We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very homey and comfortable! Just what we were looking for.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blairsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very homey and comfortable! Just what we were looking for.”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I rented this cabin to see the fall color with two other women. There were 3 of us, all women in our 50's. It was absolutely perfect. George, who manages the property, was very helpful and accommodating. Yes, I have stayed at much nicer hotels and cabins but this one was very cozy and rustic. The price was reasonable too. We chose this one because it was safe and near other cabins. And because it is also close to shops, restaurants and scenic areas that we were looking to visit. We really enjoyed our stay! One other big bonus, we saw a young brown bear! He was in the woods, just outside our cabin, about 30 feet away. As I was safe on the balcony, I really enjoyed watching him. It was very cold at night so the fireplace kept the cabin nice and toasty! Beds were not the most comfortable and the futon, well I felt bad that my sister had to sleep there.

I did hear some complain about the highway noise. Though the cabin is near the highway, we weren't

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mountain Lion Cabin which is a good one to see the view of the mountain. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patstnt0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    19
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

First off, I'm not going to say we would never return. We stayed in one of the private vacation homes listed (that was all that was available). We went up to hike the blood mountain trail and these were these were the closest accommodations. We were happy to find out that there was a trail leading from the cabins right up to the Walasi-Yi Center, the start of the blood mountain trail. Awesome right! We could park, unload, then hike!
WRONG... the private vacation homes are 8 miles away! So no biggie we leave the car parked at check-in (the country store-really nice people and very helpful) and do our hike. We get back, grab some firewood bundles and head over to the cabin. If you did not bring any type of food with you the country store closes pretty early but there is another little store along the way that has tons of stuff even fresh produce!

So now the cabin...

Wood burning fireplace and jetted tub in master for two people...
Warning- the wood burning fireplace,smokes up the entire cabin (yes the flu was open)! You can see the black stains on the mantle from previous fires. We had to open the doors for a bit to air out!

Jetted tub- works- after you take off the wood panel, flip the breaker, AND (per instructions on wall by fridge- mind you) states that the hot water heater is not big enough to fill the tub up and then proceeds to tell you that you must fill the tub up half way, WAIT 30 MIN, then fill it up the rest of the way!! LOL!!! What is the point?! AND it tells you not to run the dishwasher and showers at the same time!
Two full bathrooms and a jetted tub and dishwasher- place sleeps 6 people- um... put in a bigger water heater! LOL!
I guess the only other complaint would be cleanliness. We aren't overly obsessive people but I was a little grossed out. The fridge door had rust stains all over it, the floors and rugs looked like they have been vacuumed, place was overall pretty dusty, and the coffee pot was yuck, just little things you notice...

Okay positives- we did enjoy ourselves and I liked the decor which they have updated since the posted pictures, it was quiet, and the front porch was nice. The twin beds were up in this loft thing and there were some games up there (great for kids) and the TV worked. We cooked dinner, they had all the pans and dishes to accommodate, so it was completely unbearable.

Like I said I wouldn't say I would never return for a second try but to say we were overly impressive is an overstatement.

Pics below are directly from their website.
http://bloodmountain.com/cabins/gm1/index.php

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscdailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloodmtn, Owner at Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Blood Mountain Cabins has 23 properties that we rent. If you want to be next to the Appalachian Trail, you need to rent one of the 14 cabins on our property. If none of these cabin is available, you can stay in one of the private homes we manage and park on our property to get to the Trail.
All of the private homes are different and can be viewed on our website with a virtual tour. If you are not happy with the cabin you rent, you should ask the owners to move you to a different cabin and we are glad to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed the night before we hiked the AT and the night we returned from the trail. We stayed in the Fox cabin. The cabin had 2 beds, a living room area and dining area, a kitchen and bathroom with a small shower with great water pressure. We were warm and comfortable on both nights of our stay. We could hear and see the small creek from our balcony. George is a wonderful, helpful host. Yes, there is road noise during the day but it is very quiet at night. I would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsofalifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

First of all, try to deal with the gentleman who owns and runs this place. His wife who generally runs the desk is not very friendly and seemingly has a very negative attitude which just about made us want to stay somewhere else!! If it weren't for her husband recovering the conversation, we would have split. It used to be a pretty cool place to stay but has become quite worn over the years. Can be a bit dangerous for bikers to enter and exit here as well. Would we stay here again? Probably not, unfortunately :( Just be advised that this is a very difficult place to bring a bike trailer into as well.. Little to no turn around space. FYI

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloodmtn, Owner at Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We have been here 21 years and 90 % of our business is from return customers. We are located on the side of a mountain and there are only a few of our cabins that work for a bike trailer. . We are trying to figure out how we have changed over the years. Our cabins have been upgraded both inside and out.. As you can see from many other reviews, most people tell us we are friendly and helpful. If a customer is unhappy we try to offer one of our private homes that we rent or we call around to help the customer find a place more to their liking. It is too bad this guest did not ask us to help him find something else. There is no way we can change our driveways , so a guest needs to tell us if he or she is bringing a trailer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Loved it!
Can't wait to go back,three of us ladies went,me,sis and my daughter pat.
I'm 70 my sis is 68,it was a trip to celebrate milestones,50 year wedding anniversies,was one of them,though both our husbands have passed on.
We hiked Blood mtn. the first day,
Went to vogel music festival on 9-14 sat.
Hiked levelland mtn.ate at smokin joe's.at the end of such active days the little cabin just wrapped it's arms around us and took care of us.As for the proprietor and his wife it would take up to much space to say how wonderful and helpful they are! We enjoyed a roaring fire the last night we stayed,yes there is a lot of traffic noise,but it's sort of the flavor of being dug into the side of a mountain,eighteen wheelers and motorcycles are just a part of where you are.
This was our first stay at Blood mountain and country store,but God willing it won't be our last!
"Happy Camper"Mary from Marietta Ga.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This review is for the store part of the property. We stopped in just on a whim. Had a nice chat with the proprietor and enjoyed petting the cats. I bought a few touristy items (magnet, postcards, etc). A lot of the store is dedicated to rocks/collecting. Not my particular cup of tea, but definitely worth a visit. Gorgeous views everywhere.

Also, ask the owner about the falls just down the road. They're visible after a very short trek off a country lane. Beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gala62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived late Friday night on Fathers Day weekend, the key for the cabin was waiting for us near the store. The cabin was warm and clean, full fridge, oven, microwave. We hiked 21 miles of the AT 14 of them being on Sunday, the temperature at the start of our hike was 15 degrees. It was nice coming back to a nice warm shower and building a nice fire. We'll definitely be back and would recommend Blood Mountain Cabins to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jtobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blairsville
10.1 mi away
Best Western Milton Inn
Best Western Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
17.5 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
18.2 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
21.7 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store

Property: Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
Address: 12829 Gainesville Hwy, U.S. Hwy. 19 & 129, Neel's Gap, Blairsville, GA 30512-7635
Region: United States > Georgia > Blairsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Blairsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cabins are at a 3,000 foot elevation and the temperature never gets over 81 in the summer. We are next to the Appalachian Trail and surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful drives. Some cabins are on secluded roads and one is on the river. Some have jacuzzi tubs for 2 people. The owners are available to help you find the activities you want such as: fishing, tubing, hiking,& swimming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blood Mountain Cabins And Country Store
Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store Hotel Blairsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing