop lamb chops. One of the chicken stew dishes was good but not outstanding. The chef spends a lot of time in the dining room delivering food and making sure every one is pleased. He is more than happy to answer questions. The wait staff is knowledgeable, warm and efficient. They have a decent wine list.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, value atmosphere.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The food at Candela's is a mix of the chef / owner's Cuban born Spanish raised influence. It is always fresh, flavorful and creative and affordable. It is family run and you feel like you are eating in the family dining room. No foo-foo frilly décor, but down to earth.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank buyayacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Candela Restaurant Wine Bar, Tapas, also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Wilton Manors, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Candela Restaurant Wine Bar, Tapas,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing