We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the cookie jar!”
Review of Aska Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Ridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aska Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Blue Ridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, Kent, England. GB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“loved the cookie jar!”
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We don't know where to start with our review! The lodge is run by a friendly couple who make you feel at home the mometn you arrive. The big beds are very comfortable, the roosm spacious and the en suite bathrooms come complete with fluffy bathrobes.
Mary Jo's candlelit breakfasts are becoming renowned, as well as the portions and variety of menus. The communal area, complete with open fire, bottomless cookie jar and a fridge with free sodas made the whole place feel as if one was at home.
The town of Blue Ride nearby is wonderful, complete with a scenic railway to Copperhill where one can stand with one leg in Tennessee and the other in Georgia.
Only an hour and a half away from Atlanta one feels as if one is in a different world where people do have time to smile and say good day.

  • Liked — the position in a peaceful and quiet part of the country
  • Disliked — having to leave!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrOgh0pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
238
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ladycampbell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Aska Lodge is a perfect getaway for a romantic weekend or longer. The breakfasts were to die for. It was so quiet and relaxing. The common room was well thought out with a cozy conversation area around the fire, a gathering around the tv for movie watching, a game table and a bar with free snacks and drinks. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the balcony views were peaceful -- especially at night with all those stars. Blue Ridge was lot of fun to walk around. We went to the drive in for a movie, and were thoroughly pampered at Serenity in the Mountains spa. We're definitely going back.

  • Liked — the overall experience
  • Disliked — that i couldn't see to find the control for the temperature in the room, but i forgot to ask about that
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Aska Lodge for our anniversary November 8 - 10. It was the best way to spend our anniversary. Mary Jo and Bob were the best. They were so friendly and welcoming. It felt like a visit to our aunt and uncle's house. The decortaing style is very cozy and warm, not stuffy with antiques. I loved the chair by the fireplace, a great place to get some reading done. We had a lot of fun putting together a puzzle while there too. They have games and books and DVD's for people to use. Also there's a fridge with unlimited drinks and an unlimited cookie jar. The breakfast was awesome. So delicious. And of course Abbey was a great dog to have around, especially since we were missing our dog. The sweetest dog ever. My husband and I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — The warm and cozy atmosphere and the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was perfect.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bch005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We had a marvelous stay at Aska Lodge. It was quiet and relaxing -- just what the doctor ordered. Bob and Mary Jo treated us like royalty.

  • Liked — The personalized service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rp285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The weather and ambience was awesome

  • Liked — food and location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wine4moregeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Mary Jo and Bob Stamper could not have proveided a more pleasant stay in the North Georgia Mountains. They welcome guests as though they are family members, and treat them withthe utmost warmth and courtesy. They have learned from their own B & B overnights to provide for the small details which enhance everyone's overall experience. For a relaxing overnight stay, Askalodge cannot be beat.

Of the many B & B's at which we have stayed, this one ranks among the best. Truly five star.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jopathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Warm and inviting. This does not just describe the lodge, but our hosts as well, Mary Jo and Bob. The Aska Lodge had all the right touches and made our short stay special. Breakfast was served elegantly on the big dinning table and it was delicious. We stayed in the Jessica Lynn room which was complete with large jacuzzi right in our room. Very romantic. Quiet, pretty location and very welcoming. You feel so relaxed as soon as you enter. Great porch to admire the views and nice restaurant near by. I forget the name of it but Mary Jo will let you know. Wish we were there longer.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Ridge
2.3 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
1.6 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Blue Ridge
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Mountain View Inn
21.8 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
20.1 mi away
Amicalola Falls Lodge
Amicalola Falls Lodge
#1 of 4 in Dawsonville
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aska Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aska Lodge B&B

Property: Aska Lodge B&B
Address: 178 Calen Dr, Blue Ridge, GA 30513-4947
Region: United States > Georgia > Blue Ridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blue Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four unique bedrooms, each with private bath, plush robes, and premium sheets & towels. Two miles from town yet perched on a mountain ridge with incredible view. Full home cooked breakfast featuring such specialties as Pineapple French Toast or a Frittata. Gathering room with dartboard, games, fireplace, snack center with fesh baked cake or pie and free wireless Internet! Area activities: white water rafting, tubing, fishing, horseback riding, and plenty of shops and restaurants. Come...Let us spoil you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing