We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
Fla
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Escape”
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We started going to Blood Mountain Cabins years ago when our boys were small. We have returned several times since because our city-bred boys really enjoy being outdoors in the mountains. The cabins are reasonably priced, comfortably furnished, quiet, and beautifully located close to a popular section of the Appalachian Trail. The proprietor couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. We have stayed in the winter (fireplace works great) and summer (when it is much cooler than many places in the south) and have enjoyed both seasons. Great for families.

I recommend a creekside cabin, especially if you have children. The creek is shallow, and a real attraction for kids.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UofFlaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    20
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlinville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2006

Stayed in Racoon cabin on my birthday. That night a mouse crawled right into bed with me! Next day I checked the cabinets and they were full of mouse droppings, several weeks worth at least. Tried to contact the owner but he was gone, so I set up my own traps and caught several mice. Otherwise the cabin was comfortable and I had some good hikes on the AT.

  • Liked — Close to hiking trails.
  • Disliked — Mice and mice droppings.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a motel in town.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank goatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloodmtn, Owner at Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Blood Mountain Cabins is located in the middle of the Chatahoochee National Forrest 14 miles from the nearest town. There will always be animals in the area and they get in if guests leave doors open. The owners live on site and rarely leave the property.They are glad to provide mouse traps or move a guest to another cabin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2006

Went to Blood Mtn while our school system was on a fall break 9-18-2006. So it was quite up there in that area normally its busy. We got the Rabbit cabin by the little stream and yes you are close to the road, trucks can be loud but it was quieter this time of year than it was while we camped down the road in June. Looking at other cabin prices its a good deal on the wallet. I never stayed in a cabin like this poss rustic one as a kid . It had that cabin smell so take Lysol or frebreeze to spray curtains and cloth chairs........ It really needed a sturdy couch or better futon that it did. The loft was great to hear the rain beds were good but one problem. Bedroom downstairs no room to walk for a big person at foot of bed. The bed takes up whole room and walking in front is very tight. Another complaint grill yipes. Needs to be thrown away there was a better one at the cabin store IF WE HAD GRILLED I WOULD HAVE ASK TO TRADE, Hopefully the one at rabbit will get trashed.
The view was nice, we had a fire in the fireplace. Plenty of good pots to cook with, yes mixed forks n stuff but who cares. Nice stove and good ref. for the food. Some wear to the fan above the stove so that needs to be replaced bad, so to make it look better.
Shower is tight but plenty of towels never had a problem there . Many hotels that can be a problem. Its not a hotel so they do not make your beds or clean up until you leave. Which was fine with me, I even ran the vacume one day..........George who helps run the place is a great , nice guy very helpful what to do etc and in this post I will tell you a few things. His store has a few things, like can sodas, fire supplies, trinkets to buy. But head north 3 miles to Sunrise for apples, home made jelly, icecream, tomatoes, fishing things etc. Sunrise place to stop for sure to look around. Pappys on the River a few miles north, eat at Suzzane's on the river, nice view of Nottley while eating GREAT food, good price! While there get popcorn, fudge at a shop,maybe float on tubes. For falls See High Shoals better than Heaton falls, see Dicks creek falls too, go to Brasstown Bald, Vogel state park or Lake Scott for fishing. There are plenty of trails to pick, if your able walk do Blood Mountain, we wanted to do Raven Cliffs but 2.3 miles and underdeveloped. Helen is a tourist trap.Go to the "Gold Mine Town "lots to see on their square, eat , shops , wine store etc.
* check out their Green Mansion Cabins a little more costly by same people.*

  • Liked — fireplace, deck, woods
  • Disliked — bed size problem and furniture
  • Tips/Secrets — get up early do a lot of hiking. cook light and easy
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2004

The cabins weren't bad. They were rustic and furnished with the bare necessities. There are three very, very important things you need to know if you stay there. #1 - The main highway is only about 150 feet below your cabin. You WILL hear constant traffic especially trucks and motorcycles. So if you're looking for a peaceful serene setting, forget it. But if you keep the windows shut and the air on, you don't hear it too much but that defeats the purpose for me. #2 - The cabin is old. There are areas in the floor that sink and we even felt a hole in the flooring through the laminate. There are also support joists that have come loose. I was worried the first day but eventually gained confidence in the stability of the cabin. #3 - If you are a cook (as I am) and will be providing the meals, bring your own skillets, knives and other necessities. The cabin has no large knives, the non-stick coating on the pans is gone and there are no grill tools. By the way, the grill is acceptable; rusty, but acceptable with a good scrubbing.

The view is marvelous. A large deck provides a breathtaking view of the mountains. The cabin is also very close to many major attractions.

All in all, it's not a bad deal for the price (I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal). Oh yeah, if you rely on the TV for your entertainment...forget it. We had an 11-year-old with us and it was hard to see his DVD movies on the teensy-tiny screen.


Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2003

Beautiful Scenery. Very nice proprietor. Cabins are charming and very reasonably priced!

Helpful?
10 Thank loudhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 March 2003

My husband and I stayed at Blood Mountain Cabins and loved it. We went back a couple of years later with our kids and they loved it too. All the cabins are neat and clean. They all have spectacular views. The people who run the place are the nicest. There are tons of things to do...hiking, fishing, waterfalls, horseback riding with the most incredible views. There are fireplaces and lofts in the cabins, full kitchens and TV's with VCR that was great for the kids. Grills and rocking chairs on the porches with excellent views. If you can catch the leaves changing, it is beautiful.

Helpful?
27 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairsville
19.2 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
11.0 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
18.2 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
657 reviews
21.7 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
344 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store

Property: Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
Address: 12829 Gainesville Hwy, U.S. Hwy. 19 & 129, Neel's Gap, Blairsville, GA 30512-7635
Region: United States > Georgia > Blairsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Blairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cabins are at a 3,000 foot elevation and the temperature never gets over 81 in the summer. We are next to the Appalachian Trail and surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful drives. Some cabins are on secluded roads and one is on the river. Some have jacuzzi tubs for 2 people. The owners are available to help you find the activities you want such as: fishing, tubing, hiking,& swimming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blood Mountain Cabins And Country Store
Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store Hotel Blairsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing