We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in Its Own Right; Different from Larger Churrascaria.”

Nelore Churrascaria
Ranked #90 of 331 Restaurants in Winter Park
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Buffet, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Nelore Steakhouse is a fine dining Authentic Brazilian Steak House, named after Brazils most famous breed of cattle. At nelore we believe the gaucho style of servign sets us apart from other steakhouse. "Gaucho" is the name given to Brazilian Cowboys who have been roasting meat over open flames for centuries. In traditional Brazilian style, our gauchos serve up to 15 cuts of the finest meat available; including steak, checken, lamb and more.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
159 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent in Its Own Right; Different from Larger Churrascaria.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Nelore Churrascaria is not a smaller version of Texas de Brazil, a larger rival chain located in the tourist corridor of International Drive to attract one-time visitors . Nelore is excellent in its own right with its own distinctive ambiance and service. We were a party of four superannuated adults, enticed by a soon to expire $50 Groupon (cost $25) to drive over an hour from Lakeland.

The restaurant is in the upscale shopping area of Winter Park close to Rollins College. The interior is that of a good local restaurant frequented by loyal patrons who enjoy its quiet ambiance and value. But, that does not mean it is cheap or that much different from its larger rival in that respect. The total cost was about $45 per person including tip, one bottle of wine, and bottled water after the $50 Groupon was deducted.

The salad bar is, perhaps, smaller but has items that require more preparation such as grilled eggplant, thin sliced zucchini and yellow squash. The eggplant, thick slices embedded with small cubes of vegetables, was exceptional. There were far more items than could be skillfully placed on the large cool dinner plates. I cannot stand hot plates for salad! The salmon was of the lox variety, hot smoked and low in salt, i.e. the better grade in most people's opinion. For a restaurant that seats slightly above 100, the salad bar was exceptional!

There were several selections of good relatively inexpensive wines of which we had a cabernet. But, if you are rich, or think you are, the most expensive wines were well over a thousand dollars. They also had large bottles of San Pelligrino mineral water, a favorite of mine.

The meat servers made the rounds less frequently than at a larger churrascaria, but frequently enough that once the red circles were exposed we never lacked. Sadly, they do not have lamb chops, but essentially everything else. Perhaps that accounts for the six-dollar lower price per meal. One member of our party asked for well-done beef and they quickly obliged. The wait staff was professional, unobtrusive and exhibited a good sense of humor. Because of the Groupon, the tip, probably 18%, was added to the bill.

We thoroughly enjoyed our leisurely two-hour-plus dinner; there was no feeling of being rushed. As usual, we overate and left no room for dessert. We will definitely go to Nelore again and I think they were wise to use Groupon to entice folks to try them. Otherwise we would not have discovered this gem of a restaurant in Winter Park.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    60
    33
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Meatopia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you enjoy a good piece of grilled meat whether it be beef, lamb, pork or chicken you will love Nelore Churrascaria! The restaurant is located on a side street in Winter Park just off the main shopping street. We went there as a family to celebrate a birthday and found the service to be excellent, the wine list more than adequate, and the food varieties fresh in both appearance and taste. After being seated by the hostess she explained that we simply needed to go up to the side dish buffet and select items from a lovely crab bisque soup and some lovely fresh salad items to grilled or steamed vegetables and some creamy mashed potatoes. There was also a nice antipasti section of prosciutto, ham, salami and two large cheese wheels of Romano or Parmigiano that you could cut a chunk out of to go with the antipasti on your plate. Back at the table when you are ready you simply turn over the round marker to the side of your place setting to indicate to the waiters that you are ready for your meat...then you just sit back and wait for the parade of meat choices that arrive at your table on long skewers held vertically by the waiter who then slices off a piece of meat of your choice and as much as you wish while you take the set of tongs at your place setting and grab the slice of meat onto you plate. This continues till you turn your marker onto the other side that indicates you have had enough for now. Once you have eaten an array of meats including various types of beef, lamb, pork and chicken all cooked perfectly there is still dessert to be had. I must admit we had cocktails instead...the cocktail of the day was something like a Mojito and was absolutely delicious and refreshing...if a bit expensive at $10...but then I don't get out for cocktails often so perhaps that is the going rate. Anyway, our family included only adult children and us...but there were children present in the restaurant. My only concern with that is there are waiters constantly bringing out meat on skewers and carry sharp carving knives along with them to the tables so please monitor your small children's behavior in order to avoid any accidents! There was one family with small children there who did not do so and to be truthful I was a nervous wreck that the child would get skewered by one of the waiter's knives and I didn't relax till they left the restaurant...which thankfully was about 20minutes after we arrived. Bottom line...if you love meat, you'll love Nelore!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanneDSebring_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Fi rst time there staff was great, In fact they were around our table a lot!!!, some were back 3-4 time. Salad bar was GREAT We were there for 2 hrs, never felt rushed would love to go back

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weezeybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I arrived at the restaurant at 830 pm and they were already closing. They refused to serve me and my husband stating that they were closing. I had called earlier in the day and asked for the closing hours. We were told 9 pm last table was served. I wonder how they are still in business. The turn business away no wonder they have to close their doors down before closing time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biabrazil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great selection, right price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Been to "Brazilian" restaurants before.........this one is the best. Great salad bar, they claim 17 kinds of meat, after the first 5 I gave up........the best beef ribs I have had in a long time, tender and more flavorful than any Texas smoked Brisket around. Most attentive service, they just hover over you and offer one skewered selection after another. Great wine selection as well. The $36.00 per person is well worth it. Atmosphere great for conversation although Brazilian background music is not my idea of dinner music. All in all a great evening. I should have stopped eating 2 days before showing up at the place. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nelore Churrascaria also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Nelore Churrascaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing