We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day ever”

Grebe Canal Cruises
Pitstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best day ever”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

At the beginning of the year we were looking for a place to hold our wedding breakfast after our ceremony in July and came upon Grebe Canal Cruises. Ian & Cecilia couldn't have been more helpful if they tried, nothing was too much trouble and they helped us through all the little details that you forget about. We booked a two hour cruise along the canal.

On the day itself the entire staff & crew were fantastic and everything went without a hitch as we travelled along the Grand Union. We ended up running over time (no fault of Grebe) but that wasn't a problem either. Every little detail was taken care of and our guests and us had the most brilliant wedding breakfast available.

We would highly recommend booking them for any sort of event or even for just a afternoon tea trip along the canal it is well worth it.

Keep up the good work Grebe

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always Good Value!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were at a loose end last Sunday afternoon, so after contemplating for ages on what to do and where to go, we decided to revisit Grebe Canal Cruises. We last went when our daughters were tiny, and they are both in double digits we thought they'd appreciate it more. It was even better than last time, Ian the "Captain" was helpful, informative and witty letting the younger ones of the cruise get out and help with the locks. All in all a great afternoon out and super value £20.50 for a family ticket.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I was part of an organised group which took a boat trip on a lovely hot, sunny afternoon in July. We had a great time; the staff were so attentive and served us tea and cakes on the trip. I enjoyed it so much that I'm hoping to charter the boat for a party for my ??th birthday next year!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rev_arderne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Took my mum on a small cruise - she loved it”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My mums memorable experience of her visit was the cruise, actually the real china, tea and cream scones!
She loved the proper tea serving - complete with table cloth.

She also admired the view when we got to the reservoirs; but mostly the cream tea.

It is a very quiet countryside cruise through lots of locks, so the young staff work hard.
Don't be put off by the boatyard, it is next to its old competitor - the london railway.

The cruise leaves that area immediately and goes into the countryside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Meester-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon on the water”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

What a lovely way to spend a sunny afternoon! We saw the canal cruises advertised on a local attractions web-site and thought it might be worth a look. We crusied on the electric boat so no noise except the ducks and birds along the canal. The staff were lovely and friendly and gave a commentary explaining the history of the canal and highlighting points of interest along the way. On our cruise the bar was open and you could buy tea, coffee, soft and alcoholic drinks along with some snacks. I understand they also do themed trips serving cream teas but sadly not on the day we went. Great way to spend a couple of hours and excellent value for money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grebe Canal Cruises also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Pitstone, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Grebe Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing