We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried it, won't be back”
Review of Sushi Rock

Sushi Rock
Ranked #44 of 83 Restaurants in Wilton Manors
Restaurant details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tried it, won't be back”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Decided to try the new location in Wilton Manors but should have checked reviews first. General opinion of the reviews we saw were that food was fresh but service and food delivery were slow. That was our experience too. Service was friendly but below average. he didn't use any forethought or planning, having to run back for plates after he brought appetizers and such. The tea was very poor and the food was slow to come out of the kitchen, although it was fresh. I still much prefer Pop Rock Sushi and won't go back to Sushi Rock.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
547 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“A disappointment.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The first impression one gets when entering the place is the smell of fish. Not good.
I had edamame and the sashimi dinner. Although the cuts are generous, I found the fish to be watery and some pieces were breaking apart when picked up with chopsticks, a sign that it may not be fresh. My dinner was taken off the bill. The manager commented that their fish was fresh from the day. I would recommend that they change suppliers.
My friend had the sushi dinner and miso soup and was happy with it.
The men's bathroom was neglected. A bad sign for such a quiet place.
This is obviously so far a not so successful and neglected place which does not keep the promise of its somewhat grand exterior. It needs a complete operating overhaul.

Helpful?
Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Want sushi? Go to Sozo!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

This is my second time here. Not impressed. Go to Sozo or Tee-Jay's instead!! So many choices for sushi on the drive, why bother with this place?!?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hankfromMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We hoped it would be a hit”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This place took forever to open. We watched them build the building and landscape, pave the parking lot and the. Finally it opened. Sushi Rock has a downtown Ft Lauderdale that is quite successful so they decided to try this new location. The decor is nice but we weren't very excited about the feel of the place. There weren't many people there. The food was good but not great. There are other places on the drive for sushi and Thai food that are better and well established. We wish them luck here but not sure how well it would do. I think they need to hold some grand opening event catering to the demographic in the area with drink specials and maybe that will get people in there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sperezny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Interesting!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's the second time I visit this restaurant since I like Sushi and enjoy so much being at a nice place as well. I really liked the food, was very tasty and I found the best Shrimp Fried Rice I ever tried in town. Love the chandelier and hopefully the service will still be good when the restaurant gets busy. Like it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcrmtxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Rock also viewed

Wilton Manors, Broward County
Wilton Manors, Broward County
 
Wilton Manors, Broward County
Wilton Manors, Broward County
 

Been to Sushi Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing