We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Age has not been pretty on this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Brunswick
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Age has not been pretty on this hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place sure looks good on paper.. But that is just lipstick on a pig

They tell you is has a pull out sofa. They fail to tell you it is a twin sofa. Who make a sofa as wide a twin bed?

They tell you it has free breakfast.
They fail to tell you they got a 73 on the last health inspection. Marked down for insects and rodents


They tell you it has free internet
They fail to tell you only works 73 percent of the time. Expect it to work 7.3 minutes out of 10 minutes

They tell you it has an indoor pool.
They fail to tell you it is a room that is 93 degrees, 4 ft deep and the size of a Honda Civic. Don't jump or you will hit the other side of the pool.

When you stay here expect the worst and maybe you will be surprised. The beds are horrible. Once someone lays in the middle the the ends raise up 8 inches and you all roll to the middle. The refrigerator will cool to about 50 degrees. The Walmart furniture is showing wear and the doors do not stay closed. The towels were real nice.... 4 years ago.


Oh.. And the fire alarm went off at 730 am multiple times over a 30 minute window. I guess that is how they notify you the breakfast is ready.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckstar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away.We appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know how you perceived our accommodations. I also want to apologize for the lack of certain amenities in your room. Your comments and suggestions will help us to recognize our strengths and improve upon our weaknesses and we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and sharing your experience. We hope you'll change your mind about seeking other accommodations in the area and that you'll give us the opportunity to impress you with our continuous improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    86
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
98
111
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Starting to show signs of age and wear. We've stayed here before and it's still a great place with wonderful front desk staff, good rates and big,clean rooms. It is starting to show signs of wear in that the sheets on the bed were extremely thin and worn through in spots. The hallway carpet and in the elevator was dull and dingy and in need of cleaning. Breakfast was still great and this hotel is within walking distance of a great restaurant -- the Millhouse. When we checked out I did tell the front desk staff about the state of the sheets and she was attentive and said they'd look into it. Bottom line is that we'd still stay here again as this is a convenient stopping point on our way home from Florida.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are glad that you found our location to be convenient and our staff to be as welcoming as possible. However, we hope we exceed in cleanliness. We appreciate your suggestion of a need to upgrade our hotel. We thank you for your loyalty and look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a great little find. This property is wonderful. The rooms were very clean, the bed was comfortable, the hotel was quiet, and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The Wi-Fi was great. We didn't have breakfast there but it looked great. If ever in the area, you might want to seriously consider this hotel. What you get for the price can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURGESS-IN-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I am glad that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and our service to be welcoming. It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manning, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Staying here is such a pleasure. The beds,food,cleanliness,decor,staff,food,and everything else about this hotel is awesome. Never have i ever had a bad stay. Im actually sitting in the hotel room while I type this,and admiring what a great job these wonderful folks do to maintain such a wonderful hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rocky-n-beefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your compliments to our staff and high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant experience. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend to attend our family reunion. The front desk staff welcomed us and were available to answer questions and assist throughout our stay. No request was too small and they always smiled and made sure I had everything we needed.

The breakfast staff also was very friendly. We had a big crowd at the hotel and met for breakfast each morning. The hostesses made sure we had plenty of food and that it was hot and good.

Our room was fresh and clean. It's very obvious that the housekeepers take pride in their work.

Outstanding customer service, close to the islands, shopping and restaurants. We can't wait to go for another visit.

Room Tip: High rooms on the left side are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
It is great to hear from you and I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff courtesy and have taken the time to recognize the hospitality and care that we aim to provide for each and every guest. It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Space Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Made an overnight stop while traveling and the Comfort Suites lived up to its #4 TripAdvisor ranking. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, fresh, and a good size. Very convenient off I-95. They do provide a nice breakfast each morning which includes hot items. They weren't overly busy the night we stayed but a little surprised they ran out / did not fill quickly, their eggs. However, can't complain about a free breakfast and they had plenty of all the other items. Online rates are great, especially with AAA or AARP/Senior Discount. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
It is great to hear from you and I am so glad that you enjoyed our staff courtesy and have taken the time to recognize the hospitality and care that we aim to provide for each and every guest. It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were very pleased with this Choice Hotel property. Nice people at the front desk and a clean comfortable room. Breakfast was the usual Comfort Inn fare, so that got us off to a good start.
We enjoyed driving around Brunswick and St. Simon, which is just beautiful and driving over the Sidney Lanier Bridge. Worth staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank styx-stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I am glad that you found our accommodations to be comfortable and our service to be welcoming. We are so glad that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brunswick hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Inn & Suites
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Brunswick
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Brunswick I-95
8.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Brunswick
Comfort Suites Brunswick
#12 of 36 in Brunswick
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick

Property: Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick
Address: 220 Gateway Center Blvd, Brunswick, GA 31525-6700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for spacious and inviting accommodations near the Golden Isles of Georgia, then the Comfort Suites® Golden Isles Gateway hotel is perfect place to stay during your next family vacation or business trip. Popular island destinations like St. Simons Island, Little St. Simons Island, Sea Island and Jekyll Island are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Golden Isles Gateway Hotel Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing