We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Ridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Above the Rest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have been renting cabins for years from Above the Rest. They are so easy to work with and so very friendly. The website is informative and their Facebook page alerts you to "deals" they
may be having on property. There are "extras" like slippers, bathrobes, music/lights turned on when you come to your cabin, and a goodie bag of yummies. Its a perfect place for some time away from everyday life. Cabins are clean, comfy and views are amazing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Above the Rest C, Owner at Above the Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Shawn, we adore when you and your family are on the mountain and we're glad you got to return to Plane View since it came back into the program! We enjoy pampering our guests and it's gratifying to hear that those touches are meaningful! Until we see you on your next venture up this way, be safe in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    14
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
133
118
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We have been going to the mountains with our pups for several years (like around 10 years). Every time we have rented through Above the Rest Cabins and they have a great list of cabins in every price range and we have stayed at several of them. If you want a nice relaxing trip to just soak in a hot tub and enjoy the company of your family this is for you!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Above the Rest C, Owner at Above the Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Liz, thank you for your review. We love being the place where folks kick back with their four-legged family members and just relax/reconnect. Thank you so much for being a loyal Above the Rest customer! We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We rented this cabin for a long weekend with our extended family. The folks at ATRC were very friendly and accommodating. My family has been renting cabins in Blue Ridge for sometime now and this one was our favorite. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Above the Rest C, Owner at Above the Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Katie, Thank you for using Above the Rest and for your review! We're so glad you were able to enjoy time with family and we hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great company! Easy to work with and very friendly staff. This is my second time using above the rest for a cabin weekend and I will continue to book with them! The cabins are clean, cozy, have beautiful views and all the amenities!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazclaiborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Above the Rest C, Owner at Above the Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are so grateful that you took the time to post this kind review, and to see that you are a "repeat offender" with Above the Rest! We look forward to serving you again and to meeting and exceeding your expectations! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We rented a lovely cabin for three days and two nights and enjoyed most of our stay at Above the Rest Cabins. However, we had just rented a cabin in the Smoky Mountains in Bryson City for four days and three nights and had an incredible view from a more rustic cabin, but the drive up to get to the cabin in Bryson City was a "white knuckle" driving experience because we felt like we might have fallen off of the mountain by one wrong twist or turn, but it was WORTH THE VIEW and more authentic experience of visiting the mountains. I prefer the Smoky Mountains in Bryson City and other areas in addition to the Blue Ridge Mountains surrounding Little Switzerland, NC. I find the mountain views more breathtaking to my heart and soul and enjoy their higher altitudes.

The cabin we rented in Above the Rest was very hard to find. We spent a few hours trying to find the cabin and spoke to a local off-duty paramedic in a convenience store who didn't understand the directions either. Our cell phones had no service in this area and we couldn't reach the rental managers. When we did find the cabin 3 hours later, it was almost midnight! The cabin was beautiful and very luxurious. We did enjoy the panoramic views at this cabin, but as I stated above, we prefer the views in other parts of the Blue Ridge and Smoky Mountains.

I also don't need a luxury cabin that has rules posted in large lettering in the main living room instead of artwork. It seems very cold and impersonal and takes away from the enjoyment of the vacation experience.

I wouldn't return to rent a cabin here, but if you are looking for a luxurious place to stay in Blue Ridge, Georgia, then this would be the place for you. I did enjoy the white robes and slippers that they gave us. It was a very nice touch for all of the other difficult parts of our journey and stay here.

Upon leaving, we were very stressed-out with them asking us to do quite a few things to the place before leaving with shocking the hot tub (couldn't find the chlorine, etc.) and making sure that everything was spotless. We leave our cabins as clean as we enter them, but with all of the rules posted in a few areas along with having to sign numerous documents that we were liable for.....it just wasn't worth the stressful stay here.

I would skip this and rent from more dramatic and beautiful mountain landscapes in the Smokies in Bryson City or Gatlinburg or in Little Switzerland / Boone / Blowing Rock areas of N. Carolina. Why not have drop dead views of the most beautiful mountains in the east?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingshoesbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Above the Rest C, Owner at Above the Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We thank this guest for taking the time to write a review, and for her glowing recommendation of our product and our attention to detail.

As the majority of this review focuses on a personal preference for geographic areas, I cannot comment except to say that Blue Ridge, GA is a unique and beautiful location, absent of the throngs of people often found in other areas, that caters to those who crave exciting outdoor adventure, upscale dining and shopping at reasonable prices, and peaceful environs.

I wish the reviewer had provided additional information on whether they had trouble finding our office, or their specific cabin, and whether they were using a GPS. As our mountain is private, we are very explicit in our instructions to our guests to *not* use any manner of GPS. We provide detailed (to the tenth of a mile) directions and those who follow them rave about their accuracy and how easy we make it.

Additionally, there is not one home in our program that has "rules instead of art" in the cabin! LOL. We post instructions for operating the gas fireplaces next to the fireplace. There is a book with helpful information and area activities in each home.

The shocking of hot tubs is necessary daily to prevent build of bacteria that can lead to folliculitis, a harmless but scary looking irritation of the hair follicles. The shock is kept either under the sink or by the tub, and guests are advised as to the locations upon check in. We are always available via telephone for support if needed.

Upon check out, we ask that guests start the dishwasher, put their garbage outside in the bins, turn the air/heat to a numerical setting that depends on the season, and lock the doors and windows. That's it! We do apologize if those requests were stressful to this guest.

Again, this guest appears to have had an overall very positive experience and we appreciate the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We just finished our second family getaway to Blue Ridge staying at an Above The Rest cabin. For a family looking to get away from it all, take a rest from the busy life and reset, this is the way to do it. Vacationing here gives you the opportunity to get "off the grid" and back to a simpler world, while still being as connected (if you want that) and somewhat pampered. The cabins are spectacular, having all the amenities of home combined with a resort AND incredible mountain views to boot. Hiking and nature watching on the gravel mountain roads are easy for the amateur hiker/photographer and wildlife is frequently seen. The owners/staff are friendly, outgoing and are quick to respond to any problems that do arise. I have and will continue to recommend this to my friends and family. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwbisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Above the Rest C, Owner at Above the Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We could not agree more with your review! Life has become so hectic and our mountain is a much needed respite from all of the daily noise. We are thrilled that you come here to do just that - kick back, relax, recenter. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We go to BR at least once a year and ALWAYS stay with Above The Rest! The entire experience is top notch from start to finish and has been every time. The website is customer friendly, reservation process is easy, check in and out is a snap, cabins are immaculate and well stocked, and they are Pet Friendly. My husband and I took our 2 dogs and 1 cat with us for the first time and had no issues. Our furr-babies made themselves at home and settled right in. The cabins are spacious so there is plenty of room for dogs (or human children) to run around without tearing up or breaking anything.
The cabins are all beautiful and have amazing views. We hardly left the cabin for 10 days because we were so relaxed and cozy. The beds and furniture are comfortable and all the cabins are tastefully decorated.
As good as this all sounds it isn't the best part. The BEST part is David and Jeanette Jenkins, owners of Above The Rest Cabins. They are the most pleasant, caring and helpful hosts of the "My Mountain" community. They have thought of everything their guests might possibly need or want. They go above and beyond for their guests to ensure each stay and each guest has the most amazing experience. They live on the mountain and are just a phone call or short ride/walk away if any issue arises (you can't figure out the remotes, you get lost, your fireplace won't turn on or your driveway is frozen, etc. help!) I have to admit, we have used them a couple of times...lol.
We have referred many people to Above The Rest and everyone has had the same things to say about their stay. Once we found Above The Rest we haven't stayed anywhere else and Never will.
Keep up the fantastic work!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guysweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Above the Rest C, Owner at Above the Rest Cabins, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for being loyal Above the Rest fans and clients! We were so glad you could escape here for Guy's recuperation and loved seeing y'all and meeting your two new fur-family members - how precious are they??!! Until we meet again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Ridge
4.2 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
24.5 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
5.8 mi away
Blue Ridge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above the Rest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above the Rest Cabins

Property: Above the Rest Cabins
Address: 1662 My Mountain Road, Morganton/Blue Ridge, Blue Ridge, GA 30513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Blue Ridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Blue Ridge
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgia mountain cabin rentals in the beautiful North Georgia Mountains. 8 Miles to historic downtown Blue Ridge. On-site property management here to assist you as needed. Outstanding service and extra touches you will not find anywhere else. Experience the best in Blue Ridge Georgia Cabins - Experience the Mountains at Above the Rest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Above The Rest Cabins Hotel Blue Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing