We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in a beautiful setting”
Review of Aska Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Ridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aska Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Blue Ridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have stayed at bed & breakfasts all over the world but this was by far our best experience. The owners' hospitality was second to none. You really felt like you were staying in someone's home! The bed and sheets were sooo comfortable giving us the much needed rest we desired. Lastly, Blue Ridge is a small town but there is plenty to do if you love eating at great restaurants and exploring the outdoors.

I highly recommend this B&B - make sure you request the french toast! Yum...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

B for beds: The Beds have the most comfy sheets and blankets! Not to mention the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms that were off the charts!
B for breakfast: day 1 was a spinach frittata with fresh fruit and toast. Homemade preserves were available for the toast. My husband and I enjoyed it immensely and were still full far after lunch time.
Day 2 was upside down pineapple French toast, fresh fruit and bacon. Another amaZing dish!! I bought the cookbook but am afraid to try the recipe! Don't want to spoil the memory of the real thing!!
For anytime enjoyment there were complimentary sodas, snacks and homemade baked goods such as blackberry cake with cream cheese frosting and rum cake!! All readily available in a welcoming den with cable tv, free wifi, board games, a library, and jigsaw puzzle; just in case you don't care for the porches, scenic nature views and bird watching in the front yard.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garytammiluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

You will not regret a stay at this lovely mountain retreat. Located close to the town of Blue Ridge, there are endless outdoor activities to engage in. But if you would rather relax, and read a good book, this is the place to be. The food is simply yummy (best word we can think of to describe it). The "more than ample" breakfast is announced the night before, which makes you want to eat breakfast rather than dinner. A home baked cake and snacks are available 24/7, with a choice of hot or cold beverages. The innkeepers, Janet and Rick, take care if you as if you were royalty. And, the price is reasonable. What more could one ask for...? We are sure Janet and Rick will figure it out and offer it!

Room Tip: 4 rooms - 2 large and 2 medium. If you need space, the large rooms are ideal. One has a small balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at the Aska Lodge in early June for a few days while visiting my Father and Step Mother who are retired in Blue Ridge. My wife and I currently reside in the Pacific Northwest in Portland, Oregon. We had stayed at the Aska twice before but this was the first time with the new owners Rick and Janet. We had an absolutely wonderful time and the Aska was the perfect little get away at the end of each day to chill and get a good nights rest. It was a pleasure to visit and converse with Rick, Janet, and another lovely couple that were staying at the Lodge. The breakfasts each morning were simply amazing! Recommending the Aska goes without question, a diamond in the Blue Ridge mountains.
Cheers, Dave and Robyn Anderson

Room Tip: The Hummingbird room has an amazing wrap around balcony with a gorgeous view of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My rating is really a 4.5, or Very, Very Good.

Quick Summary: Excellent and plentiful food (both breakfast and snacks throughout the day), large spacious rooms, fantastic hosts who will accommodate any request, great location close to nice trails and the town, great bedding and towels, and spotlessly clean facility. The reason I didn't give it a 5 was because the bed was a little uncomfortable. Every time my spouse moved I felt like I was on a trampoline. I'm sure a good foam mattress topper will help until they can replace the mattress. NOTE: The owners have cats. While they don't go upstairs into the guest rooms they occasionally pass through downstairs in the common area, which could impact those with allergies.

Detailed review: As all other reviewers have noted, Janet and Rick have done a great job transitioning a top notch B&B into...a top notch B&B. They took over management a little over a year ago, but you would think they've been running it for years.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Janet, who walked us through the routine. They have free tea, coffee, hot coco, sodas, water and snacks (granola bars, candy) available to the guests 24-7. Janet also makes some delicious cake every day in the afternoon, so we enjoyed a blueberry cake one day and some crazy decadent chocolate carmel thing the next. In fact, that was our lunch one day after hiking. You will not go hungry here. No TVs in the rooms, but a TV is available downstairs with a good variety of movies. Free wi-fi throughout the place.

They have maps of everything imaginable available for you to take with you, and the phone numbers of every place to eat in town so you can get a reservation at those popular places on the weekends. While we don't have dietary restrictions, other guests did and they bent over backwards to accommodate--from making food with soy milk rather than regular milk to making entirely different breakfasts for those with gluten issues. And they were happy to do it. It's clear these folks love to be hosts and ensure their guests have every comfort available.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable with very nice lighting. Fantastic bedding, which apparently they sell. Great water pressure. Great wi-fi. They are all situated along one hall upstairs, but we heard minimal noise from the other guests. Each room also comes with a white noise machine to cover any noise you may hear. As noted above, the only negative about the room was the comfort level of the bed. This, of course, is subjective, but at this price point, we expected a high quality mattress. It didn't sag and was firm. The issue is that it was a spring mattress where if there is any movement on the bed, the whole bed reacts like a trampoline. A 2" foam mattress topper could help significantly with that issue.

The location is fantastic. A 10 minute drive to the main street of blue ridge. A 10 minute drive to the Aska trail system. A 45 minute drive to Amicalola Falls (although if coming from Atlanta, stop here on the way to/from the city since it's on the way). It's also quiet, so we opened the windows and enjoyed having the birds wake us up.

You really can't go wrong here. It's a wonderful B&B run by caring owners who want their guests to switch off and relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColoradoRic, Owner at Aska Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you so very much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we very much enjoyed having you here. As former innkeepers with a 5 star track record and all 5 star reviews since we've owned the Aska Lodge… we'd like to address the issue where our cats are concerned. We do not ever let them in our guest rooms, and only our 7 month old kitten will occasionally dart into the great room. He's a kitten and very curious. We are extremely cautious about our cats where guests are concerned, never knowing when someone could be allergic. We sincerely apologize for him getting out a couple of times as we are very vigilant about the whereabouts of our cats. We try so hard to be very careful about the possibilities of allergies, we use all hypo-allergenic bedding as well as unscented laundry detergent and fabric softeners. Where the bedding is concerned, when we moved into the lodge September of 2013, we replaced all of the mattresses with high memory foam mattresses, not to mention we also replaced all of the pillows, sheets, blankets, and comforters. We even sleep on the same bedding as our guests! That's how much trust we have in what we purchased for our guests to sleep on. We very much love what we do, and try 110% to make sure that all of our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. We would only hope that if there is an issue, any issue, while you are here, that you'd please let us know right away so that we can do all in our power to make your stay more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from our amazing long week end at the Aska Lodge .
We couldn't ask for a better, beautiful ,relaxing ,charming and super clean place .Janet and Rick the owners made us feel at home from the moment we arrived as guest until the day we left as friends . The location is amazing ,very easy access , delicious gourmet breakfast ,super comfortable bed sheets and beautiful cozy decor .
So far the BEST B&B we have ever stayed .
We will be back soon :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hosts Janet and Rick are amazing people. They've created a warm inviting atmosphere, from the comfortable common areas to the snack bar and of course the wonderful rooms.

Breakfast was amazing, cant wait to try out recipes from their cookbook!

The beds and bed linens are wonderfully comfortable. I cant remember a better nights sleep.

We had a great time meeting the other guests at breakfast, and touring Blue Ridge.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Ridge
2.3 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
1.6 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Blue Ridge
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
20.1 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
367 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ducktown Copper Inn
Ducktown Copper Inn
#2 of 2 in Ducktown
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aska Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aska Lodge B&B

Address: 178 Calen Dr, Blue Ridge, GA 30513-4947
Region: United States > Georgia > Blue Ridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Ridge
Price Range: £101 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four unique bedrooms, each with private bath, plush robes, and premium sheets & towels. Two miles from town yet perched on a mountain ridge with incredible view. Full home cooked breakfast featuring such specialties as Pineapple French Toast or a Frittata. Gathering room with dartboard, games, fireplace, snack center with fesh baked cake or pie and free wireless Internet! Area activities: white water rafting, tubing, fishing, horseback riding, and plenty of shops and restaurants. Come...Let us spoil you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing