We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Florida Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Unique Florida Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely one night stay in the refurbished 1920s Edgewater Hotel B and B. Our plan was to celebrate a birthday at the Chef's Table without having a longish drive home after dinner. We found the service kindly and hospitable and overall the stay was good. The elevator was a fun experience. We used it checking in and out but otherwise the stairs were no problem.
Our room, the Anniversary Room in the front overlooking
West Plant Street, was very quiet. Other reviewers complained about the noise. But the windows are now doubled pane. You can hear the difference in the bathroom where the window there has a single pane . Easy to shut the door between the two. The night we stayed someone was singing and playing guitar outside by the gazebo. Although I could hear him from the bathroom, I couldn't hear anything from the bedroom.
During our stay Central Florida was experiencing a cold spell. The hostess told us that room has a guest thermostat for AC, but the central heat is controlled by staff. She pointed out a small electric heater on the vanity which we could control. It made the room very cozy on a cold evening but I wish we had awakened to shut it off. Even my cold sensitive spouse complained the room was too hot by morning. Breakfast was pleasant and the parakeets in the sitting area across from the breakfast room added to the ambience. The lobby is a treat to view with its big fireplace, old fashion desk and access to an ice cream parlor. If you're as lucky as we, someone will be playing the lobby piano during your visit. Nice to see some older Florida buildings, like the Edgewater Hotel being lovingly restored and put to use.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    133
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
102
233
42
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I spent the weekend at the Edgewater Hotel with a friend and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away to a beautiful quaint town. The hotel employees were so pleasant to talk with and extremely helpful. I felt like I was in a place of tranquility and surround by generous, loving people. Their knowledge of the hotel and surrounding areas was impressive and they could not do enough for us

Thank you Edgewater Hotel employees for a fantastic stay at your wonderful home.
Beverly s.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Hill, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great place....great folks who run the place!! Loved meeting other guests that were staying there as well at the dining room table at breakfast. Loved the old feel of all amenities there. Look forward to coming back to visit again!!

Room Tip: Every room has a different personality. I plan on going back and trying out a different room each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Three couples spent the weekend at the Edgewater and biked the wonderful West Orange Trail, which runs right
outside the front door. Winter Garden is a neat town with several good restuarants and sidewalk cafes and fun shops. The Edgewater retains much of its 1920's charm; rooms are adequate, but not luxurious. A small annoyance was a problem keeping the shower's water temperature adjusted properly and the fact that the temperature in our room was controlled by a thermostat in another room. But this was more than made up for by
the friendly staff and wonderful breakfast each morning. plus snacks and coffee and tea throughout the day. This is
a great place to stay if you want to park your car and walk everywhere and this was our third time staying at the
Edgewater.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the front of the buiding on Plant Street are away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic_Edgewater, Owner at Edgewater Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We greatly appreciate your business and your feedback, and we are grateful for the time you took to provide it to us. Our return guests are very special to us, and we greatly value your opinion. We also treasure the West Orange Trail, and its location right outside the hotel makes it convenient for a bike ride or walk.

There were two single rooms in the hotel in which the thermostat was located outside of the room itself. After listening to feedback from guests such as yourself, we worked with our air conditioning technicians to correct that so that all of the single rooms have air conditioning controls located within the each room.

One of the drawbacks of an antique building with original restored plumbing is the inherited peculiarities of the era in which they were conceived. In essence, you are living with the issues that those in the 20s and 30s experienced. While we’ve worked to smooth out many of the realities of the era with modern amenities like air conditioning, Wi-Fi, satellite TV, and the like, some of those conditions are still with us. After 18 years in the building, we’ve found that turning on a small amount of hot water and then adding cold water to it seems to be the best process for finding the right temperature balance with the water. However, it is our goal to provide our guests with the best experience possible, and, like with the air conditioning, we are constantly working with our plumbing technicians to improve these issues. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Street noise is an issue that we’ve been very proactive about over the years, especially in those rooms on the Plant Street side. We’ve double insulated the windows in those rooms to prevent the normal street noise from permeating the rooms. Unless there was noise above the legal limits during the nighttime hours of 10pm to 7am, normal noise should be greatly reduced. In many cases, turning on a fan completely eliminates any external noise in those rooms. However, if there is excessive and unusual noise after 10pm, we contact local officials to put an end to anything that exceeds the legal limits during those hours. While we try to be as vigilant as we can in this area, we encourage any guest who is disturbed after hours to contact us so that we can put an end to it as soon as possible.

Thank you again. We are greatly indebted to the family of return guests that we have who provide us with invaluable feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

What a great little place. They really tried to keep to the 1927 theme from the lobby to the furnishings. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was yummy and not limited to one or two items, they provide a full menu to choose from. The hotel is only enhanced by the quaint street it sits on (Plant St.)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was our first but certainly not our last to this historic, quaint hotel. We were there the last couple days in Dec .From the moment you check in you feel like you have gone back in time. The elevator is even hand operated. Our room was a 2 room suite. The beds were comfortable with a cozy quilt. The bath towels were soft and big, not like most stiff hotel towels. Toiletries were just what we needed. Charm from an era of long ago radiated throughout the place. The victorian furniture, the oversized dressers, and the beautiful art gave a feeling like you were in your grandmother's home. Breakfast was simple but very filling. Eggs, waffles(way yummy), and pancakes all made to order. My suggestion to possibly consider adding biscuits and gravy. When you have breakfast at most hotels it is put in a warmer and left for the guests. Sarah greeted us, sat down and visited after delivering our meal. Very personal touch. Knew of all the places to go in the surrounding area. It was a great respite after dealing with Disney crowds. The pizza place across the street was one of the best meal deals. For $6.99 had a very large pasta meal with salad bar. Be sure to put your comments in the journal by the bedside. The owner's also have a Christian band, so ask about their free cd's. An added treat was to go in the lobby and listen to Matt play the piano for hours on end. When visiting the area I will no longer look for hotels near Disney. This will be our destination hotel. The personal staff is always looking for you to have the best experience,

Room Tip: If you can do the suites, go for that. Really even the smaller rooms have a delightful touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleygirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Edgewater Hotel for a week over Christmas 2013 while visiting our family in Winter Garden. It was a great experience and we will definitely go back. The staff were friendly and kind. They were also unobtrusively helpful and professional. We had our granddaughter stay with us towards the end of the stay and they upgraded our room and accommodated her for breakfast. We usually stay in motels/hotels where the amenities are much more modern. I am so glad we took a chance and went outside our comfort zone to try the B&B experience at the Edgewater. The dining room/breakfast area is homey and relaxed. The food was simple, hearty, and good. We were in two different rooms during our stay and they were both remarkably quiet. The hotel is maintained as it would have been in the 1920s and is absolutely charming as a result. If retro and historical is not your cup of tea, then you probably would not like the Edgewater. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cetred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Property: Edgewater Hotel
Address: 99 West Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden, Florida
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing