We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First day here we couldn't wait to get back”
Review of Island Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Sands Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First day here we couldn't wait to get back”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had business to do in Wilton Manors, and having been a first time visitor, didn't know what to expect. It was a fairly last minute booking, and I was amazed at the reviews, the price and what 'looked like' close proximity to where I was working. As we pulled up we realized the resort was no more than 20 feet from my destination. Upon arrival Mike and Jim greeted us enthusiastically, handled our bags and gave us an overview of the neighborhood, places to eat, drink and all the hot spots we needed to relax.
By the end of day one we had made a decision that coming back for a non-work trip was in order and we hit up the guys on when to come back. They suggested that we look at halloween for an authentic street party. We booked immediately. Why?
Everything we needed, from friendly and warm hosts, to a large clean room with a kitchen and even a welcome cocktail! Complimentary waters, and Mike even printed things out for me while I sat poolside, and went as far as washing a few garments for a fellow traveler. It's 1/2 block off 'the drive' and Jim was willing to take us to an UPS store when it was needed, and to the beach and a Sunday Funday party, when it wasn't needed. 110% over the top accommodations, location, and service, looking forward to sharing this wonderful town and hosts with our best friends over halloween!

Room Tip: I can't image there is a bad room. The main resort has 3 guest rooms (apartments) and that of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
46
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As a business traveller I look for places that are safe, clean & accommodating. The hotel is safe with individualized key codes for your room. You never have to worry about losing your room key. There are also other security measures like the locked gate and surveillance cameras! Cleanliness of the rooms have always been exceptional. Not only are the rooms spotless, the decor is tastefully modern and cozy. The grounds are always spotless with a sparkling pool that transcends you to a tropical oasis with a key west vibe. All this from a very accommodating ownership. I have had last minute travel, switch date travel and the need for more elbow room and each time Mike and Jim have been very accommodating. Oh and did I mention the many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel? As a business traveler I found my little home away from home and will continue to stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylviaME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORLANDO
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I travel about 135 nights a year for business and when I stay here I feel as though I'm staying at a home instead of the typical "hotel". Mike and Jim are very accommodating, their friendly and always go the extra mile if anything is needed. They have small apartments with kitchens and then they also have rooms with a small fridge and microwave. Their pools are wonderful and the grounds are always well kept, I can't say enough about the Island Sands... It's a small "PARADISE" away from home when you travel as much as I do. It sure beats the "chain" hotels

Room Tip: All their rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucker, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Where do I begin, every minute was 5 star from start to end. Mike met us at the front door as we were dropped off, he immediately retrieved our luggage and welcomed us. The check in process was smooth and quick. He then drove us over to the Banyan Villas where he again handled all the luggage. The Villa was immaculate, very well decorated and felt like our home away from home. He took the time to explain where everything was located. He arranged a special Birthday greeting for my partner, balloons, flowers and champagne, it was over the top!! They met and exceeded our every need during our 4 day trip. The pool was so refreshing, clean and surround by beautiful plants. The property was in walking distance to everything we wanted to do and felt very safe walking all hours of the day. If your looking for a 5 star experience and not spending an arm and leg, Island Sands Inn is your best bet, you will not be disappointed. Mike and Jim are just amazing host's. They are very attentive to ensure your experience will make you want to keep coming back. Also, the main property is as nice as the Villas. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie30084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Island Sands Inn. Stylish, comfortable room - great pool deck - and convenient location to the Wilton Manors nightlife. But the real plus is Mike, the owner. He goes above and beyond in helping guests feel at home. From a ride to the beach, to breakfast in your room, he does it all. Thanks, Mike!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrashBang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Mike and Jim are terrific guys and this review has been a long time in coming. Their property is close to nightlife and local restaurants. Everything feels simple, relaxed and tasteful. They make you feel at home. They do go out of their way to take care of you but in my case they were also great about respecting my privacy when I needed it. I tended to go out late and sleep in late and they would always work with me in terms of when to bring breakfast. It was a really nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillfromLA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This place is amazing! The accommodations are fabulous: The rooms are stylish, immaculate, and spacious. The location is perfect; within steps of shops, restaurants and nightlife. The property and landscaping are well manicured and breakfast by the pool is a great way to start the day. We loved it so much, we returned two days later. The owners Mike and Jim are incredible! They went above and beyond anything I have experienced at other B&B's. They are professional, courteous, friendly and very helpful. Will definitely be making a return trip to Island Sands Inn.
Tammie and Maureen

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilton Manors
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
813 reviews
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#70 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
749 reviews
The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa
#1 of 3 in Wilton Manors
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn on the Drive LLC
#2 of 2 in Wilton Manors
38 reviews
Ed Lugo Resort
#1 of 1 in Wilton Manors
247 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 34 in Fort Lauderdale
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sands Inn

Property: Island Sands Inn
Address: 2409 NE 7th Ave, Wilton Manors, FL 33305-1209
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Wilton Manors
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wilton Manors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Sands Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Wilton Manors Hotel - Bed and Breakfast is located in the Heart of Wilton Manors Florida just a few steps off of Wilton Drives Art & Entertainment District. Walk to over 18 restaurants & 14 bars. We are directly connected to Ft. Lauderdale. From our luxurious beds, tropical oasis grounds & our prime walking location, we await your arrival. All rooms have private entrances & bathrooms. We offer a large heated pool, complimentary continental breakfast, WiFi & cocktail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Island Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing