We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with excellent staff and historic feeling”
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgewater Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My wife and I stayed here while scouting for somewhere to live due to business relocation. We loved the old historic feeling of the hotel itself and all town it is at the center of. The food in the area is all within walking distance and was all very good! The room was clean and quiet and had everything we need. The only very minor issue we had, was that for us - the bed was a little uncomfortable, but for many - I am sure it will be perfect, just a subjective opinion. We loved the character of this place, and the included made to order breakfast every morning (tips appreciated they said) was a great bonus that made it feel more like a B&B than a hotel. We really loved staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlynsArcade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

From the moment we checked in, it was an adventure into the past.
the service was excellent, including a delicious home cooked breakfast.
Each room is spotless and complete originally decorated with charm.
the beds are comfortable. There are so many interesting furnishings,
antiques, paintings it would take many visits to enjoy them all.
The staff is totally accomadating. It is centrally located on main street
and you can walk to most of the resturants, shops & amenities.
I will definitely be coming back with friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I have enjoyed all three of my stays at the Historic Edgewater Hotel. The hotel is charming, the rooms are very comfortable and impeccably clean. The staff is friendly and extremely accomodating. It is a great place to retreat at the end of a long day.

The home cooked breakfast is great, and my associate and I have enjoyed the Thai restaurant on the ground floor many times! We also walk just across the street for great capuccino and french pastries. The town on Winter Garden is charming.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Although it was our first experience staying in a b&b it was pretty much what we expected. The room was very clean. We were surprised how comfortable the beds were. The only improvement would be window treatments. It really lacked there. Interesting group of people running the hotel, very friendly and courteous. Will be staying again as making dinner reservations again in the best restaurant there is, The Chef's Table. Having it right in their lobby was a major plus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacknRoyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I was excited about finding and making reservations at this old hotel turned B&B in Wintergarden. We began our vacation staying here while visiting Disney World, prior to hitting the state park circuit for some tent camping. Our trip was to end back at this B&B, but we ended up cancelling the remainder of our stay at the Edgewater and relocating to Springhill Suites by Marriott in Orlando.

There is no denying this building as being of historic value and ambiance. My wife and I were looking forward to relaxing at a place that seemed a bit "back in time" and walking around the town.

But to cut to the chase, the rooms NEED work. Some of the furnishings are not antique, but cheap imitations. What bothered us most was the completely worn out bed springs and mattress, unusable window shades and damaged window sills (making it hard to open/close windows), mold and water damaged walls/ceiling in the bathroom, and damaged walls in the bedroom from the furniture. No one appears to be fixing the damage.

Another major problem we had was NOISE. There is a bar right next door and another across the street. If you like loud music and people yelling to each other in conversation of the music into the wee hours of the night, this is the place to stay. You'll feel right at home. If you're looking for peace, quiet and romance, we suggest you seek it at another establishment.

Finally, while the service and breakfast rendered was adequate, there was a feeling that we were "outsiders" who were not really welcome here. We noticed from the notes of past room guests that this B&B is run by some religious organization. All those working there that we saw were young people, not that theirs anything wrong with that. It just struck us as strange. When we checked in at nearly 12 midnight, a very pregnant young woman, who looked ready to give birth at any moment, assisted us; ALONE. After deciding to cancel our remaining reservations, we were told by another staff girl that we would have to call the same lady who checked us in, although she was there in the B&B. Very odd! While we saw what appeared to be young men who work there, we never saw them do any work or assist any guests.

Sorry folks, but this felt like we stepped into an episode of the "Twilight Zone". We cannot recommend strongly enough to avoid the Historic Edgewater Hotel and seek your resting place elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wadeandtanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Historic_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2010

We always welcome feedback as it allows us to view the property through the eyes of our guests. While we hope we can receive this feedback during our guests stay so we can make any adjustments or alterations necessary to provide them with the best stay possible, it is always good to be alerted to areas that will improve the stay of future guests.

There is a five-month lapse of time between the stay and the review, and we’ve done our best to research and address the concerns listed. First, concerning the furniture, the furnishings in the room are antique dating between the 20s and the 40s. There is a small glass coffee table that is in the antique-style of the furnishings, but I am not certain as to its age. It is, however, an elegant piece, as we strive not to have any furnishings in guest rooms appear cheap.

The antique bed frame was restored and a new mattress was put into use in December, two months prior to your stay, and I don’t believe it had been used ten times previous. We are sorry that it did not seem adequate. We are always welcome to making changes in mattresses or bedding to address an issue and ensure a guest is as comfortable as possible, but were not aware of it until now.

I have double-checked the windowsills and shades and find them in working order. Historic windows are not the easiest to open being that they are operated by a system of counterweights and are not as smooth in their operation as modern windows. I have checked them and they do open and close, but being that the rooms are climate controlled there is seldom a need or want for guests to open the second floor windows. Sometimes after a long time being shut they can be a little difficult to open. Again, we are always happy to assist our guests with such matters.

We always check our bathrooms for cleanliness and damage. The benefit of older plaster walls, beyond their historic value, is that the lime in the plaster prevents mold from taking hold. Additionally, the paints we use contain a mildew inhibitor. Again, it is five months later, but I see no evidence of mold and have never seen anything of the sort. There is a crack along the ceiling of the bathroom, but it is a part of the old plaster and within the historic architecture. It has been painted over. Plaster is an imperfect substance, but a part of the antique charm. Sometimes I see people paint faux cracks in modern properties to recreate a historic ambiance, so most of the guests don’t mind this element of history.

There is a couch in the bedroom that scuffs the walls when guests sit on it too roughly. You were here at the height of our busy season when rooms are turned over at a feverish pace. We do go in and repair those areas, but it has been a recurring repair for us. Your review has made me decide to put up some molding to keep that couch away from the wall. But we do fix any damage that we see. That is important to us, and we always appreciate things being pointed out that we may have missed.

Not all of the rooms of the building are on the street, but this one is. There is an ordinance in the city for noise to abate at 10pm. Usually it does, and Sunday through Thursday is generally not an issue. Sometimes on Friday and Saturday the noise continues past ten, and at those times I make a couple of calls and that usually takes care of it. I know because I live in the room above this room on the third floor, and we are here twenty-four hours a day. If there is a continuing problem, guests can contact us to address the issue. Also, if there is a concern during an extended stay, we would be happy to move anyone to an interior room where no noise from the street can be heard.

It is our goal that no one staying here feels as if they are outsiders. We run a family operation and welcome everyone while, of course, respecting his or her privacy. If you felt as if you were outsiders, we are genuinely sorry about that. Not everyone that works here or is involved with the hotel is young, but there are a good deal of younger staff members. Most the guys who work here are involved with the maintenance of the hotel, but guests can always ask anyone they see for assistance. Most of this maintenance takes place out of the view of the guests. Because of the time that has passed, I am not certain of the member of the staff who was approached about the reservation cancellation, but some of the staff are only involved in the housekeeping and don’t have knowledge of the hotel’s operations, but we are sorry if there was an inconvenience in any way.

Usually we do not take check-ins after nine pm, but as you had requested a late check-in due to a late arrival, we were happy to oblige. I was pregnant five months ago, and as I live here with my husband, this is my home. I did not mean to offend anyone with my condition. Likewise, we are nondenominational Christians, but that has nothing to do with the operation of the hotel. We certainly don’t preach to anyone and don’t believe in religious views being imposed upon anyone, especially in an atmosphere of relaxation and leisure.

As far as the Marriot is concerned, we are not the Marriot. We are never going to be the Marriot. This is our home, and people who come here are guests in our home. Additionally, there is a historic tradition at the Edgewater that we are entrusted to carry on. Historic buildings are not for everyone. There is a character to a preserved building that is unique, harkening to the comfort of the past in a style particular to the region where it is located. This building was built an era before standardization and consistency became the rule in accommodations. This building is not like that. It has something to say about the area where it is located and the people who care for it, and it is individual and irreproducible in that regard. That is why we love it, and that is why we love to share it with our guests from all over the world. That being said, restoration is always a work in progress, and buildings that are over eighty years of age often present some unique challenges. Therefore, if there is anything that seems out of order or wanting in any way, we would like our guests to bring that to our attention. We encourage that conversation to happen during the stay to allow us the opportunity to make immediate improvements in your experience. But we are grateful just the same to anyone offering us constructive criticism as a basis for improvement. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are quaint. The breakfast was good and made to order and the Edgewater is not short on character. We met a couple there for a reptile show. We were there for a car show and another couple was there for Disney and left their three small dogs at the hotel so they could visit. A Christian band who was visiting started playing music on the piano in the lobby. One of the men who worked there told us about his former job running a wildlife park. Definitely, a fun and interesting place to stay. Beds are doubles, not queens. Baby was happy and took his first shower.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELLER2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The Edgewater is the perfect accommodation for the town of Winter Garden. We felt it was like going back in time, and were treated with the hospitality I imagine you would receive 100 years ago. The hotel and town are the epitome of quaint, with several dining choices within a few blocks. We stayed four nights and were fine, however, for a longer stay I would have looked for a place with at least a queen sized bed. Very nice bed and breakfast, they did a fantastic job of renovating an old hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siplers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
13 mi away
TownePlace Suites Orlando at Flamingo Crossings/Western Entrance
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Orlando West - Ocoee
8.9 mi away
Orange County National Golf Center and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orlando at Flamingo Crossings/Western Entrance
11.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,501 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Ocoee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Address: 99 W Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787-3139
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range: £81 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden, Florida
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing