We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to our roots”
Review of Cosy Under Canvas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosy Under Canvas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Cosy Under Canvas nestles beautifully in established woodlands, surrounded by rolling hills and marsh land. Sheep dot the fields like white clouds against a green sky. The location is both peaceful and beautiful, with plenty of opportunities to walk and explore. With the exception of the family farmhouse a short walk up the hill, this site feels truly remote.

The site itself is well laid out, consisting of two tipees and three domes on various levels, all nicely spaced for privacy. The ground is natural and uneven, laid with wood chips left from tree maintenance. This did not present us with a problem, but may if you are unsteady on your feet. Wellies or walking boots are a must as the ground can get muddy. Each shelter has it's own tree bog toilet, ours even had a view. We stayed in Ash tipee and really enjoyed the whole experience, from cooking breakfast and lunch on the fire pit, to snuggling down under beautiful thick Welsh blankets in front of a toasty fire. The accomodation is comfortable and homely, furnished with locally sourced hand crafted furniture.

This experience really does take you back to nature. A fantastic opportunity to cook on open fires, shower under a tree canopy with water heated by a log fire. There is no electric, or phone signal, and the running water is from a spring. There is a communal kitchen which includes seating area. There is also a little activity area that has games, colouring stuff and nature packs, books and binoculars to watch wildlife. The kitchen is well stocked with equipment and recipe books for ideas and inspiration. The site is surrounded by wildlife and there are some lovely info boards telling you what creatures you might see.

The owners Emma & Dan, we're welcoming and helpful. A lovely touch was when Dan handed out on Easter Saturday hot cross buns made by a friend, and chocolate muffins made by Emma. This really is a family run business and they all work hard. It is easy to see why they won an award for Eco Tourism. Keep up the good work in supporting nature and the environment, while allowing visitors a slice of peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Showmesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmatCosy, Manager at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and really made the most of the outdoor experience (and enjoyed the Hot cross buns and cake!). It was a pleasure to welcome you to Cosy Under Canvas and we do hope to see you another time. Thanks again. Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just spent 5 fantastic days at Cosy Under Canvas. We stayed in one of the spacious domes in a beautiful setting in the woods, complete with outdoor hot tub. The dome was perfect with rustic furniture, log burner and the most amazing welsh wool blankets to keep you warm and snug. The kitchen and dinning area are shared with the other holiday makers, but there are only 2 other domes and 2 tipis, so you are not sharing with many people. We were rarely in the kitchen at the same time, but when we did the atmosphere was jovial and there was plenty of equipment and gas burners for all. We have stayed on a few glamping sites and this kitchen area is the best we have seen. So charming and a delight to cook in at night by candle light.

We have 2 boys aged 16 and 11 and it is sometimes difficult to find a holiday which appeals to both of them. This holiday was perfect for them. They loved the fire pits, and were happy to cook over the fire (burgers on the griddle and sausage stew in the pot - all equipment provided). For an additional fee you can book a hot tub with your dome. There is nothing like sitting in the tub, surrounded by trees and and looking up into the night sky. Each dome and tipi also has a hammock for laying back and watching the trees blow gently in the wind.

The location is great for walkers. You can walk straight from the site or as we did, take a short drive to one of the many car parks used by walkers in the area. We managed a trek up Pen Y Fan and Hay Bluff, both with absolutely stunning views. We also spent half the day canoeing on the river Wye, stopping a while on a beach for a well earned break. At this time of the year the river is not busy and so we lucky enough to have it to ourselves for the majority of the journey.

Back at Cosy Under Canvas there is a information area with leaflets about the local area, maps, games and lots to keep little ones occupied. The owners are also happy to advise on the local area if you have any questions. Our 11 year old loved the walk around the site down to the stream and den.

If you are looking for a holiday or break that takes you back to nature, gets you away from technology, and crowded places then this is the place to go. The perfect place to connect with your family, kick back and truly relax.

Room Tip: The domes are lovely and light. The section that has clear plastic gives a lovely view into the wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrazG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and that your sons enjoyed the experience too. Hope to see you another time. Emma x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. The set up is well thought through with a each of the tipis/domes located to give a sense of privacy while having the large communal kitchen dining area and cosy corner where you can hang out and enjoy the company of others.

Set in a beautiful woodland, with the rolling welsh hills as the backdrop it is hard not to feel the pace of life slow right down.

I stayed here for a weekend away with 15 others, so we had the whole site to ourselves. The owners were helpful and easy to access for any things we needed sorting out. Although the set up was such that there was little that we needed to bother them about during our three days stay.

Not only was it a great location for a big group of us I can imagine taking my young family to hire out one of the tipis and enjoying it thoroughly.

All in all it's a great location, great set up (hot tubs are a fantastic bonus) and allows you to really chill out and disconnect from an otherwise full on, technology loaded life.
I highly recommend it to all!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you will return with your family another time. Kind regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at Cosy Under Canvas in July 2013 for 3 nights, travelling with the family (2 young kids) and we stayed in a tipi. We loved the site, so peaceful and a real feeling of being close to nature. There were so many small touches that delighted us at every turn: the Cosy Corner for the kids and the special woodland exploration packs, the open air kitchen and coloured hanging tea-light holders, the wood-fired showers, the whole eco-perspective (I was fascinated by the willow wetland they'd created to drain waste water), the goats, Emma's homemade cupcakes and her husband's cider, cooking morning egg and bacon on the open fire, the sheepskin rug for my (then) 11-month old, lighting the stove in the tipi when it got a bit nippy ...

Travelling as a family with young kids it felt really good knowing that the site was fenced off (albeit inconspicuously) and that the kids had the freedom to roam around and explore the woods. The service from Emma was excellent too!

Room Tip: There are 3 tipis and two domes to choose from. We stayed in a tipi and from what I could see all 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishman_abroad265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the 'little touches'. We are also very pleased that your children enjoyed our woodland activity books too. Hope to see you another time. Kind regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed with my partner in July/August. Everything right from the booking through was so easy. We stayed in a dome which was gorgeous and 'cosy' is an apt description with the wood fired heater and the lovely furnishings. It was such a nice place surrounded by greenery, fresh air and wide open spaces, with everything on hand you could think of that you might need. The wood burning hot tub was fantastic and we just enjoyed sleeping in, waking to beautiful sunlight streaming in and cooking over the open fire we built in the fire out outside the dome - it took me back to my girl guide days, just a little more glamorous of course ;) I even got an amazing chocolate birthday cake and came back to find happy birthday bunting strung inside the dome on my birthday which was a highlight.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank IHateDisplayNames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much and made the most of the hot tub. We do hope to see you another time. Kind regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Myself and my husband stayed for 4 nights in a tipi in August with our two children aged 9 and 5. As soon as we arrived in the beautiful middle-of-nowhere, we knew we'd love it. A boardwalk led over a field of goats to a small, circle of woodland, inside which lay a safe haven for our children to run around and explore with the other children on the site (they ended up running around from camp to camp until it was pitch black each night). Each camp had it's own hammock and swing and there was a communal kitchen/diner and separate Cosy Corner which housed comfy chairs, books, games, toys and lots of 'sticking and colouring' arty bits. The tipi we stayed in was equally cosy, and very comfortable with mattress toppers, duvets and blankets. We enjoyed cooking over the fire (everything you could need in the way of pots, utensils etc was all provided), toasting marshmallows on sticks, or eating together with the other guests around the large central, candlelit table. Hay on Wye was close by for shopping, restaurants and pretty, quirky shops as well as swimming off the 'beach' at the side of the River Wye. There was also many stables close by so we went on a beautiful trek across the moorland with a big group from the campsite (small children and all). It was a real, back-to-nature, adventure holiday where the kids had a lot of freedom and great fun. The site was beautifully situated and the individual and communal camps/huts designed and equipped to a very high standard.

Room Tip: The tipis were comfy, warm and lovely - but I must admit we were jealous when we saw the Domes with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strongs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you had a lovely time when you stayed back in the summer and that your children made the most of the freedom to roam. It sounds as though they had a great time with the other children staying at the same time. I do hope that we see you again at some time in the future. Thanks again. Kind regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I organised a hen do for 11 people at Cosy Under Canvas and it was excellent. We had 2 teepee's and one Dome tent which was ample space for 11 of us. The homemade stew was excellent and Emma's 'cocktails and cakes' were the perfect way to start our Saturday night festivities.
The accommodation was clean and the site was beautiful. Brilliant hot tub outside the dome and lovely how everything was heated by fires rather than electricity. The wet room up near the house was much appreciated after a long day gorge walking - something Emma can recommend should you be the adventurous type!
All in all a wonderful weekend topped off by a lovely Sunday spent in Hay on Wye antiques market!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moules1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmatCosy, Owner at Cosy Under Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We are delighted that you had such a good time on your friends hen do and that you made the most of the Hot Tub and outdoor activities in the area. Enjoy the wedding and I do hope that we see some of you again in the future. Warm regards Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cosy Under Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Under Canvas

Address: Dolbedwyn | Kington, Newchurch, Hay-on-Wye HR5 3QQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Hay-on-Wye > Newchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Newchurch
Price Range: £45 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic and luxurious, award winning Glamping in a Welsh woodland Whether you're after sanctuary or adventure our Dome holidays are great for loved-up couples, family down-time or group gatherings. Satisfy your craving for the outdoors with no compromise on comfort. Think comfy beds, snug duvets, fluffy sheepskins and cosy rugs. We’re off-grid and eco-friendly with compost loos, wood-fired showers and solar lights - But stylish geodesic domes, personal toiletries, real coffee, private fire pits and steamy hot tubs mean you don't have to rough it. Just enjoy relaxing surroundings, beautiful scenery, and interesting things to do. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing