We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Experience at White Oak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Oak Conservation Center

White Oak Conservation Center
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Yulee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Oak Conservation Center is one of the world's premiere wildlife breeding, research, and training facilities. The Center, located along the St. Mary's River in northeast Florida, spans 600 acres and is surrounded by 6,800 acres of pine and hardwood forest and wetlands.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience at White Oak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I learned about White Oak quite by accident 3 days before a business trip to Jacksonville and I was pinching myself at that random stroke of luck the whole time I was there. Visiting White Oak, experiencing the amazing hospitality of the staff and seeing the incredible work they are doing with endangered species was nothing short of incredible. There are many rare animals at White Oak that you would probably never see on safari in Africa. If you find yourself in Jacksonville or anywhere in that neck of the woods, I would highly encourage you to visit this beautiful facility and experience all it has to offer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Glindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class facility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our family, ages 6 to 75, stayed for two nights at the Tree House. Cannot give it high enough ratings, from the lodging to meals, educational tours to keeper for a day, welcoming staff to stunning surroundings...this place has it all. Two of our group did the keeper for a day and said it was an experience of a lifetime. Everyone at White Oaks is knowledgeable about the history of the buildings as well as the breeding of the animals....you can tell right away that they love what they do and want you to love it too. The six year old wants her next birthday to be there and the 17 year old has decided it would be perfect for a wedding someday.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank roseeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Indescribable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Didn't know White Oak (WO) could even be reviewed..has, up until recently, been exclusive and unavailable to the public. Owned by the Gilman Foundation (sold within the past wk to another foundation), it has been a very important endangered species conservation center..has had a powerful impact on cheetahs, rhino, and opaki. WO is indescribable in all the ways you can imagine. The only way you are going to see what is available up close at WO is to fly to Kenya, Tanzania, or Botswana and btw, plan to spend $30K for two...in light of that, the very modest cost of WO is embarrassingly low. The villas, food, staff, animal care group, etc. are all absolutely world class. Really tough to compare this with anything outside a top level safari trip to Africa. Amazing

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank jimdavisAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rare and endangered species”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is a gem in America. Presidents go here. The rare and endangered animals are second to none on the planet and the care of the conservation area is known throughout the world. This is a place of peace on the St. Mary's River, the former home of Howard Gilman, and a place of respite - the hard work is making sure endangered species are kept alive for our children and grandchildren. Not to be missed - private - take a group, pay for it, and go - it is the experience of a lifetime.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank joanelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Worth the trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

At first I thought it was a little expensive but after out visit I concluded it was well worth it. A very interesting, unusual, and fun experience. We got to see the baby cheetahs, and feeding the giraffe was wild - it almost lifted me up off the ground. It was a little cold during our visit, so many of the animals were in shelters for their safety, but our guide made sure we got to see almost the entire range of animals on the sprawling grounds. Alllow 15 minutes to get to the tour spot from the highway - it's in a beautiful, secluded area right on the St. Mary's river. Old Florida at its finest!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank srjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Oak Conservation Center also viewed

 

Been to White Oak Conservation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing