We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We especially enjoyed the history of the building and the breakfast's spent with others, learning about their lives and the historic antiques in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandsnewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    135
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
110
242
41
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The Edgewater is a welcome escape from the crowded and over-priced hotels in Orlando. The service is far better and the full-breakfast is excellent! The Edgewater is a wonderful example of a well-run family owned/operated business that has done a remarkable job restoring a historic land mark.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peace4bne
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We live 20 minutes from the Edgewater, but it couldn`t have been further from the hustle and bustle that we wanted to get away from. Very charming hotel in a charming small town setting! Lake Apopka is within walking distance. One possibly obvious caveat: streetside room was loud - small town or not - until very late and then again starting very early.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peace4bne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2009

I had much privacy. I enjoyed riding the old elevator and walking downtown in Winter Garden. The parking was excellent. There was excellent customer service and I felt at home. The breakfast was prepared for me at the time of my choice!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allegoryministries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Lovely building, good mattress, antique elevator, good breakfast and lovely decor - the only problem was the light from the hall which entered through the transom.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reversealchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

I got married in the Apopka area and chose the Inn as the place for my husband and I to spend our first night before leaving for our honeymoon out of the country. We love downtown Winter Garden, and the location of the Inn on the West Orange Trail can't be beat, especially if you can long enough to explore the trail (bikes are available for rent next door). Our room (#215) was large, clean, cute, and quaint. We did tour the hotel long before we booked it, so we knew what to expect. The bed was small, but comfortable, with nice linens, and a quilt. The water pressure in the bathrooms was good. We had a great view of the street. There was a journal in the sitting area of room where people wrote about their stay, and we added a little note ourselves.

We didn't use the wifi, but saw others in the main dining room using it sucessfully. Breakfast at the main dining table was very good. The hotel was booked that weekend so there was a breakfast buffet, but we were told that the kitchen would also prepare any special order we wanted. We were happy and satisfied with the buffet items only.

My family also hosted a post-wedding brunch across the street at Sweet Traditions Bakery, which was excellent. There are quite a few other restaurant options in walking distance, including the Winter Garden Pizza Company, which is one of our favorites. The main drag is very pretty: fountain, swings, brick paving, etc. The area used to be a stop on the citrus railroad, and there is a small railway museum nearby but I have never visited it.

Note that the historic elevator is only operable by hotel staff, and you call them by phone when you want/need to use it. That was perfectly fine with us, and we opted to use the staircase (one flight up to the hotel level of the building). However, for elderly or physically impaired guests, this might be something to consider. This is a fun place to visit for people who like to stay somewhere with character.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ponykrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunraykiss
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I had a wonderful time with my wife at this bed and breaksfast. We were met at the counter by the impressive (and very busy) Michelle. She checked us in at the old hotel counter - this place was built in the 20's. She took us up to the second floor in an old style elevator and walked us down to our room - the corner room (which she stated was her favorite room in the whole place. If a room is not rented, the door is left open and you can look in at all of the antique furniture in each room. Our room had a very sturdy double bed with a soft yellow comforter, a cozy love seat, a very old dresser, a vanity to die for, and it was very spacious with four large windows overlooking the downtown streetlife. A folk artist played songs in the courtyard right in front of our window and we certainly enjoyed that. In the morning, we met at a large table in the kitchen where Michelle took our order for breakfast and we met the other folks at the hotel. Most places I have gone, the people in the room just ignore me, but here, it was like we had been old friends forever and we just met. Breakfast was hot and fresh. My wife and I are already thinking about when we would like to go there again, as it was a tremendous stress reliever and a great place to getaway for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunraykiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,406 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Property: Edgewater Hotel
Address: 99 W Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787-3139
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden, Florida
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing