We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and debateable food”

Dexter's in Winter Park
Reserve with OpenTable
Dexter's in Winter Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 337 Restaurants in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Four locations conveniently located in Winter Park, Windermere, Thornton Park, and Lake Mary. Since 1984 Dexter's chefs have used only the freshest and locally sourced ingredients to prepare our creative cuisine. For wine enthusiasts you'll find our selection of wines from around the world to be extensive and very reasonably priced.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Poor service and debateable food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Visited the new Dexter's in Windermere. Service was not very good and the food at our table of six was hit and miss. Kids food was terrible and a signature dish "Chicken Tortilla pie" was one of the worst things I have ever eaten. Spoke to manger who said the chef throughout the spaghetti sauce and started a new batch and that the Tortilla pie was not their best dish on the menu but had been there for 15 years. If you stick with the alcohol only you might come out ok.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    84
    33
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My family has been here quite a few times and it really is Hit or Miss. The last time we went, everything was excellent and we all enjoyed our meals. I had a seafood special that was fantastic. This time we went and I ordered the Grilled Mahi sandwich which fell way short. There was a little piece of fish that didnt even fill up the bun, with some lettuce and tomato and a little cup of chopped tomatoes and cucumbers. I ordered the daily soup special which never came, so I just had it taken off the bill. The description on the menu WAY over sold the reality. Two others in our party ordered the Salmon special and really liked it alot. Other than the "no show" soup, the service was great, and the price is pretty reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dexter's Windermere FL”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This Windermere establishment is not yet on TripAdvisior... Visited this place hoping for a good experience, after having been to the Winter Park FL location several times. It is just like the one in Winter Park - basically a bar that tries to serve flood with a slightly different flair. Food was not anything special. Had the Buccatini with Chicken. It was a somewhat mushy - way too much sauce, but the chicken had good flavor. The side salad with creamy Feta dressing was acceptable but nothing past ordinary. Service was a bit slow. Ambiance was not to my liking - typical bar; noisy as hell. The location will make this a place for the locals. I will try it again for lunch, and maybe also for another dinner. Overall, this places average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food in nice surroundings”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to Dexter's. First time was several months ago.
First impression this time was not good, though. When we first entered the restaurant the hostess didn't know where our party was. They had already sat down and even a description of them didn't seem to matter. Nope, she had no idea if anyone like that was already there. This was simply unprofessional. At least make some effort! After we located our friends (who said they had had an extensive conversation with the hostess, btw) we were greeted by a friendly young waiter who was quite efficient. Our drink orders were taken but it took several minutes to get the drinks. That wasn't great. We were all positively impressed by our food. There is a large variety of dishes on the menu and everyone ordered something completely different. I ordered the Eggplant Napoleon which is a decadent, more cheesy version of Eggplant Parmesan. I did notice our entrees arrived before we were finished with our salads. That is always an indication of cluelessness on part of the wait staff...so a star off for that and the hostess not doing her job well. All of the food was wonderful, and food quality and taste to me are important enough to cancel out some of the other issues encountered. The decor is really quite nice. I dig the wood flooring and the slightly rustic look!! Want to go back again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dexter's - Lake Mary, Fla. - Do not waste your $$$”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Dexter's is right across from a GREAT restaurant Liam Fitzpatrick's where we ate Saturday night, Sunday tried to go italian but the place was closed so went to Dexter's BAD MOVE - the only way to describe Dexter's is BLAHHH!!! - décor cafeteria style but a nice exterior, nice looking bar but fast food - the owners have no idea of anything it has no personality no anything - this place should be gone in a year RIP Dexter's - oh had the Duck grilled sandwich - NO FLAVOR but the bread was nice and crispy - but not worth 12.99, partner had chicken parm pasta - could make this at home for $2.98 - if you are in the area - GO TO LIAM FITZPATRICK'S IT IS DA BOMB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dexter's in Winter Park also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Dexter's in Winter Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing