We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cheap Mexican Eats”
Review of Tijuana Flats

Tijuana Flats
Ranked #112 of 337 Restaurants in Winter Park
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Healthy
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Cheap Mexican Eats”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We frequent the Winter Park TF several times a month. Food is consistently good, service is always friendly and abundant. We like coming here with our two young children because of it's lively, family atmosphere (aka loud!). The sauce bar is fun and you can enjoy a Corona with your taco - sorry Chipotle! Looking forward to our next visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Sunshine5005, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you and your family love visiting our Winter Park location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Need more Meat”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

The crunchy tacos needed more meat. The pork was very good. Would get soft tacos instead. Not that great overall. Good service nice sauces.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEvoyeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your review, LEvoyeur. We're glad to see that you enjoyed the pork tacos. We would love to hear your suggestions or comments for improvement. Please email us at Social@TijuanaFlats.com with further details so that we can address your ideas. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fresh and fast but don't call this "fast food".”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great place to grab a quick bit or pick up dinner on the way home. Sign up for their emails and you will often receive coupons for BOGO deals. Also, there is Taco Tuesday which is a great price as well. Favorite items are refried bean quesadilla or nachos. Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReneeFlorida27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thanks for the great review, @ReneeFlorida27. Our emails are definitely worth signing up for! Come back soon for more quesadillas and nachos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“All items made to order! Fresh ingredients!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Great Fast food restaurant. The food is fresh, zero trans fat in cooking oil, fresh beans(no cans), Lard free, all chicken breast, carnitas & steak are hormone-free, whole wheat & low-fat options. The decor is super quaint. Found out this location owner also owns Tibby's here in Winter Park. I spoke to the two managers Michelle and Carlos, they were very helpful, educative. This restaurant is kept very clean, and staff is very friendly, service oriented. Must make it here for Taco Tuesdaze, 2 Tacos, chips, & drink for $4.99! On Throwback Thursday the Tijuana Burrito, chips & drink for $5.99! Tijuana Flats has a Hot Bar, which is loaded with amazing, sauces, warning...use at your own risk these sauces are extremelly hot! They do serve wine and beer, beside other soft drinks. They take pride on their freshness in ingredients, which is notice when you eat the food here. The restaurant story was that a kid Brian Wheeler open his first restaurant, not knowing the industry, he was broke; luckily his parents were not, after much begging, Brian's dad loaned him $20,000 and he stablishment in Winter Park. In 1999 he caught the eye of Camp Fitch who left retirement to become partner and chairman of Tijuana Flats. The reluctant dad who loaned his son $20,000; Chester Wheeler left a 30 yrs. old career at a Fortune 500 company to become CFO of Tijuana Flats. It has now over 75 restaurants Tijuana Flats gives back to the community, in 2007 they stablished the Just in que so Foundation, over $500,000 to give back for those in need. There message is: "to all college kids or parents of college kids out there, remember success isn't something you can gain over night. It's something you can gain over many nights at college bars" very cute and real story! We loved the quesadilla with fresh beans, the beef tacos, the fish tacos. You can get their home salsa by asking the servers in front. It is very good food, great atmosphere, very clean, friendly staff and super winner story! Congrats, we highly recommend this Tijuana Flats and sister Restaurant Tibby's. we sure will return when visiting Aloma, in Winter Park, Orlando FL

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TijuanaFlats, Public Relations Manager at Tijuana Flats, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
@MJ778, thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing and detailed review. We really do pride ourselves in our fresh food and great customer service. Glad you have enjoyed your experience with us and we hope you keep coming back for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing service- great food!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We visited Tiajuana Flats on vacation when we were looking for a lunch stop. It happened to be Tuesday. We were immediately greeted and told about the special Tuesday deal, how to order, the sauces... And then were given a free order of chips and salsa because it was our first time. Service continued to be amazing. Fast, checked in on least 7 times by 4 different staff- refilling drinks, saying hi, did you try the salsas? Etc- and all in a fun and helpful way. The ceiling tiles are cool, the fun names for the sauces... The music, the singing cook. My teenage daughter loved the place! And the food was fresh and good!! We needed directions and the manager got his iPhone out and mapped it for us. My were asked if we wanted to take the chips and salsa home- we said yes- and they took the salsa in back and filled up the container!! Amazing!! We will try to go back there again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MNSheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tijuana Flats also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Tijuana Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing