We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not so good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very good hotel for a family going to legoland, they treat you well and even give you legoland stuff at check-in. It would have been a "good" hotel if breakfast was better. The breakfast staff ( basically one lady when we were there) could do a better job, and the food had basically no taste. Eggs were of the canned type they cook by the pounds...bread/pastries were marginally OK...

Beds were on the soft side....rollaway bed for our 7 year old kid was not good, you could feel the springs ...my son is not picky at all and did not want to sleep there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwillard, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Good Afternoon,
First let me thank you for your review of my hotel. I am so sorry we were not 100% up to your standards. I will address your service in the Cafe' Blu and the food as well. I hope you will give us another chance to show you that we are better than that. Please feel free to reach out to me personally the next time you come to LEGOLAND.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great place to stay for a Legoland visit.....staff was nice and free breakfast was just fine. Pool was nice as was our room. Since there is only 1 elevator in the building I would recommend a ground floor room. Breakfast was staffed and everything was plentyfull with nothing running out, and we went down probably later than most.

Room Tip: Ground floor as there is only 1 elevator for the whole building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannieVannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We selected this hotel because it came recommended as one of the newer and cleaner hotels in the area. Upon arrival, we were told that the cable and the Wi-Fi were both out. When we expressed our disappointment about the lack of amenities promised, we were told it is not the hotel's fault and that we were lucky we had power because that had been out also.

When we went up to our room, the room smelled dank and mildewy. We had friends staying in another room of the hotel and their room smelled also. Additionally, I heard other families complaining about the smell at the front desk. The smell persisted throughout our stay. Perhaps this was due to the power being out previously, but the rooms should have been aired out and deodorized before people checked in.

The air conditioning in our room did not work as well as we would have liked. We had it set at 65 and it was not at all cold in the room. The water temperature for the bath and shower is set way too low. It was impossible to take a hot bath. My children took a bath with all hot-water and no cold water and they both complained that the bath was too cold.

During our stay, I called down to housekeeping to ask for a couple of towels and I was told that I would need to come get them at the front desk because the woman at the front desk was the only one working. The second day I called again to report a problem with my television. The person who answered told me they were busy checking in guests and that they would call me back. I never received a call. Both incidents occurred in the evening. The hotel is understaffed in the evening for sure.

I also saw many overflowing trash receptacles at the hotel. The worst of which was a pile of empty beer boxes in the trash can in front of the hotel. When we checked out, the garbage had been sitting there for 18 hours. Who knows how much longer it was out there. Another example of the hotel being under staffed.

On a positive note, the hotel is fairly new. We received excellent service from Ray in the breakfast area. He was friendly and great with the kids. I think this hotel has potential, but they need more staff,and they need to make a lot more effort.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrudentB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear PrudentB,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Due to unforeseen problems with our previous hotel, we had to get a room here last minute, but the the lobby manager Chad helped us out immensely, was polite, informative on our goals to get to Legoland, and gave the kids some Lego minifigs first thing when they walked in the door. Though being almost full, the room was great, and the hotel staff was quick to meet our needs after we had traveled all day. In the morning breakfast was great and because of this experience I will look for Holiday Inn hotels first when I travel.

Room Tip: We booked last minute when there were only two rooms left in the entire hotel, and it was perfect. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJUltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We were moved to this hotel when we got a call from the Hampton Inn next door that they overbooked. We were promised same accommodations, free breakfast, park discounts and toys for kids at same price. Received mostly everything except for toys for kids and hotel room was not as nice. A little disappointed. The air conditioning in the room was very loud and would go on and off all night. Rooms were clean, but noticed some stains on chairs and couch in lobby. The clerk at the front desk was very overwhelmed, answering multiple phones at once while trying to also check people in or answer questions. Definitely understaffed. The breakfast buffet was good and the waitress was very friendly. Best thing was that the hotel was only 3 miles from Legoland. But, we ended up driving instead of taking the free shuttle, because it did not run often and we did not want to get stuck at the park if we wanted to stay longer. Overall, adequate stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Jodesk,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased you liked the location and it's proximity to Legoland. I would also like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Would recommend for a trip to legoland. Nice place to stay and close to the park. Restaurants are nearby. Very clean and very good service.we booked at last minute and the front desk had our info available we we arrived.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My son, 2 nieces and I had an excellent stay at this Holiday Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable; the staff was very pleasant. The lobby was welcoming and the restaurant was too! The morning buffet was perfect for kids and adults alike. Very close to Legoland. We will be staying at this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 16 in Winter Haven
625 reviews
2.3 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 16 in Winter Haven
947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Winter Haven Gardens Inn & Banquet Center
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
6.8 mi away
Best Western Auburndale Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winter Haven

Address: 200 Cypress Gardens Blvd, Winter Haven, FL 33880-4330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range: £95 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winter Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Florida Hotel in Winter Haven, FL Welcomes You Whether you visit Winter Haven for business or just to get away, the Holiday Inn Winter Haven is designed to be your personal retreat. We're located between Orlando and Tampa, and we can meet you in the middle. You'll find the finest in upscale services at our hotel in Winter Haven. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Our hotel is near the Cypress Gardens Theme Park and popular area attractions. Our great location makes it easy to visit the Winter Haven Theater, Historic Bok Sanctuary, the Fantasy Flight Museum or the downtown antique district of Winter Haven. Lodging here is ideal for corporate guests. Our Winter Haven hotel's location is within 10 miles of State Farm, Polyglass USA and Packaging Corporation of America. Our 24-hour Business Center offers privacy, and there is free wireless Internet access in our guest rooms. Our Winter Haven hotel's upscale amenities let you maintain an exercise regimen in our sophisticated Fitness Center. You can take a dip in the pool or soak in the Florida sun. The Cafe Blu serves breakfast and nightly dinner specials, and we offer in-room dining for your convenience. Our hotel in Winter Haven is a Certified Member of My Florida Green Council, where, together, we can make a difference. At the Holiday Inn, you'll experience service provided by a caring staff. Relax, and enjoy our Winter Haven hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Winter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Winter Haven Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winter Haven Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing